We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised by the extremely high standard - Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New World Shanghai Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New World Shanghai Hotel
Ranked #21 of 4,320 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised by the extremely high standard - Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights during a business seminar which we also hosted.
We were given a corporate rate and therefore the price was very reasonable.
The view from the room was nothing special, but at the price we paid, I didn't expect one.
The location is not premium for Shanghai, but is not far from the centre (20 minutes by taxi) and is right on the main subway line 2 connecting both airports and the railways station (Hongqiao) with the city centre.
The hotel itself maintains a very pleasant atmosphere and is well designed and maintained.
All the food we experienced was of a very high standard with fresh croissants for breakfast and many dishes made fresh in the open kitchens.
Service was generally very good, although there is always room for small improvements.
Generally I found the standard to be close to that of the very best international hotels in China with a price significantly lower.
For travellers on a budget, I would definitely consider this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Zhongshan Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysNearWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear biglebufskiBeijing,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel. I am happy to hear you were pleased with your stay and that you found the location of our hotel convenient for the purpose of your visit. We receive many positive comments about our location; being right next door to three major subway lines and opposite beautiful Zhongshan Park.

Your comment about us offering good value for money is another familiar remark we receive regularly and your compliments about the quality of our food and beverage will be shared with the F&B team who will be encouraged by your observation.

I thank you again for your Tripadvisor contribution!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    349
    82
    22
    9
See reviews for
68
84
87
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crans, Valais, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had a fantastic vacation staying at new world hotel in shanghai.. i would definitely come bak and stay again!!! everyone is friendly including Lurens van der Heijden!! he was a fantastic host at the hotel. Hope to visit again soon!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Byran D,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel. We are all very happy to hear you had a 'fanstastic time' in our hotel and your kind words about Laurens van der Heijden will most certainly be shared with him!

I thank you again for your Tripadvisor contribution and look forward to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've been coming to Shanghai regularly on business for the past five years and have not been generally pleased with the hotels I've stayed at until I came across the New World.

The sales staff are very helpful and not pushy. Front desk personnel are professional and accommodating.

The rooms were most importantly, clean and well equipped.

Finally, the location is ideal.

Having a reliable hotel to stay at in a city that I will be visiting more and more frequently on business is key. The New World is exactly that: reliable.

I have recommended the New World to several of my colleagues and piers as I know they will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Vlad P,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words about our associates.

Your comments about our location are echoed by many of our guests and I am obviously very pleased with your remark that you find us 'reliable'.

I thank you again for your Tripadvisor contribution and look forward to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was very happy with my stay at New World Shanghai Hotel. I loved the food (especially the dim sum), the location was very convenient, the staff was very professional and everything was very clean. I've been back here a few times now and will be going back again soon, this time for business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plaxico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Plaxico B,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel. We are happy you had a good stay and thank you for nice words about our associates.

We agree with you that our location is extremely convenient for both business and leisure travelers. Your positive remarks about the cleanliness in the hotel will most certainly be shared with our housekeeping team!

I thank you again for your Tripadvisor contribution and look forward to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Was on a holiday with my family there and had a great time. The staff were extremely nice and helpful, even became good friends with one of them! Breafast buffet each day was excellent, a lot of variation. Includes a gym and a pool which overlooks the city and has a great view. Hotel is very close to your major shopping centres and the train line is very easy and close to use. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: near the pool ie level 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Shaz A,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciate your kind words about our Associates.

We agree with you that our location is extremely convenient for both business and leisure travelers, right next door to three major subway lines and conveniently located between both of Shanghai's airports. Our Executive Chef will be most pleased to hear your positve comments about the newly renovated NONG Cafe breakfast buffet and I thank you on his behalf for your observation.

I thank you again for your words of encouragement and Tripadvisor contribution!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on three ocassions. The first one was our first stay in China. We stayed for two nights. Room was great they supplied everything you could need. Staff was more than friendly and helpful. They even have people waiting to call the lift for you. Breakfast well what can we say but excellent they had everything you could think of. They catered for everyone's tastes. The food quality and taste was great. Position was good metro was closeby is you wanted to venture yourself. We then travelled around and came back here two more times and we couldn't wait to get here because we knew what to expect. The only thing was the internet wasn't free. Most hotels we stayed at had wi fi in foyer free.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the front overlooking street and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtkelly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear gtkelly_11,

Thank you for your review following your recent stays in our hotel. I am very pleased that you selected us for all three of your Shanghai stays and will most certainly share your kind comments with the rest of the team here.

I thank you for your remarks about our convenient location and quality of the breakfast buffet. Your comment about the WiFi has been noted.

I thank you again for your Tripadvisor contribution and look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel has a very good location. It's very easy to take the subway and it is also not far away from the airport. The room is very clean and the food are deilicious. And also the Hotel services are excellent. The staffs are very professional and patient, especially Miss Jet Zhuang, she helped me with all the questions I had during my stay, not only about the hotel but also about other questions I had. I think when I go to Shanghai next time, I will still choose this hotel because it made me feel comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura2618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcelvanMierlo, General Manager at New World Shanghai Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Laura2618,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay in our hotel. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We agree with you that our location is extremely convenient for both business and leisure travelers, right next door to three major subway lines and conveniently located between both of Shanghai's airports.

I will most certainly pass your kind words to Jet who is a great asset to our hotel and thank you on her behalf for your encouraging remarks!

I thank you again for your Tripadvisor contribution and hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards,
Marcel van Mierlo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard Shanghai Central
Courtyard Shanghai Central
#29 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#31 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Shanghai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Shanghai Hotel

Property: New World Shanghai Hotel
Address: No.1555 Dingxi Road | Changning District, Shanghai 200050, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#61 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New World Shanghai Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World Shanghai Hotel offers 558 guest rooms, including 138 brand new Residence Club rooms and 17 suites. All rooms are equipped with free Internet access, one king bed or two twin beds with down pillows and luxurious linens for a relaxing night's rest. Also included are bottled water, iron and board, daily newspaper, free local phone calls and parking. All rooms have in-room safe, mini bar, LCD TV with Satellite channels, individual climate-controlled air conditioning. All guest rooms have full views of either the city or Zhongshan Park. Pool and gym access provided to guests of the hotel. Brand new Residence Club guest rooms from 32nd to 38th floors offer guests full Club access including, daily breakfast and all day beverage service in the 38th floor Residence Club Living Room. Residence Club guests can also enjoy free pressing of one garment per stay, late-check out and 2 hour use of club living room per day (subject to availability). Cosy comforts of home awaits at the Residence Club Living Room, including a library, fireplace, dining room, carefully chosen art pieces and subtle, Oriental-influenced decor. New World Shanghai is located next to Zhongshan Park in the heart of bustling Changning district. The hotel is two metro stations from Jing'An commercial center and close proximity to the architectural gem of French Concession. It is located 30 minutes drive from Hong Qiao airport and 60 minutes drive from Pudong International airport, with metro line 2,3 and 4 located right at the hotel's doorsteps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Otel, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your New World Shanghai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel Shanghai
Mayfair Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing