We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2,432 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We found this hotel was excellent.
It was so central to everything and only 5 mins away from the MTR station. There was a room with internet facilities which was great as we couldn't find any other places for net.
The bad bits: The beds are ROCK solid! And the breakfast is TERRIBLE! We only ate the toast, because the rest was just horrible.

You get fantastic views though! And the rooms are spacious and clean!
A good hotel, we had a lot of fun here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zara-loves-to-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 190 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2011

Pros: 1. Its relatively cheap, but you get what you pay for. 2. Its 5 minute walk from Laoximen metro station which we used heavily for travelling as the metro station is good. Butif your planning to be around the Nanjing Lu area, its quite far. even from the people's park. a good 20 minutes brisk walking.

Cons: 1. Beds were the hardest ive tried (no joking) it was like plywood. 2. Toilet had poor plumbing. On our last day, (unfortunately we stayed for 4 nights) the toilet wouldnt flush anymore. 3. The carpet was stained. We tried to change rooms but it was the same. 4. The breakfast (which was included) is HORRIBLE! They served the same thing EVERYDAY! God knows if it was just reheated. We had to buy our bread and own eggs and boil it in the kettle to eat in the morning. 4. There's free internet but you have to go to the internet room which only has 4 computers. The room was cold too and not so pleasant to hang out in. 5. GYM - what gym!? there was no equipment useful whatsoever.

Shanghai is wonderful but our hotel was terrible.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manila_trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Our trip was all about 2010 Shanghai Expo. This hotel's location is quite good, near to the Expo, shopping area (Huaihai Road), and sight seeing area. And it is only 25 mins from the airport. Thus it is very convenient.

Another good side is the breakfast. Though the food is not super tasty, it offers western and eastern foods for choices.

The room is very spacial.

Well, regarding the bad sides, I think the staff, especially those at the front counter, are not helpful and nice at all. There was no one answering the phone most of the time. They are not familiar with their service and surrounding area. For example, before I flied to Shanghai, I called the front desk to confirm the time taken from airport to the hotel. Their answer was,"40 mins - 1 hour by taxi." However, actually it takes only 25-30 mins. This is a big difference.

The door and wall are no good for sound blocking either. You can easily hear the sound of cars in the street downstairs and people talking next door.

The water for bath in bathroom is not focused, so most of the time you will feel cold when you have a shower. And the hair dryer is not working.

In sum, the biggest advantage of this hotel is its location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 12, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 8, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 2, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

For one night it was too long. We were on a tour and they booked this place. The location was good. The elevator was slow (19 floors and 2 slow elevators). The breakfast was really nasty... Could not eat a thing. The reception staff were not friendly. The carpet in the room was very worn and dirty.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g5rishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#689 of 5,146 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
#2,402 of 5,146 in Shanghai
178 reviews
Former French Concession
Royal Court Hotel Shanghai
Royal Court Hotel Shanghai
#1,845 of 5,146 in Shanghai
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#1,235 of 5,146 in Shanghai
548 reviews
Jing'an
Shanxi Business Hotel
Shanxi Business Hotel
#538 of 5,146 in Shanghai
112 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnificent International Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnificent International Plaza Hotel

Address: No.381 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,432 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $47 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnificent International Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Magnificent International Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnificent International Plaza Shanghai
Hotel Magnificent International Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing