We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ruitai Jingan Hotel
Ranked #2,153 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We chose to stay in a non-Western hotel because the hotels are more affordable. This hotel is comparable to many of the mid-priced hotel chains that I am accustomed to in the US. Comfortable, clean rooms; good service. The Taiwanese bakery across the street was a much better alternative to the hotel breakfast. The free WiFi in the lobby was useful; we also used the computer in the business center, but the computer was outdated and the internet connection was pretty slow.

I would stay at this hotel again because of the great location and cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nydj081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 127 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

Right next to subway with good variety of restaurants and eateries.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Very neat and comfortable hotel just off Nanjing Rd. Walking comfortable stroll to People's Square. Large beds. Our deal included breakfast which was a mix of western and Chinese items. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiepol65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This hotel was comfortable but not luxurious. A very good value for the price I paid (RMB 480 for the cheap "cave-like" room and RMB 588 for the room with a view). I would stay here again, although I might look for something nicer if I feel like spending more.

Pros:
+ close to everything: public transit, food, shopping, nightlife; a great location if you like to walk & look

+ quiet, especially the "cave-like" room with no windows

Cons:
- very hard beds. They were good quality, but were meant to be rock-hard. I liked them, but I know my wife wouldn't have.

- cigarette smoke: the central air conditioning system carried a steady stream of smoke into my non-smoking room. This was hard to take during the 3 nights I was in a windowless room. I moved to a windowed room the last 2 nights and felt much better because I could open the window and trade smoke for smog.

- stink: the shower curtain in my 2nd room smelled like a wet towel. I had to run the fan constantly just to keep the smell out of the main room.

- breakfast selection was limited: after 4 mornings I was tired of it and didn't even bother with it the last morning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choudoufu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Was recommended this hotel and enjoyed the stay of 4 nights and then a further 4 nights....On arrival fast check in.pleasant staff.The room on the 11th Floor was large clean and had all the facilties you would want.the hotel also kept my large bags when I went on a tour for 2 days. The hotel is in a great location...close to the subway...restaurants fast food outlets and the entertainment area.On the second stay was put into a room on the 10th floor...much larger...good views from both rooms.
Only two small criticisms...one was the bed was hard ...very hard ...but that is China...secondly the breakfast...bacon eggs ,,,sausages...asian food ...was cold...plates were cold...even though the food was supposed to be kept warm by heaters
The breakfast was free so no need to complain.This hotel is in the right position in Shanghai...and well worth the price

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwigaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This hotel is very well located. If you want to have shopping, go to the Bund by Metro, ... That's perfect.
Nevertheless, staff is not nice, rooms are very standard and the most important, the breakfast is just horrible : chemical orange juice, very bad cafe, no yahourt, ...
I advice it just because of the price and location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schuminou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in Rui Tai (Jing-an) Hotel during our visit to Shanghai for the World Expo. We had reserved the room via the Internet, and the check-in process upon arrival was painless. The rooms were spacious and the double room had two queen-size beds, aside from the typical amenities one expects in a mid-range hotel, including a TV, hairdryer, mini-ref, bottled water, toiletries and teabags.

The hotel’s location was superb, with several restaurants and convenience stores just a few meters away. Nanjing West Road was walk-able from the hotel, and most importantly, the subway station was practically just a stone’s throw away in the building just across the hotel, which made it very convenient to get to other points of interest in Shanghai.

The free breakfast buffet wasn’t grandiose, but wasn’t wanting either. Selections included milk, congee, noodles, vegetables, meat (either pork, beef or fish), ham/bacon & sausage, hash brown, buns, bread, fruits, and some salad greens and cereal. Basic fried eggs can be prepared by the staff if one didn’t care for the hard-boiled eggs. Drinks were a choice of coffee, tea or juice. During lunch and dinner, the restaurant becomes a hotpot restaurant, which we tried one evening.

The hotel allowed us to leave our luggage in the hotel at no charge when we checked out and went to Hangzhou for an overnight stay.

On the negative side, the beds can be a bit hard for those who are not accustomed to it, and some of the rooms appeared dark and not very well-lit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zooq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Shanxi Business Hotel
Shanxi Business Hotel
#564 of 5,160 in Shanghai
113 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#57 of 5,160 in Shanghai
244 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Jing An Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#1,160 of 5,160 in Shanghai
300 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#156 of 5,160 in Shanghai
210 reviews
People’s Square
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruitai Jingan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruitai Jingan Hotel

Address: No.178 Taixing Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200041, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,153 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $67 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruitai Jingan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruitai Jingan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruitai Jingan Shanghai
Hotel Ruitai Jingan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing