We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lots of character, but average functionality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
Ranked #596 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, lots of character, but average functionality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

I stayed in the old tower of Jing An Hotel recently and found the room to be large and pretty. It had extremely high ceilings, crown molding, complimentary bottled water every day, and a nice flat screen TV. The room also had the hardest bed I've ever slept on, a doorknob that fell off the door (multiple times), and a shower that required 10 minutes to heat up and that didn't drain properly. Those imperfections aside, the hotel was lovely, the staff friendly (although quite limited in English), and in a GREAT location. It is a 5 minute walk from the Jing An Temple metro stop (line 2, I believe) and near the great neighborhoods of Jing An and French Concession; the hotel is on the border of both. The hotel also has a HUGE yard/garden, with glowing green grass (in late December!) and a cute water feature/garden area. As I've learned that most beds in Asia are quite hard (at least in my experience), I would accept that and stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srlndstrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    90
    40
    14
    2
See reviews for
3
9
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilgore, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

It's the middle of November now and the temperature at night is around
10 degrees Centigrade. I had no central heat...none...when i cmplained
the front desk responded by sending staff with a portable heater. That
was nice but I did not have hot water for a shower. The room cost 560rmb
a night, and was tiny...the queen sized bed seemed very small.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

I asked for a room in the old building as advised and got one. It felt like a room in an European castle. Spaceous wood paneled room with antique-looking solid wood furniture. It was quiet. It comes with fine porcelain tea and coffee sets ( we are in China after all!). There are CNN and other English TV chanels. Breakfast is not included but the area is surrounded with restuarants and cafe's. Excellent value for about $100 a night. I highly recomend Jing An Hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
171 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

On arrival walked into the old building which looked really nice from the lobby. They told us we were in the new building around the corner. Not so nice.

The room was very average - smelt smoky, especially the bathroom. The bathroom was all plastic and felt like a large portaloo.

Hotel is about 5 mins from Jing'An Temple station so location is good. If there is nothing better for the money then it's OK (and I did sleep reasonably well) but it may be worth paying the bit extra for somewhere a bit nicer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilgore, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

I've stayed at the Old Jing'an and the New Jing'an or the Jing'an in the New Building. Both are great. I think the Old Jing'an is outstanding for it's quaint old architecture and feel. It is a bit pricier than the Jing'an in the New Building, and it's worth it. I actually now prefer the Jing'an Hotel in the New Building. It's less expensive and it is very clean, so it suits me, since I only stay one or two nights at the most. The breakfast is good, but maybe a bit expensive at 30rmb. It is in a good location for my visits to the JZ School on Wukang Rd. I recommend both the New and the Old.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#153 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Jing'an
Shanghai Hotel
Shanghai Hotel
#392 of 4,969 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#44 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Yan'an Hotel
Yan'an Hotel
#710 of 4,969 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Former French Concession
Shanghai Julu Garden Villa
Shanghai Julu Garden Villa
#1,778 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Jing'an
Merry Hotel Shanghai
Merry Hotel Shanghai
#227 of 4,969 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel

Property: Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
Address: No.370 Huashan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #596 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing