We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Ranked #140 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The location is definitely good, with short distances to great shopping areas, bars and restaurants. Also, the views from the room and restaurant in the hotel are great at night. Also, I got a deal, with two nights for two people at a price lower than the hotel's competitors. And, the distinctive tower makes it easy to find your way back (and hard for any unscrupulous taxi driver to take you the wrong way).

But, one of the reasons I booked this room was for the views over Shanghai in the 'revolving restaurant' on the top floor. We got to the top floor only to walk into a dark room with a sign saying that the restaurant was being renovated. So, no revolving for us.

Then, we went down to the ground floor restaurant, but the good looked pretty unappetising. Fortunately, we found a great place nearby for that first night.

Then, on Sunday morning (9am) the pneumatic drilling started. Again, we'd been given no indication that this would happen. At first we thought it was from the building site across the way (oh, yeah, there's a building site across the way...), but it seemed to be coming from inside the building. Presumably, it was the renovation of the revolving restaurant.

So, we left early, fed up of the noise.

As others have mentioned, the rooms are also a little tired looking, but made up for by the views.

If you book, make sure you ask the right questions. (And, don't go on to the internet in the hotel without following the procedure they tell you about - I tried to connect to an available network, thinking that it was the right way of doing it, and that same day my Gmail account fired off 30 emails to my contact list asking them to click on a link...somewhere in Iran is a server with my email password on it).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tractarian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 610 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

No complaints about the hotel, nice room, good service, great breakfast, only problem is you have to pay for the wifi, with is a bit pricy, considering all the lower price backpackers i normally stay at have free internet for guest. the hotel seems to allow working girls to operate within the hotel, nightly i had call girl cards put under my door, and was approved by girls for hire in the lobby, with a very dodgy guy standing not far away watching. so beware and don't by your self any trouble. out side of that the hotel is a nice place in a nice area of Shanghai

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I booked this hotel through my agent in Hong Kong. I stayed with my colleague for a total of 3 nights. Location is great as it is on Changle Lu and is close to my favourite Museum of Indigo block printing (Changle Lu No 637) However, the first thing I found was there was no free wifi. I called the front desk to ask what has happened and what he said was that the Hong Kong agent was to be blamed as they had encountered many cases like this already. I told him he should reflect the problem with the travel agent to avoid future misunderstanding of other hotel guests, he responded to me coldly that there was nothing that they can do. In general, the staff here did not have good knowledge about the things around the area. For example, there is s free shuttle bus to tour around Shanghai nearby and we tried to ask them but all they told us was there was nothing like this. I am glad that we were adventurous enough to find it out by ourselves and had a really good ride. Plus the staff was not polite and professional as they always "huh" to us and showed unpleasantness when I asked them things.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivianmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Beautiful hotel, clean, shiny, and worth the amount paid....I would agree to Stevew918's review, they do have very interesting toilet seats ... loll..

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chintan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We arrived very early and were informed that we would have to wait until noon (which is ok). Then a room was suddenly available for a surcharge of 500 y (which I refused). And then, the room was suddenly available for a surcharge of 80 y incl. broadband (which I took). Don't let reception trick you too much...

Room was nice, location is acceptable. Didn't go for breakfast or use other facilities. OK hotel if you can get a deal on the room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is part of my two week Henan / Shanxi tour, and was arranged by the travel agent. I have stayed here and reviewed it in 2008.

The hotel and surrounding are under a lot of construction, so be aware. The hotel closed the gym, rotating restaurant and swimming pool for remodeling. There is noisy construction next block, with pounding sound late into the evening.

There are some shops and nice restaurants nearby, but it is further from the bund, Nanking Road shopping, and you have to walk several blocks to catch the subway. Glad that the bellboys were very helpful to hail taxi for us.

The room is clean and comfortable, but the bathroom needs more careful thorough cleaning once a while as I saw some minor mold on grout and at the bottom of the shower curtain. They have a special toilet seat that can wash, dry and massage, Very interesting!

There is wifi for internet connection in the lobby. However, there is no seat in the lobby area, so I had to sit awkwardly sat on the edge of the flower bed.

I stayed and reviewed this hotel in 2008. Seems like they are renocating the hotel. But being that several facilities are closed at this time, you may want to consider these factors when you make reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank stevew918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel is located close to the little locally-owned clothing stores that line the streets... the neighbourhood has a pleasant character. It is also a short taxi ride away from the Bund, and from the district with all of the expensive international brand-name stores.

The hotel itself is comfortable -- fluffy bed, washed comforter cover, fluffy pillows (and enough of them, too). The room was a good size. There was a bit of mould in the corner of the shower, but other than that, it was clean. The internet is paid for by the day, and it worked, despite being slow at times. There is a nice reading light on each side of the bed so that you can read in the evening, or keep it on dimly so that you can find your way to the bathroom in the middle of the night.

The staff are helpful and polite and they will go into the streets to get a taxi for you at the front door.

Overall, a good sleep and I would consider staying there again when in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Shanghai has 24-hour construction taking place as it builds up quickly. If you are travelling in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al-Flaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#110 of 5,206 in Shanghai
723 reviews
Former French Concession
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 5,206 in Shanghai
949 reviews
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#171 of 5,206 in Shanghai
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
#87 of 5,206 in Shanghai
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Jiang Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Jiang Tower Hotel

Address: No.161 Changle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#154 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $94 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jin Jiang Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the former French concession, near the Huaihai Road Central Business District, Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai enjoys a most convenient traffic, close to Xin Tian Di and People's Square. As a flagship hotel of Jin Jiang Hotels Group, the largest hotel group in China and Asia, the hotel is one of the best venues to overlook Shanghai downtown landscape. Choosing a hotel receiving more than 370 heads of states, foreign dignitaries and celebrities, the guest will experience exquisite oriental-attentive services.The hotel owns 582 rooms and suites, where high-speed WiFi network fully covered including the public area. All the guests may enjoy the cutting-edge digital system during your stay at Jin Jiang Tower Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jin Jiang Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Jiang Hotel
Hotel Jin Jiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing