We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveler rating
152
316
140
28
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
316
140
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuaihai roadiapm mallbedroom windowquality roomsnice hotelshower bathsubway systemgood sizerestaurants and shoppingroom facilitiestea bagshotel is locatedan updatespeak englisha great place to staystayed for nightswestern options
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 647 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is part of my two week Henan / Shanxi tour, and was arranged by the travel agent. I have stayed here and reviewed it in 2008.

The hotel and surrounding are under a lot of construction, so be aware. The hotel closed the gym, rotating restaurant and swimming pool for remodeling. There is noisy construction next block, with pounding sound late into the evening.

There are some shops and nice restaurants nearby, but it is further from the bund, Nanking Road shopping, and you have to walk several blocks to catch the subway. Glad that the bellboys were very helpful to hail taxi for us.

The room is clean and comfortable, but the bathroom needs more careful thorough cleaning once a while as I saw some minor mold on grout and at the bottom of the shower curtain. They have a special toilet seat that can wash, dry and massage, Very interesting!

There is wifi for internet connection in the lobby. However, there is no seat in the lobby area, so I had to sit awkwardly sat on the edge of the flower bed.

I stayed and reviewed this hotel in 2008. Seems like they are renocating the hotel. But being that several facilities are closed at this time, you may want to consider these factors when you make reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank stevew918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel is located close to the little locally-owned clothing stores that line the streets... the neighbourhood has a pleasant character. It is also a short taxi ride away from the Bund, and from the district with all of the expensive international brand-name stores.

The hotel itself is comfortable -- fluffy bed, washed comforter cover, fluffy pillows (and enough of them, too). The room was a good size. There was a bit of mould in the corner of the shower, but other than that, it was clean. The internet is paid for by the day, and it worked, despite being slow at times. There is a nice reading light on each side of the bed so that you can read in the evening, or keep it on dimly so that you can find your way to the bathroom in the middle of the night.

The staff are helpful and polite and they will go into the streets to get a taxi for you at the front door.

Overall, a good sleep and I would consider staying there again when in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Shanghai has 24-hour construction taking place as it builds up quickly. If you are travelling in the next little while, as for a room that does not face the construction site... it kept me awake one night. Once the building across the street is built, this problem will go away.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al-Flaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Excellent location and a very comfortable room. The space available in the room made it great for working and relaxing. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JMFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Just spent a week at this hotel in an executive room and found it to be excellent apart from the 'free' wifi service which was poor. Often I was unable to log on and when I was successful it was painfully slow. To clear emails I found a hot spot outside a nearby hotel which was fast and reliable but for a 5-star hotel this is not what you would expect to have to do! Otherwise the hotel was great, good business center, great breakfast and quiet comfortable rooms. There are good eating places nearby as well as some good shopping areas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1950822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I was here for 6 days, and the hotel was meticulously clean, and everyone at the hotel jumped to serve. The concierge was extremely helpful with translating addresses for the taxi drivers. This is a five star hotel, with five star service, at a 4 star price. Great overall value.

The internet access was good, location was great. New York, Fifth avenue like shopping about a 5 to 10 minute walk away. McDonald's is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers fine dining, and the one restaurant I went to in the hotel offered 5 star food, but it was a little bit of wait to get seated. The restaurant was very popular among the large number of Japanese were there during my stay.

At this hotel you won't be pestered by the constant barrage of street vendors asking you to purchase a fake rolex, fake ipod, or fake bag. Returning to the hotel after dark you will probably be propositioned for a massage which I suggest you don't consider if you want to leave with two kidneys. :-) This is pretty typical at any of the high end hotels. Same happened to me outside the Royal Meridien. Overall for safety, I'd rate the area an 8 on a scale of 1 to 10.
The only downside was it sometimes took a while to get a taxi. When there are not taxi's at the hotel, a short walk to the local intersection is a faster method of getting a taxi. Taxi's are prevalent and very inexpensive, and the recommended method of travel.

Shanghai is a big city, so figure out where you will spend your time. Also from the airport take the Maglev train which leaves from the airport. It's very cool, and very convenient.

One last tip for travel in Shanghai. Most taxi drivers do not understand nor speak english. So directions printed in english are useless. I would look up the location I was going on the internet on my laptop, and then snap a picture of the chinese address on the screen with my blackberry phone. Then I would show the picture of the address to the taxi driver. Unfortunately my blackberry didn't support native chinese characters, so emailing the address was not an option. This worked well, and the concierge is also very helpful in doing the translation. Also ask the hotel for an address card to get you back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Check out the 42 story sightseeing elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews