We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for business stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #40 of 4,573 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

First time staying in this hotel, check in process very quick. The building is very different from others where you can see every floor of this hotel.

The room looks much of my other Intercontinental stay, only the king size bed was merge from 2 single beds where I can felt the gap between them.

24 hours fitness center was a really good option for those who wanted to workout at late night or very early in the morning.

Breakfast was excellent, I did see some comments saying that the staff didn't smile when they enter the restaurant. For me it was a bit similar, but however there were other staff that gave me a very good service so I would say it was an exceptional case.

Great location to the Lujiazui financial districts and lots of restaurants nearby the hotel as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank ctkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us about your staying experience.
We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our check in service and breakfast. We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the bed issue you have highlighted, and thank you for bringing it into our attention. Furthermore we have carried out basic service behavioral training to our restaurant line associates to make sure the same standard of service will be delivered in future.

Thanks again for your patience and valued comments. We wish to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    433
    91
    37
    18
See reviews for
91
89
89
547
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Service:
- Front desk check in was good, however check out service was not so good
- Bar service was good
- Resturant was really bad! Servers didn't say good morning or a single smile
Dishes stack on the table, servers walk by many times and did not bother to collect them

Room:
- first impression of the room was clean and tidy
- after two nights in the room, found moldy toilet paper cover (was going to stay 5 nights and changed to 3 nights)
- did not replace slippers
- did not replace toiletry
- maid vacuum the room while I was standing outside the door waiting (this is absolutely not acceptable)

All in all, there are many much better hotels in Shanghai area and I would not recommend this hotel to travelers.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliana_Yow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Ms. Juliana,


Thank you very much for taking your time and share with us about your staying experience. We feel sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong.

It is a great concern when we learned that the service provided was neither IHG standard nor in line with the fundamentals of our InterContinental service culture. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We strive to provide our guests with a true InterContinental experience and all guest feedback is of utmost importance.

We hope that despite of your last experience with our hotel we can convince you of our real performance and may welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Have been here a couple of times on business.

Pro's
+ It's a short ride from the exhibition halls.
+ Nice clean rooms. No faults with it.
+ Better then expected breakfast buffet.

Con's
- It's close to the exhibition halls but a bit far out from the "rest" of the city. That's not really that much of an issue since the taxi's are plentiful and cheap. Just get a namecard from the hotel and on the back are some interesting locations.

Can recommend this hotel as a business hotel, but i wouldn't go here in my free time.

Room Tip: One of the rare hotels where i don't have a tip. I think all the rooms are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking your time and share with us about your staying experience. We appreciate for your loyalty and glad to read that you are satisfied with our location and breakfast. As you mentioned our hotel is ideally located in the center of Lujiazui area with convenience transportation to exhibition center. Most of the business travelers choose our hotel are mainly due to the perfect location and excellent service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a very 'comfortable' hotel. Nothing extravagant but all necessary facilities with helpful staff and easy location. I have stayed here 3 times per year for the last 5 years and have not yet had a bad stay. Good international buffet Breakfast is plus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCMM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,


We appreciate for your positive feedback in regards of your staying experience at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. I will ensure that the team is briefed about what you have commented and the same level of the service and quality to be delivered in your next visit.


Thanks again for your time and we wish to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertzelia, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Was in Shanghai for an expo, and this hotel was one of the conference options. Had a wonderful experience.

Very good value for money with the conference rate.

Nice room on the 22nd floor. Too bad it was foggy/rainy most of my time there, so didn't get much of a view. Room was decently new, well-appointed and good sized. Clean, comfy enough and good for business traveler.

Breakfast, like other people have mentioned, was very good. Service was wonderful. Lots of different types of cuisine, from Western (ie eggs, bacon, etc.) to Indian, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, etc. And, the food was presented beautifully and was tasty on top of that. Had my favorite fresh watermelon juice for breakfast everyday.

Service was great... Internet was included as part of conference package and when I logged in, the only options were to pay for internet. When I called the front desk to inquire, they said to choose one of the options and would be taken care of at check-out. And, that is exactly what happened--without any issues.

The hotel is a short taxi-ride away (or metro ride) from the business center of Pudong and from the Shanghai New International Expo Center.

Room Tip: Ask for city room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. It is very encouraging for us to receive such a positive feedback as the entire team strives to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again during your next visit in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This was a very comfortable hotel with large spacious rooms. I stayed here recently while at a convention in Shanghai. The staff were all very professional and friendly.
I guess the only negative here is location. If you are in Shanghai for a holiday or as a tourist it's not very central for all the sights but as a business hotel it was very comfortable with great facilities - including gym facilities which where too notch!
Recommended for business.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank travelandfoodfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your positive feedback in regards of your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is strategically located in the heart of Pudong Finance & Trade Zone, 5 minutes walk to Century Avenue station, the largest interchange metro line station connecting line 2, 4, 6 and 9. Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age, 96 Plaza, Pacific Digital Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, IFC Mall, Super Brand Mall and Riverside Avenue are just 2 kilometers away.
Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again during your next visit in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel quite often, but it is just average 5 star hotel. Nothing will surprise guests. Location is not acceptable for me but maybe good for shopping fans. Food, room, view are just the at the level it should be at. But anyway it is a hotel suitable for many foreign travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing with us about your staying experience. It is a great concern we learned that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

First of all we appreciate for your loyalty of being our regular customer. We do have ongoing training and manager on duty policies in place to improve our guests service experience, and a lot of our regular guests told us that they have seen changes recently.

Thank you for your advises, and we will make sure that the team learn from your comments and aim to provide a better service experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#27 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#60 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
#57 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#92 of 4,573 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
Address: No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#115 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is located in the heart of Pudong’s Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone, It is within a five-minute walk to Century Avenue station(line 2,4,6 and 9) and Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Puxi Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age and 96 Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai Aquarium, Century Park and IFC Mall are two kilometers away. With 398 stylish rooms, over 2,850 square meters of meeting facilities, two restaurants and a bar, as well as a chic club lounge, the hotel offers both business and leisure travelers various chances to discover the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing