We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay business hotel, rude service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #43 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Okay business hotel, rude service”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

When arriving there seems to be an issue with availability of the reserved room, so after some chinese discussing between the staff, I am offered an upgrade for 500 RMB. No clue for what. Then when I decline, a clear scolding -in chinese begins-. After some searching in the PC, I get the room "but not the extras". Which extras?
The staff in general is very brisk, short and not responsive. Very different to other places in the city.
The rooms a nice, clean and spacious. The meeting rooms are good the noise from adjecent rooms is very disturbing. At the group diner we have trouble to get the staff's attention to be served drinks. Before the group has left, they start cleaning making clear it is to end... at 9.30PM..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the service experience with us.

We are glad to read that you like our rooms, however we do apologize for the inconvenience caused related to our service. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We take it as constructive criticism and will strive to do better and improve our services in future.

We hope you give us another opportunity to extend the true InterContinental service that you can expect as a loyal IHG guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    454
    94
    39
    18
See reviews for
94
96
93
595
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

What to say about this hotel? The location is very central in Pudong. The room is good, however not very silent because of the traffic noice of the road. The elevator capacity is not enough. Waited often too long for that. The breakfast, lunch and dinner choice and quality is good. And hotel has a lot of facilities. But the staff. Many of them were really NOT friendly. They let you feel that their service is an obligation. Also some are so inexperienced. Did not have the typical Asian warm welcome, which I usually get everywhere,,except in Shanghai. The hotel seems to be busy enough, so the guest is a number. That is a pity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BastiaanVanLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've stayed here during the last week of 2012. Had a room with Club Lounge benefits. The staff was very helpful and friendly: at the lounge but also the concierges. This hotel delivers what you expect from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVDP132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Shanghai Pudong is a typical Intercontinental property. Efficiently managed, clean and contemporary. It was nice to be welcomed by name by the Lobby Manager even though it was well past midnight. The room was good but not much of a view since its located in a business disctict. The location is convenient and they do have a Pizza Hut and Papa John's at walking distance for vegetarians. Its also close to the Shanghai market near science museum for those who want to shop. Some of the famous iconic buildings are closeby sine Pudong primarily constitutes the Shanghai skyline. They have nice breakfast and dinner buffet which does have vegetarian optins, though limited. The decor is contemporary and pleasing.
Overall a good business hotel that you can trust to live upto its brand.

Room Tip: Since its a business district hotel, there is not much of a view. Avoid the front facing rooms in ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kedarvashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a beautiful property but somewhat soulless as noted by another reviewer. When you enter, if were not for ubiquitous Asian staff, you would swear you were in a 5 star USA location. The hotel is extremely contemporary, scrupulously clean and well maintained.

The front desk crew spoke acceptable English and were so polite they were almost obsequious. This made for an enjoyable smooth check in you won't experience in many locations.

The standard rooms are well appointed but small. I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was ver large, elegant and a delight from the beautiful powder room to the large sumptuous bath with wall to wall marble and every convenience you might conjure. The personal amenities were first rate. You will toiletries as well as a tooth bush and razor.

The executive floor provided a luxurious respite from the outside world with wonderful drinks, snacks and a concierge service.

The breakfast buffet was gigantic with made to order omelets, fruit and virtually every traditional American breakfast item. The orange juice was bottled but tasted almost as good a fresh... Usually I abhor the chemical taste of canned or bottled pasteurized orange juice. Perhaps the Chinese bottle orange juice without Pasteurization... who knows?

Maid service and turn down service were excellent.

The concierge arranged an excellent private one half day tour of the city with a guide, small van and driver for two of us for about $100.00. I thought this a very good deal.

The location is a little off the beaten track but still offers a shopping area with blocks and blocks of intriguing tourist free stores. Taxis are plentiful and cheap. We took a taxi to a nearby super luxury mall.. It was fast convenient and cheap.

I down graded this hotel only because upon check out the charge was about a hundred dollars more than quoted when i made the guaranteed reservation with Intercontinental. It was very difficult, for me, to think in Chinese yuan. So I waited until I got home to protest. This prompted days of email exchanges. The hotel admitted to a small mistake in the bill but insisted I was charged the correct price. Astonishingly, when I contacted Intercontinental international headquarters they refused to intervene in any way. I had to remind myself I was negotiating with Communist China.

In all fairness the room was well worth the price and the hotel will not disappoint. Just be certain you bring a foreign currency calculator.

Room Tip: Try to get as high as floor as possible. The view of the river and surrounding city is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

It is not for limited business budget minded travelers but it is worth the value. It is in a very convenient location on the Pudong side. Pundong is a newer area and much less traffic when compare to Puxi side. The rooms are well designed, staff are friendly and secure. Buffet selections are wide ranged and able to cater to different nationalities. Hotel itself is clean and the views from the rooms are nice. Airport to Hotel taxi costs around 65 RMB.. If your meetings are concentrated on the Puxi side, maybe this location is not the best. You will be fighting the traffic going back of leaving the hotels during peak traffic hours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qboss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Check in:
We had a smooth check in, the receptionist spoke very good English. And for being a priority club member, you get a free drink coupon (fresh squeezed juice or wine) at the lobby bar. Just one thing, no one offered to help us with our luggage.

Room:
Our room was well appointed with a big King bed (newly renovated) with small art pieces around the room. We enjoyed the many TV Channels and used the Shanghai map and stationery provided.

I really liked the bathroom with dual sinks, the closet can be accessed both sides through the room and the bathroom. So you can reach for your bathrobes, without going out the door into the room again. And they have electric blinds to protect your privacy while you're showering.

Buffet Breakfast:
Loved the buffet breakfast, everything from dim sum to fresh squeezed juice to made to order omelets, grilled tomatoes, barbeque duck..endless desserts..the service was attentive too, the manager said hello to us as soon as we walked in and the hostess lead us to our table.

Location:
I was worried at first that the location would be too isolated. But when I walked along the street in the evening, I found plenty of restaurants and shopping malls. There is a must try hot pot restaurant called " Hai Di Lao," (6F,588 Zhangyang Road). The service there is over the top! And while you are waiting for a table, they provide chess,children's area,manicure, drinks and snacks! And they are open 24 hours!

We walked to the nearest Metro station at Century Avenue about 10 minute walk leisurely.

Weddings on the weekend:
There is a beautiful atrium which makes the hotel beautiful and grand. But the wedding banquet area is also the grand floor of the atrium. Seems like every weekend, there will be a wedding going on with loud speakers and music all night. The wedding ended around 11pm that evening we were staying at the hotel and then some noise of cleaning and shuffling chairs continued for a bit.

Would definitely recommend and love to stay here again. Next time I would like to try out the club lounge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukimii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#30 of 5,059 in Shanghai
770 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#39 of 5,059 in Shanghai
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
#31 of 5,059 in Shanghai
761 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
Address: No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#152 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is located in the heart of Pudong’s Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone, It is within a five-minute walk to Century Avenue station(line 2,4,6 and 9) and Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Puxi Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age and 96 Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai Aquarium, Century Park and IFC Mall are two kilometers away. With 418 stylish rooms, over 2,850 square meters of meeting facilities, two restaurants and a bar, as well as a chic club lounge, the hotel offers both business and leisure travelers various chances to discover the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing