We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #40 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I've been there a couple of times, I can tell you, you will be sleeping like a baby, their beds are sooo comfortable. It is a quiet and very classy hotel. The atrium view is really impressive. For the ultimate experience, I would recommend the premier room with club benefits (for the free flow of champagne and petits fours) as well as their afternoon tea. Oh yeah and the Sunday Brunch is a must try! Love the fresh orange juice, their little round bread stuffed with prunes, the salmon sashimi, their caffe latte, the after-eight ice cream, their truffle chocolate... and the mojitos from the bar ;)

Room Tip: Premier room with club benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melindadeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    452
    94
    39
    18
See reviews for
94
95
92
589
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

It was a fantastic experience. This was my third time staying at the hotel and I will keep going back. The rooms are the best I have experienced and the food is world class, the executive lounge is perfect for those quieter moments for relaxation and internet use or a quick afternoon snack. My favourite experience is the warm and friendly nature of the staff and management who always go out of their way to assist you. The concierge desk is very knowledgeable about the city and friendly. The location of the hotel; is perfect as it is close to large department stores and a short and cheap cab fair to most places.

Room Tip: all rooms provide a fantastic outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chickendrossos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Hotel is at the average level of 5 stars hotels, they said hotel has been under the renovation las year for expo, Rooms are big and functionable, the bad is really confortable to ensure i have a nice stay.Breakfase are good,many choice from western and local food.The only thing is swimming pool is a little bit small,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kings222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Of course not economy.
Extra cost for WLAN (strange those days; I also do not pay for my shower or TV anymore)
5 min's from subway.; and from there 10 mins to downtown or new exhibition center.,
Loooong taxi queue,better hold y taxi direct on the street, otherwise you wait for ages.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingDutchmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I went during the expo and it was at good value. I think this is the oldest InterContinental in Shanghai but overall experience was great! However, the pool was under renovation during our stay, so the manager kindly let us swim in the pool at InterContinental Puxi after long argument (At first the manager agreed but the next day the other manager refused...)

Their rooms are under renovation during my stay, and I stayed in one of the old rooms, but I still found comfortable (probably because of the bed) Generally it's in ok location with restaurants and massage in walking distance. The buffet is at InterContinental standard, so it won't be bed, but you may find a bit difficult if you do not speak Mandarin.

I would recommend it for less than a thousand RMB per night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirandali, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Mr./Ms. Wong,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am delighted to inform you that all our renovations for rooms and the swimming pool have been completed, so I hope that your next stay with us will be even more enjoyable.

There have been many changes to the area since the Expo and there are now more services and convenient locations to visit nearby, and we have made great improvements on offering support and service to clients from around the world to make their stay easier and more comfortable.


Once again, thank you very much for your post. We always welcome comments that help us to improve our ability to provide people with outstanding service and comfort. I hope you will stay with us again soon and if there is anything I can assist you with, please feel free to contact me via Miranda.li@ihg.com.

Best regards,

Miranda Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed a weekend at IC Pudong and we must say it was a great stay!
The staffs members were very friendly and professional
With our package we had access to the snack bar lounge and the breakfast, and it was a very good experience, in terms of food and service
The room were spacious and im-pe-ca-ble, nothing to say about it!
We will definetely come back there!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guishshsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraceWu021, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Pudong. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to our entire team.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the this one.

Sincerely,

Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

If you happen to work out of Pudong, this is good. However, you need to walk for 10 to 15 minutes, to reach the Century Plaza train stations. Plus eating options outside the hotel are pretty sparse. The rooms however are well appointed especially for a business traveller. Wireless did not work. The desk internet access did.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#28 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#52 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
World Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
#41 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#27 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Pudong

Property: InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
Address: No.777 Zhangyang Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#145 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong is located in the heart of Pudong’s Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone, It is within a five-minute walk to Century Avenue station(line 2,4,6 and 9) and Fuxing tunnel is at our doorstep which allows you to reach Puxi Xintiandi within 10 minutes by taxi. Next Age and 96 Plaza are just next door. Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai Aquarium, Century Park and IFC Mall are two kilometers away. With 398 stylish rooms, over 2,850 square meters of meeting facilities, two restaurants and a bar, as well as a chic club lounge, the hotel offers both business and leisure travelers various chances to discover the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing