We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option for Quick Layover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanghai International Airport Hotel
Ranked #601 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Shanghai International Airport is a decent hotel. It is a bit dated (e.g., carpet is worn), but the bed was very comfortable and clean. My flight got here late and so I stopped here to catch up on my jetlag the first night in Shanghai. The complimentary shuttle service makes going to the hotel very easy and very free. I hopped back on the shuttle to the airport the next morning, and got on the subway into the city. It's a decent value for your money. Not sure about their English skills, but I wouldn't count on fluent English speakers in these local-style hotels. In all, a good option for the quick layover.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 93 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is across the street from the airport. Great for easy access. The beds were good considering most Chinese beds are much harder. Breakfast buffet could use some western options, especially for vegetarians. No western movie channels, which makes the stay boring. No wireless internet. Have to use hard-wire. I had a business room, which was very nice and comfortable. Great shower and nice bathroom. Most important of all: It was clean. Personal was limited in their English.

Room Tip: I used a business room, which was all they had left due to cancelled flights to the U.S. It was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ingewetzelnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Shanghai International Airport Hotel is located close to the Hongqiao Airport. One advantage is the Airport shuttle they offer, but the Hotel itself is poor quality.
I stayed at this Hotel for one night, which I think is the average stay at this Hotel. The Hotel is good for a overnight stay, when you have to get up early to catch a connecting flight at Hongqiao Airport. They offer very early breakfast, which is convenient.
The rooms are of poor quality and the floor is very dirty. At least the bed was clean. The bathroom is old style and you get the feeling, that this Hotel is already very old and used.
The staff tries to be friendly, but the chinese style of friendliness is different. Maybe also because it is such kind of Hotel, where you only stay for a night and furthermore located in Shanghai.
So if you want to stay in Shanghai to explore the city or for several days, this Hotel is not recommendable. It is only recommendable, if you stay for a short night and you do not have high requirements to cleanliness and friendliness.
All in all this was one of my first not so good experiences in China.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elwoodblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

the hotel is close to the airport, connected (so no external walk is needed).
The personnel speaks a little english, so it's not easy to understand.
The room I had was big and well served, the shower was fine and everything was working.
I stayed only onenight, so no big issue

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Shanghai is an amazing place, so mainly went sightseeing when in this hotel. Staff were very friendly, food was a bit bland and not much choice for the internatioanl visitor. Good transport to station.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrinklyWinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel to be close to Shanghai Hongqiao Railway Station and the hotel offers a shuttle service to the station. The hotel appears to be a renovated old-style Chinese hotel with the aim of appealing more to Westerners who were not to be seen at all during my stay. The staff are enthusiastic about practicing their English on a foreigner but the level of English speaking is low. The restaurant features western and Chinese food, but the western food is less appetizing. Dinner options are limited - no restaurants nearby so eating at the "Main Restaurant" in the hotel is the only convenient option.

The decor in the lobby and rooms is dark and lighting is limited. Lamps and furniture are old-style, but the shower, fancy Japanese-style toilet and lighting control buttons by the bed are new-style. The rooms are air conditioned with individual control. The TV is modern, but reception is poor. The one English station is CNN but is snowy in appearance, staticky and drops out frequently. I found I had to switch away from CNN frequently and then back to recover reception.

Breakfast is a mix of Chinese and Western food and has a good selection but the Chinese vegetables are overcooked. Some basic sushi and fresh salad are available at breakfast. Waiters carry coffee around but ignore the customer unless significant effort is made to get their attention. The coffee is hot and tastes reasonably good.

The area around the hotel is uninteresting unless one has a predilection for staying near an airport. Internet was excellent: wireless in lobby and I used the wire in the hotel room. Good place to stay briefly for a business traveller but I would not recommend this place for a tourist. The hotel room is overpriced. I would stay here again for one night if I am in transit by plane or train at Hongqiao.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I thought it would be next to the airport, bu I had to walk quite a few time under the rainto reach the hotel. Otherwise, quite ok service and rooms quality. Rooms were clean and not noisy. The experience was average.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ntjsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Argyle International Airport Hotel Hongqiao
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Boyue Shanghai Hongqiao Airport Hotel
Minimax Premier Hotel Hongqiao
#1,176 of 5,159 in Shanghai
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The QUBE Hotel Shanghai Hongqiao
#55 of 5,159 in Shanghai
66 reviews
Sofitel Shanghai Hongqiao
#90 of 5,159 in Shanghai
118 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai Pudong Airport Branch
Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai P...
#2,481 of 5,159 in Shanghai
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai International Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai International Airport Hotel

Address: No.368 Yingbinyi Road, Hongqiao District, Shanghai 200335, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #601 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $83 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai International Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanghai International Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing