We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveler rating
187
310
95
26
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
310
95
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgood sizebusiness travelernice hotelminutes walkingbusiness tripfirst floorexhibition centrehotel lobbyrooms are cleanbreakfast buffet isthe executive loungecentury parkstayed here for nightsmy colleagueguest roomsconvenience storespecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 634 reviews
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 31, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Like everything in life it’s about the ratio between what you get and what you pay.
Let’s start from the basics: I stayed paying the hotels weekend rate of about $75 (exclusive breakfast and internet connection) for this price it’s a deal hard to beat.. (Their official weekday price is $225+)
The room was excellent, elegant, clean and comfortable, a desk for work very useful. Breakfast rich and tasty (was not included), the overall hotel (lobby etc) very elegant and nice.
Location is so-so, all is accessible by cab, still in the morning rush hour getting to the center can take 35- 45 Min.
For vacation or leisure absolutely a steal for less than $100, business traveler consider what it will take in the morning drive.
My recommendation, don’t hesitate to email or call and try to get if for less than $150 (1000-1200 RMB), for $200+ check and compare with other options..

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuckLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

great value for money!
clean rooms, good location for business travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

From the warmth of the smiles, and the treatment as a special guest of this hotel, the Holiday Inn Pudong stay was darned near perfect. The lobby radiated happy employees. They are well trained and enjoy their jobs. You can tell after just a few moments. So before you even wonder if there is an Priority Club (PC) upgrade or what the room looks like, you feel special.

The upgrade was provided. The "Customer Experience Manager" was behind the PC check-in desk and said the management was very happy I decided on their Holiday Inn. He said they were proud of their new rooms and he personally escorted us to the room with the bellman and the bags. (I said to myself, maybe they know I write these reviews, but then after seeing all the recent top five-bullet ratings for this hotel, I realized they just treat their guests right!)

The room was superior in the truest sense. A corner room, it was not huge, but comfortable, light and very modern with a huge bath area and tub for two. The staff people remembered my name, albeit in a Chinese way, calling me Mr. Robert throughout my stay. Not just one, but a handful of employees memorize your name or do a really fast check on the computer to make sure they address you personally. Again, they are trained to make you feel special. As a Trip Advisor Destination Expert, I have been in many Shanghai hotels, and this one went all out in customer service.

The location in Pudong is a neutral factor in my opinion. You are a short two block walk to subway Line 4, just one stop from Line 2 (downtown and Maglev station to Pudong airport). If you enjoy some good exercise, it is an interesting five to ten minute walk to Century Blvd (Line 2 station), and then down to the Oriental Pearl Tower, Jin Mao and World Financial Center buildings, or up to Century Park. There are plenty of taxis at the front door, something you should not take for granted in busy Shanghai.

You are not on the Bund, but then again you are not harassed constantly by touts staked out at every tourist hotel. The Pudong area is modern Shanghai, as safe as can be. Upscale shopping is nearby as well as fashion market shopping at the Technology Museum subway stop.

Contrary to another reviewer's comments, there are several nice Chinese "white linen" restaurants within a block. Heji is practically next door, not a storefront but on the 6th floor, and is crowded with locals eating copious amounts of great typical Shanghainese food. Whoops, back to the hotel review...

The breakfasts were very good in quality. The hotel's lunch and dinner menus looked very affordable for such a high quality hotel. I will try the in-hotel restaurant next time. The hotel had the fastest internet I have seen in my 12 visits (and maybe 50 hotel stays) in China in the past three years. Lightning fast, just like my DSL at home. It costs 80 yuan, not a bargain but cheaper than some upscale hotels in Shanghai.

Which brings me back to the overall quality of the Holiday Inn Pudong. The staff and accommodations will leave no doubt in your mind. You will wish every hotel, not just a Holiday Inn, could reach this outstanding quality.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoBeSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

the hotel is in the city centre and not very convenient from the business perspective. there are not many eateries around and hence not the likings for a tourist.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jajipoolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews