We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Nice Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #87 of 4,320 Hotels in Shanghai
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,079 reviews
257 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 778 helpful votes
“Very Nice Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is a terrific option if you need a place to stay in Shanghai's Pudong area. My colleague and I chose this place because our distributor's office is in Pudong and the price seemed fairly reasonable. The property was easily found by our taxi driver when he drove us from PVG Airport. The hotel location was fairly convenient as it was more or less in the central area of Pudong. The exterior was a very attractive high rise and the lobby area gave a good impression. Our check in was reasonably quick and I was given a room on the Executive Floor due to my IHG status. This gave us access to the Executive Lounge, which was one of the nicest aspects of this hotel. The service there was excellent and the breakfast buffet offered in the lounge was terrific. My room was very spacious and clean with a nice work area. The bathroom was particularly nicely furnished with attractive fixtures. The internet was wired, which was OK, but the server was slow at times. I think this had more to do with the Chinese government firewall than the hotel's service, however. In all, I was very happy with my hotel choice and would not hesitate to recommend it if you are staying in Pudong.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    250
    75
    22
    9
See reviews for
19
31
41
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
LLANDRINIO
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very efficient check in.Recognised Priority Club status. Immediate upgrade. Comfortable clean room.
Great service in the Executive Lounge. Good nosh during Happy Hour and good choice for breakfast with fresh eggs cooked to ones liking.
Beware of Oktober Fest that takes place evey year second week of October. Chinese people and German beer in large steins results in much hilarious projectile vomiting!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRUCE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XX
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stay in this hotel during my last business trip in China, the rooms are comfortable and, very important, not so noisy as the standard in China.

The restaurant and the quality of the food is good even if the available table are not so much compared the number of the guests.

In my opinion is a nice hotel where to stay but two expensive considering it is an holyday inn

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luca2982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrx1000
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times over a few years. On my last visit the hotel was starting to look tired and needs some investment in its general decor. The hotel is generally an 'ok' hotel to stay in, however as it is a while since I stayed here last I was dissapointed generally with the hotel this time around.
There is an Irish bar on the ground floor and which smelled of stale beer and the bar fittings looked old and unloved. The wood fittings had been abused and needed repolishing. The bar generally was not great but after a hard day at work it was a lazy option to stay there. Many bars in the far east have good rock bands playing in them, the band here was poor and the bar was not busy.
We stayed on the club level floors and again the club floor staff did not seem to have the training to give the care and attention you would expect. One lady told us at 09:40 that breakfast would end in the club lounge at 10:00,, then at 09:45 started taking all the breakfast foods away, one guest complained to her about this but she still carried on and was quite grumpy about the situation.
I have stayed in the hotel previously as it offered reasonable value for monet and was a safe option as it was not far from where I need to work. If I had no choice and had to stay at this hotel again it would not be the end of the world, however I think there is better value for money available and would probably stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrx1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Concierge are very helpful and they smile. The reception staff lack understanding of english and they do not smile. The Chinese restaurant is not very good. Disappointed! Breakfast is okay but the executive lounge is really cutting back on the offerings in the evening. Many of the snack items on offer you would not even eat. No variety. No decent meat or chicken to eat.

The milk in the coffee does not taste like milk. Could not drink it. Only one kind of white wine on offer as well. For the amount of money you pay to use the lounge, I would not pay that again

Room Tip: Higher room if possible as you hear too many cars tooting their horns!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneySm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is very comfortable, even elegant, with good service. There is a nice spa and fitness center with sauna, whirlpool and swimming pool. It is 5 minutes from the metro, and walking distance from many of the business offices in Pudong. The band in the hotel pub, Flanagan's, is lots of fun, not only when they are performing, but also when socializing with the customers during breaks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbogio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Location is good, not far from Lujiazui financial area, close to subway station, so pretty convenient to tour around. Also many restaurants around, from cheap to expensive. Easy to call taxi, service is average to good. Room is clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Park_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#153 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#49 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Property: Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Address: No.899 Dongfang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#84 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#94 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lujiazui Finance and Development Zone in Pudong, the hotel offers easy access to both Pudong International Airport (45 Mins) and Hong Qiao International Airport (35 Mins), just 15 minutes by car to the famous Xintiandi recreation area in the Center of Puxi and only 10 minutes to the Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, 10 minutes to the Bund (Huangpu River), also offers very easy access to Jinqiao Export and Import Zone, Zhangjiang High-Tech Park & Waigaoqiao Free Bonded Area, next to Metro Line #2/4/6/9. The hotel suits for both business and leisure. Savor the experience of staying at one of the preferred hotels in Shanghai. Enjoy the genuine hospitality for which Holiday Inn hotels are world-renowned. Come to enjoy the diversity of Shanghai life by staying in our newly renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing