We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exceptional Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #87 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Five straight years visiting this hotel and each time the service, food, and friendliness gets better! Excellent club benefits,
spa close by and can't say enough about Jenny at the front desk and the friendly help of the concierge .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bab143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    250
    76
    22
    9
See reviews for
19
31
41
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A colleague realized that he left a thousand USD in his in-room safe deposit box after checking-out & he was on the plane already. He informed me and the hotel, and they kept it intact for me to collect.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applecart3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I agree with all of the other reviews about location, room details, food, etc. The hotel did not look tired to me but this was my first time staying here. If you want to stay in the IHG brand try the Intercontinental (nearby on Zhangyang Rd) but then it will cost more. It is close the the #4 Metro or you can walk from Century Ave.

Irish pub (this is a stretch) next door does look worn down but it shows all the latest sports. After looking at the menu I did not try the food. Western pop music on certain nights. Watch out for the "single" ladies that frequent this spot.

Work out room is adequate for an Chinese hotel. Not the latest equipment but all worked nicely so no complaints. Also has lap pool which can be hard to find in China.

Service was attentive and friendly in the restaurant , front desk and curb side for taxis. This would be OK for a tourist hotel. The only downside is that you are on the financial /business side of the river so cab or metro is necessary to get to the typical tourist areas.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, try for a corner room ending in 01, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freeqntrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is my default hotel at Pudong. I keep coming back to the the hotel just because i am familiar with the area. The location is walkable from the century station (10 mins walk). However, I think the hotel standard has gone down (room quality, maintenance, food, etc.) The ipod clock in my room did not work and my coworker's room has water leak marks on the ceiling. The only nice thing though is some of the staff had been there for a few years (very abnormal for a China hotel), so it is like meeting a family member when I go back. But I would definitely like to try out some other options next time as the rate is getting outragous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garfieldtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great location and service, free wifi all area such a great thing. Foods are great, variety and complete your taste. Love all thing for 2 nights in here especially the bed, such a great comfort.

Everything helpful for tourist, service are very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch0mp00i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed (again) for 4 days. Pretty happy with this hotel overall. Rooms are well done and have everything you need. Only problem is a quite noisy AC that switches on and off very frequently (bad combination with jetlag). Staff is friendly and helpful. There are multiple restaurants, including Irish pub, where most (international) guests seem to congregate later at night. Breakfast offers very complete buffet, both Western and Chinese. Would visit again

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FD-GSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Two years in a row, I stayed here while on business trips to Shanghai, first in March 2012 and again in March 2013.

What I liked about the hotel was its modern decor of the room that I had on both times (they seemed almost exactly the same though on different floors), and with the ambient lighting in the room, it made my 2-week stay comfortable and cosy. Bed was large and comfortable and there was a choice of what kind of pillows I would like to have.

Generally, room size was good and spacious, but it seemed like the heating (or airconditioning) did not work as well as I hoped it did, because during March it was still rather chilly outside and despite setting the temperature higher, the room still felt kind of cold.

Cleanliness was alright, but could be improved because sometimes I felt like the bathroom had an unpleasant smell and the large plush velvet seat in the room had a shoe print on its surface. Overall, it was still ok though.

The buffet-style breakfast had a wide spread of local fare, as well as a fairly good selection of breads, seasonal fruits and the likes. There was also a Club level that was available for Priority Club members that was much quieter but the selection of breakfast there is a bit more limited in comparison.

There are a couple of convenience stores and eateries located around the hotel for food options, and it is perhaps about 10 minutes walk to a nearby small mall, and a short taxi ride down Century Avenue to the Shanghai World Financial Centre and the Super Brand Mall and their vicinity. You could even walk there if you like, which takes around 20 minutes thereabouts.

Friendly, polite staff and efficient check-in/out. Although, over a year, the hotel seemed to have grown a little worn in terms of the upkeep of the furnishings. Free wifi in the lobby but in the rooms, you only get it free if you are a priority member. On the whole, it was a rather enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verena_amber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#50 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#150 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Property: Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Address: D, Pudong NO. 899 Dongfang Road, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#84 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#91 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lujiazui Finance and Development Zone in Pudong, the hotel offers easy access to both Pudong International Airport (45 Mins) and Hong Qiao International Airport (35 Mins), just 15 minutes by car to the famous Xintiandi recreation area in the Center of Puxi and only 10 minutes to the Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, 10 minutes to the Bund (Huangpu River), also offers very easy access to Jinqiao Export and Import Zone, Zhangjiang High-Tech Park & Waigaoqiao Free Bonded Area, next to Metro Line #2/4/6/9. The hotel suits for both business and leisure. Savor the experience of staying at one of the preferred hotels in Shanghai. Enjoy the genuine hospitality for which Holiday Inn hotels are world-renowned. Come to enjoy the diversity of Shanghai life by staying in our newly renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing