We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel, close to the MRT, next to my fav Fujian restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #111 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel, close to the MRT, next to my fav Fujian restaurant”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I used to stay at Regal international East Asia hotel, but since staying here, I prefer here.

The hotel is clean, service is prompt. The foods in the hotel is good - I enjoy the breakfast spread - a mainly local Shanghai food with the usual omellette, porridge and cereals. The chinese retaurant on the 2nd floor is also quite affordable and nice.

It is close by the MRT - Pudian Road, so moving around is very convenient.

When u check in, always make sure that u get what you book. Twice, they tried to give me like twin room or smoking rooms when I booked otherwise. Make ur stand if it is important to u. Also, they like to come to u for room upgrades like free internet or laundry for some $$$. Again, u r not obliged, and take it only if u want it.

Lastly, check out the restaurant across the hotel - Mr Su's seafood. The food is Xiamen style, and if u r a hokkien from Fujian or Xiamen, u may enjoy the food from our hometown. Ask the waiter that u want authentic fujian food, and they will cook for u, otherwise, it become the stad big china city fusion food. I chose this hotel also for this restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhWah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    272
    88
    25
    11
See reviews for
22
33
42
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I THOROUGHLY enjoyed my stay here this summer...THOROUGHLY! The hotel is BEAUTIFUL; the staff is TREMENDOUSLY helpful; my room was FANTASTIC; breakfast was EXCELLENT; and, the hotel is conveniently located near a shopping mall and mass transit, if needed.

Initially, I was a bit worried that I chose poorly when I selected this hotel. It's not located in the city centre; rather, it is in the newest part of Shanghai. So, I feared that I would feel a bit isolated and disconnected from the city, but this did not occur, AT ALL! As I stated above, I found the hotel to be ideally situated, providing convenient access to the city centre while also allowing for a bit of "breathing room" (which, if you've never visited China, then you will appreciate...TRUST ME!).

I REALLY liked my room which had an ultra-modern design, complete with a hot tub/jacuzzi in it! I THOROUGHLY enjoyed interacting with the hotel staff as they were ALL TREMENDOUSLY friendly and eager to assist. Rather than go on and on, I think my first sentence says it all! I TRULY cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here on 2 occasions in August. The hotel is ideally located in the Pudong Business District. The hotel is spotless clean and the rooms are large,clean and well air conditioned. The breakfast is excellent with a mix of both European/American and Chinese choices. Pudian metro station is literally a 3 min walk away and once you catch the metro and following one line change @ century avenue station you can be in the heart of pudong or across the river on Nanjing Road (shopping area) within a few minutes. There is a family mart right across the road from the hotel entrance where you can buy water etc. There are also good coffee shops within a 2 minute walk. If you fancy walking instead of taking the metro you can get to the World Financial Tower within a half hour passing by McDonalds on the way. The bar in the hotel is expensive by Shanghai standards and is frequented by prostitutes who are not shy about introducing themselves to male guests however, a stern NO will see them off. The staff are very pleasant and most of them have quite good English. Wifi is not free in your room although @ 80 yuan (€10 / $12 ) for 24 hours is not that expensive. All things considered I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Spandau8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I've stayed here three times always in an Club room. Rooms are very good. Good FREE wireless in the lobby and restaurant. Too bad you have to pay for it in the rooms and the Club Lounge. Staff goes out of their way to please you and some even refer to you by name. The best breakfast buffet in Shanghai ...I've tried numerous. Previously, I've stayed at the Grand Hyatt and St. Regis which were very good but the Holiday Inn is as good or even better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBBB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during my week long trip to Shanghai. It's smack right in Pudong's commercial district so it could be convenient if you are on a work trip, and needing to look for a stay within Pudong.

The nearest train station is Pudian station (line4), 5+mins walk away, and is 1-2 stops away from interchanging to other lines. There are a handful of restaurants at the lobby of office buildings nearby so eating won't be a major problem. Nearest supermarket is Century Lian Hua, which is connected to Pudian station.

What I like about the hotel is the furnishing, the swimming pool is one of the best I've seen. During my stay, someone was hosting a party at the pool and the pool was lighted up very nicely. Gym looks fully equipped but I did not try.

Club lounge looks fantastic, probably close to intercontinental style or the better Crowne Plaza's. The windows at the lounge has a panoramic view of the Pudong city which is very nice. There is no free wifi for lounge patrons which is a shame. This policy is unique only to this hotel within the intercontinental group. I've never been to a lounge where the wifi access is dependent on your room's package (which mine was not included). Of course, there are 2 computers in the lounge where you can access internet for free.

Free wifi is only available at the lobby, secured by a login page. I travel to Shanghai fairly often and I would pay to upgrade to a better room but will think twice to pay for internet because I've never been charged before. (PCR-Plat)

This hotel could have been the top choice for me in Shanghai if not for the internet access. I most likely will not return.

Room Tip: It's a new hotel and you can expect any rooms to be top notch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SporeSamSeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, Ohio
Level Contributor
218 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I like this hotel and its location, services, and features. I have been staying here and returning for more than one year. Good price and good location. Only 40 minutes and $25 from the Pudong International airport. Nice club lounge that includes breakfast, evening cocktails, and use of a conference room, Wifi, etc.
Good bar / restaurant Flannagans on the first floor. Cold beer and western food. All at a reasonable price.
I will return.

Room Tip: If you arrive early ask for the Executive lounge upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
201 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a Hotel in Pudong that has very good rooms and good service (especially the staff in the reception and concierge), but there is nothing else special to write about.

First, the room is comfortable and you can choose the pillows, either soft or hard. TV Channels are enough to entertain you with CNN and BBC plus movie, sports and music channels. Bathroom is good too. A/C is not noisy and this is good for a quiet sleep, especially in summer.

Internet is not free in the room (80 RMB x 24 hrs) and this is once again something that is not right nowadays, but they gave you free wifi in the lobby area, something that is odd as it should be the other way around.

Breakfast is just OK, although it will be better with a proper egg station as I couldn’t see any option to get an omelet, only fried eggs.

Coffee is one of the worst I ever had, so I ended having instant Nescafe in the room as it was much more drinkable than the one offered for breakfast.

Around the Hotel you will find a Family Mart and 7 Eleven shops (in case you need some snack), but not a proper western restaurant, so if you really need them you need to take a taxi.

The hotel is just 10 minutes by taxi to the Maglev station and it can cost you around 25-30 RMB. Maglev is still 50 RMB one way and will bring you to Pudong airport in 11 minutes. If you have to go to Hongqiao airport, then by taxi it may take you between 40 to 60 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#42 of 5,059 in Shanghai
558 reviews
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#132 of 5,059 in Shanghai
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Property: Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Address: No.899 Dongfang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#104 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#119 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lujiazui Finance and Development Zone in Pudong, the hotel offers easy access to both Pudong International Airport (45 Mins) and Hong Qiao International Airport (35 Mins), just 15 minutes by car to the famous Xintiandi recreation area in the Center of Puxi and only 10 minutes to the Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, 10 minutes to the Bund (Huangpu River), also offers very easy access to Jinqiao Export and Import Zone, Zhangjiang High-Tech Park & Waigaoqiao Free Bonded Area, next to Metro Line #2/4/6/9. The hotel suits for both business and leisure. Savor the experience of staying at one of the preferred hotels in Shanghai. Enjoy the genuine hospitality for which Holiday Inn hotels are world-renowned. Come to enjoy the diversity of Shanghai life by staying in our newly renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing