We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Pudong - my home in Shanghai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Ranked #102 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Holiday Inn Pudong - my home in Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Just spent two nights again at the Holiday Inn, Pudong (899 Dongfang Road) and found the service, rooms and experience to the usual high standard. Quick and easy check-in and worth taking the upgrade to an Executive Room (approx £25/night) - brings valuable benefits such as free internet and access to the Executive Lounge, an nice oasis for both breakfast and the daily happy hour (17:30-19:00) where you can partake of free nibbles and drinks.
As for the executive rooms, love the idea of the batchroom separated by a glass wall with integral blinds. Plenty of room in both bedroom and bathroom with excellent service and very clean.
For the last two years this has been my hotel of choice when flying in to Shanghai and certainly for the foreseeable future, will remain so. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the Executive Room upgrade - good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    267
    83
    24
    10
See reviews for
21
33
42
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I've stayed in several of the Holiday Inn hotels in Shanghai. This specific hotel is the best of the Holiday Inn hotels in Shanghai by a wide margin and is my preferred hotel in Shanghai.

This is a well maintained hotel with large clean rooms. You'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44WestSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now over the past 3 years and each time the standards have been equally as good.
The hotel is a 20 minute taxi ride from the Shanghai New Expo centre. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all the facilities needed i.e. iron & ironing board, etc. The beds are particualrly comfortable and the rooms have air con. Lovely bathrooms with a powerful shower. The TV has a wide range of English channels with a good selection of movies.
Breakfast and the snack menu are particularly good and there is an Irish bar which also offers a decent meal (I recommend the salmon steak!) and regularly has live music which is ok. The service at the hotel is very good. The gym could be improved but overall I would be happy to stay here again on a business trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I do not recommend this hotel!!
There you go this is the summary of my stay and experience. I was at the end of my stay in China and really couldn't wait to leave here.

This is a large modern tower block hotel. My cab driver couldn't find it so I was left on the street, it is tucked away next to a larger chinese hotel. The reception staff are OK , beware they charge a fortune for room internet, which is amazing.

There is free wifi in the lobby but this means you have to sit in the mosquito infested lobby.Seriously I got eaten alive in this hotel's lobby, the worst I have experienced in my short China trip!!
The other issue with the lobby are the touts who hassle tourists and can be aggressive, I think the concierge staff are on the take, I once complained to someone after I was asked if I wanted a girl to come to my room!! He suggested that I should try it!! Amazing I wonder if Holiday Inn know that this is happening quite openly. I didn't by the way!!!!!

As regular as clock work if you leave the hotel to walk somewhere, say the shops or the metro station you will be approached by touts before you even leave the hotel grounds.I once got verbally abused in front of hotel staff for refusing their services!! You're not safe with the cabs outside the hotel either. Its better to go to the main road and flag a cab down.

The rooms are OK the restaurants, bars and room service are expensive. There is a Costa coffee opposite with good free wifi and no mosquitos!!

Pudong is quite dull the local restaurants are not good, and as there are many foreign business people here there are many touts and people trying to scam you.

The only advantage of staying in Pudong is its vicinity to the airport and Malev station.

Stay somewhere else in Shanghai, and I wonder if Holiday Inn know what is happening in their hotel??

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GODZILLALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
364 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

As ever, I took a great deal of time looking thru Trip Adviser before booking this hotel. (suggest you use Ctrip rather than booking via UK/US) - better deals. Catch Maglev (a 301 kmph experience) from Airport to the centre of the city then metro to hotel.

Graciously managed at Reception by professional staff; spacious and well appointed room. Comfortable beds (and that's saying something for China) and 'named pillows' (firm; soft etc). Other pillows available on request (ie lavender). Good breakfast although I felt the dining room lackef atmosphere,probably because it was enormous.

Excellent nearby chinese restaurant - think it was called The Jade Garden - a stone's throw from the hotel and much tastier and more intimate atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jingle05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I´ve stayed in Holiday Inn Pudong in June 2011 again, next to my 1st stay in March 2010. This time, actually, it was a triple check-in & check-out within 10 days spent in Shanghai , because of one inserted short trip to Xian and finally "thanks" to floods in Beijing, when our flight was cancelled and we turned back from the airport ...
As well as 1 year ago, I was satisfied in all the aspects again.
Good location - easy access to the airport and Expo ground.
Nice spacious rooms, acceptable rate & reasonable surcharge for upgrading to an Executive level. Excellent bed with a wide choice of pillows. In Chinese conditions very good style of internatinal buffet breakfast, what is not usual in China yet. I don´t judge lunch & dinner there - it´s a sin to stay in the hotel whenever you are in China... let´s eat outside and pick out different restaurant each time.
I´m fully satisfied with the staff : no problem to get the same room after 2 days being away and even after our unscheduled comeback from the airport, good guidance in the business lounge whenever I needed to print tickets, boarding pass etc.
For sure, I will use this hotel for my further trips again !

Room Tip: I would recommend to pay a little bit extra fee for Executive floor - more quiet, better service in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Probably the best Holiday Inn I have stayed at. Excellent location in Pudong. Our room was very funky.
Breakfast is a must, buffet has everything you need.
Staff were very helpful

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#47 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#164 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#126 of 4,971 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong

Property: Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Address: No.899 Dongfang Road, Pudong, Shanghai 200122, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#95 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#96 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lujiazui Finance and Development Zone in Pudong, the hotel offers easy access to both Pudong International Airport (45 Mins) and Hong Qiao International Airport (35 Mins), just 15 minutes by car to the famous Xintiandi recreation area in the Center of Puxi and only 10 minutes to the Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, 10 minutes to the Bund (Huangpu River), also offers very easy access to Jinqiao Export and Import Zone, Zhangjiang High-Tech Park & Waigaoqiao Free Bonded Area, next to Metro Line #2/4/6/9. The hotel suits for both business and leisure. Savor the experience of staying at one of the preferred hotels in Shanghai. Enjoy the genuine hospitality for which Holiday Inn hotels are world-renowned. Come to enjoy the diversity of Shanghai life by staying in our newly renovated rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing