We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location complimenting the breakfast available”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Ranked #114 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful location next to the shanghai railway station. Close to all major attractions. Very good amenities. Nice staff. Get welcome drink at the reception desk. More top u go more scenic becomes the city. Very good spread of breakfast

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crdebata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Crdebata,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and supporting regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown.
We are very glad that our staff made you stay more enjoyable. We are also pleased to hear you appreciated the aspects such as the breakfast, the amenities and the location.
We take our guest comments very seriously as the enable us to improve our quality even further and exceed over and beyond our guests expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Thank you!
Sincerely,
Daan Oostdam
Guest relations officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 943 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been staying in that hotel from August 28 to September 01st. I have been welcomed at front desk with really smiling staff. The hotel is well located. During my journey, the staff were very courteous, welcoming. The check in and check out procedures were very fast and efficient. Please let the front desk staff that they are doing a great job.


Yassine ZTOT

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monacito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Monacita,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn
Shanghai Downtown.
We are glad to know our front desk staff made your stay more enjoyable. We are also delighted to hear that you appreciated the location of the hotel.
Your encouraging feedback will help us constantly improve our service even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guests expectations.
Thank you!
Sincerely,
Daan Oostdam
Guest relations officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

C In 5th of August C Out 7th of August

As a family we were traveling in a private tour, the first and second day of stay was fine, there was some language barrier but somehow we managed to get in to our rooms, the first day breakfast too was fine.

On the second day, before we checked out, we were refused breakfast on the 3rd floor. When asked why we were given various reasons,

1. Restaurant is closed (lied there were people eating)
2. Floor Arrangement (The restaurant was not even full)
3. Our room number was not in it

and so on and so on

We were ushered to eat at the first floor, which i could say that the food being served was even worse than yesterday's leftover that sometimes hotels give to their employees (Yes i know i worked in Hotels too). I think the hotel staff must have us confused with the other tour group.

Our room number is not with the list with the staff on the first floor either and she told us to eat at the 3rd Floor.

Our reservations from our side is that we paid fully for all the expenses, rooms and breakfast, maybe the mistake was that our tour has similar names, or just that we were assumed as a tour because we travel as a family, i don't know.

Finally the tour guide from the other tour told the lady on the 3rd floor that we are not part of the group. At first she still refuse us entry, but after some yelling and cursing we were reluctantly allowed entry. We were also instructed not to be served in the retaurant (Waiter didnt bother asking for tea and coffee and etc).

Two people were very very very not helpful during this pandamic was
1. The short plump lady at the 3rd floor restaurant - yes we understoon some of the curses and yelling. She was very rude and keeps telling us to find our tour leader, as mention above we are not part of the other tour group.

2. The manager or supervisor by the front office, we were trying to clarify our booking, but none of the reception staff could speak english, however when some Westeners came to C out by some Heaven's miracle she could speak english perfectly well. This was very very disappointing, we were even asked for another 2 rooms key card (from the other tour) very rudely.

Short story is that maybe there was a wrong reservations, maybe the staff forgot to put us on alert, fine, just check with the tour to confirm our booking. But getting yelled at and scream in the morning? We paid very expensively for this trip and this is what we got? Tell us we need to pay extra for breakfast nicely and we would have!

Disappointed is all i could say. This ruins the whole day of travel. We only have so little days of holidays and this happened.

You have a fine hotel. But the service we had was awful.
Honestly i was trying to write a good review on how convenient the hotel was on the first night of stay. I can't remember our room number, but you could check with your staff on the 7th in the morning to clarify this incident.

Thank You Very Much

Room Tip: Higher Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vfh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear VFH2013,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown.
We are very sorry for all the inconvenience caused. At the moment we are looking into these problems with the related departments. Since we take your comments very seriously we would like to respond to you personally about the problems.
Could you please send us your email adress and telephone details to gro@hidt.com.cn.
We look forward to hearing from you, Thank you!
Sincerely,
Daan Oostdam
Guest relation officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This Holiday Inn was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Although the room wasn't that large, it was sufficient for us tired travellers. We did appreciate having access to our room by mid morning as we had come off an overnight flight. The staff friendly were attentive, especially in the restaurant which was also used to train staff. As a result we were very well looked after.

We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Elaine H,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and support regarding you recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown.
We are very glad to hear that our staff and service made you stay more enjoyable. We take our guest comments very seriously as we always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accomodations.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Daan Oostdam
Guest relations officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel provides great rooms with nice features. Staff is very nice and well trained. Breakfast was amazing considering the "low" budget. Location is very convenient, in the evening only 15 minutes by cab to the Bund. Would definitely come back if opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f00d_l0ver83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear f00d_l0ver83,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear you appreciated our rooms and its features and we are glad to know you are more than satisfied with our breakfast and our location.
Thank you once again for you feedback and support, we will continue to strive in delivering the quality services, allowing guests to indulge in the best way they deserve.
Sincerely,
Daan Oostdam
Guest relation officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

As expected.
Room was tiny, but clean. Common places was not well cleaned (damned cockroaches!), dinner not proper chinese, nor western style, anyway not bad.
Wifi internet present but slow as expected.
well connected with public transport.
Good for a short business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Marco Z,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the condition of the public areas and the style of the dinner.
Both your comments are documented and communicated with the related departments and will definitely be looked into.
On the other hand are, we are very pleased to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness of the room and the location of the hotel.
Thank you once again for the feedback and support, we would like to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Daan Oostdam
Guest relationship officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights during a tour of china and hong kong, room not very big, but had all we needed, tv, tea and coffee making facilities etc.
the hotel was in downtown shanghai, so was near to shops and bars, so great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debs_59England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Deb_59England,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.
We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you enjoyed the room with its facilities.
We are also pleased to know you appreciated the location of the hotel, an aspect of our hotel wich is preferred by many of our guests. Your encouraging review will help us to constantly improve our quality as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guests expectations.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Daan Oostdam
Guest relations officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#64 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,773 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#118 of 5,159 in Shanghai
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#50 of 5,159 in Shanghai
896 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#157 of 5,159 in Shanghai
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown

Address: No. 285 West Tian Mu Road Jing'an District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#108 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $73 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is managed by InterContinental Hotels Group. The hotel is located in the commercial centre of Shanghai Jing’an District, only 5 minutes walking distance to Shanghai Railway Station, subway entrance of line 1/ 3/ 4 and airport line 5. Pudong International Airport is 45 minutes by car and a speedy 20 minutes to Hongqiao International Airport/ National Center for Exhibition & Convention. Ease access to some famous attractions such as Tianzifang, Xintiandi, The Bund, People’s Square, the Jade Buddha Temple, Yu Garden…around 20 minutes. Our hotel provides you an ideal location for shopping, dining, sightseeing, entertainment. The hotel has a total of 282 modern and comfortable rooms including 14 suites. Guests can also utilize your very own in-room desk and free high-speed Wi-Fi and Wired Internet Access, so you can keep on top of work and the latest news. The Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is the ideal choice for conventions and meetings, with its versatile and stylish function rooms; we can accommodate all types of meetings, training seminars, weddings and a wide range social function. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, the Lobby Lounge is a great place to relax and enjoy special drinks. Enjoy Western and Asian cuisine at Angel’s Cafe and experience authentic Chinese local dishes at Yue Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing