We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business professionals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Ranked #110 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed December 30, 2012

China is one of the greatest countries in the world for what they are doing for their people in development. However the lack of communication skills in English for travelers leaves a lot to be desired. This hotel is awesome for helping their guests in every way , i would recommend this place as everyone is so helpful.

Room Tip: should overlook the train station ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjeevmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Sanjeevmehra,
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and your high valued comment. We also pleased that you found our staff very friendly and accommodating, so hopefully you did not hesitate to call on them to assist with any inconveniences. Once again, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 950 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

Myself and 2 friends took the night train from Beijing to Shanghai, and this hotel was right in front of the train station, which was a great convenience. It is also fairly near the Shanghai Metro station (line 1), so it was easy to see the sights.
We booked a 'suite' as there was hardly any difference in price, and a personal computer for our use was provided in the room.
It was lovely and clean, and you could breathe in Shanghai, no more legendary Beijing pollution, and the beds were very comfortable. The shower was amazing!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a bigger room, not much difference in price but it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear David J,
Sincere thank you for taking time to share your experience and appreciated your positive comments for Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. We are glad to learn your stay with us was relaxing and memorable. Our aim is to ensure that the hotel offers consistently high standards of service and facilities. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 days at the Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai as part of a tour group. The hotel is not impressive from the outside and not even from inside. The location is very good, near the train station and also near the "Shanghai Railway" metro station (Line 1 - red line) .
We were on the eighth floor in a no smoking room . Medium size room with carpeted floors and a TV set with no less than 15 years of work. Although old it had a good selection of international channels. The air conditioning functioned satisfactorily and had options of pillows. Good quality of bed sheets.
The bathroom has been remodeled with new sink and taps and an awesome shower.
The Wi Fi service was available only in reception and on the third floor ( breakfast room). No WiFi in the room or in the hallways.
The breakfast is buffet style and is located on the third floor. Good options for breads, express coffee (no extra charge) and eggs cooked to order. Fresh squeezed juice of watermelon every day. Other juices available but not fresh squeezed. You also can get a lot of Chinese breakfast options.
The holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai is a good option for a tourist undemanding.

Room Tip: ask for a no smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo Zeno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear BrazucaMiami,
Thank you for having chosen Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and taking your time to share your experience. Our good location is often reassuring to hear directly from our guests. Our aim is to ensure that the hotel offers consistently high standards of service and facilities. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you're travelling through Shanghai by train, it doesn't get better than this hotel. It's literally in front of Shanghai's railway station. But apart from it's location, there's nothing special about this hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure about the average room in this hotel, but my room was SMALL. The armrests of the desk chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joost R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear rooymans,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our good location is often reassuring to hear directly from our guests. Our aim is to ensure that the hotel offers consistently high standards of service and facilities. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was part of a group that stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai for 3 nights. My room was clean and well appointed. The bed and pillows were fine and my room was smoke free which was good.
The hotel is very close to Shanghai Railway station which is a bonus.
I didn't notice any noise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear burgew,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We highly appreciate your opinion and therefore we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you again during your future stays in Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

As expected from the Holiday Inn chain the hotel was clean and confortable. I was there for a conference and business trip and all facilities were clean and well maintained. The hotel is very well located a few hundred metres from the Shanghai railway station.

Breakfast was the usual buffet with an a good selection of western and Chinese items to satisfy a broad range of tastes.

Rooms are well appointed with the usual toiletries. Some people may find the beds hard but they were to my liking. You also get a choice of pillows. Overall I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamilt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We highly appreciate your opinion and therefore we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you again during your future stays in Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

First I have to mention that the hotel is built next to the most noisy intersection in China... or at least it seems like it. All night long, without stopping, the cars kept honking their horns. And the same story for the whole week... After a week at this hotel I was so happy to have a quiet night-sleep.
The hotel was no clean and the standards for "clean" are different at this hotel from any other hotel in the chain. Everybody smokes everywhere, the glasses in the room are dirty, the mirrors in the washrooms, etc.
The location is only good if you are looking to take a train in the morning. Otherwise, not a great location.
And, one more thing. The staff does not speak English.
The price was good, but in the end, I think I made a bad choice by selecting this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliamTrusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Lillam Trusky,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience on the TA website. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations and service received. First of all, I would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience about noise you’ve encountered. Should you have any troubles during your stay, please contact our staff and we could change room or provide earplug for you. Also we will refresher cleaning and language training. We truly hop you will give us a chance to show you our quality of service and regain your confidence. I would hope you would give us the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown in the future, to which I am sure you will experience a marked improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,785 reviews
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#115 of 5,160 in Shanghai
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Novotel Shanghai Atlantis
#50 of 5,160 in Shanghai
901 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#159 of 5,160 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown

Address: No. 285 West Tian Mu Road Jing'an District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#104 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $68 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is managed by InterContinental Hotels Group. The hotel is located in the commercial centre of Shanghai Jing’an District, only 5 minutes walking distance to Shanghai Railway Station, subway entrance of line 1/ 3/ 4 and airport line 5. Pudong International Airport is 45 minutes by car and a speedy 20 minutes to Hongqiao International Airport/ National Center for Exhibition & Convention. Ease access to some famous attractions such as Tianzifang, Xintiandi, The Bund, People’s Square, the Jade Buddha Temple, Yu Garden…around 20 minutes. Our hotel provides you an ideal location for shopping, dining, sightseeing, entertainment. The hotel has a total of 282 modern and comfortable rooms including 14 suites. Guests can also utilize your very own in-room desk and free high-speed Wi-Fi and Wired Internet Access, so you can keep on top of work and the latest news. The Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is the ideal choice for conventions and meetings, with its versatile and stylish function rooms; we can accommodate all types of meetings, training seminars, weddings and a wide range social function. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, the Lobby Lounge is a great place to relax and enjoy special drinks. Enjoy Western and Asian cuisine at Angel’s Cafe and experience authentic Chinese local dishes at Yue Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing