We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveler rating
184
449
331
78
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
184
449
331
78
30
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

As expected from the Holiday Inn chain the hotel was clean and confortable. I was there for a conference and business trip and all facilities were clean and well maintained. The hotel is very well located a few hundred metres from the Shanghai railway station.

Breakfast was the usual buffet with an a good selection of western and Chinese items to satisfy a broad range of tastes.

Rooms are well appointed with the usual toiletries. Some people may find the beds hard but they were to my liking. You also get a choice of pillows. Overall I would certainly stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamilt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We highly appreciate your opinion and therefore we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you again during your future stays in Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

First I have to mention that the hotel is built next to the most noisy intersection in China... or at least it seems like it. All night long, without stopping, the cars kept honking their horns. And the same story for the whole week... After a week at this hotel I was so happy to have a quiet night-sleep.
The hotel was no clean and the standards for "clean" are different at this hotel from any other hotel in the chain. Everybody smokes everywhere, the glasses in the room are dirty, the mirrors in the washrooms, etc.
The location is only good if you are looking to take a train in the morning. Otherwise, not a great location.
And, one more thing. The staff does not speak English.
The price was good, but in the end, I think I made a bad choice by selecting this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliamTrusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Lillam Trusky,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience on the TA website. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations and service received. First of all, I would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience about noise you’ve encountered. Should you have any troubles during your stay, please contact our staff and we could change room or provide earplug for you. Also we will refresher cleaning and language training. We truly hop you will give us a chance to show you our quality of service and regain your confidence. I would hope you would give us the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown in the future, to which I am sure you will experience a marked improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour group. Very spacious and comfortable beds (all beds in China are very hard). Breakfast was good, coffee excellent and very centrally located. The bar area wasn't that atmospheric though but plenty of places around the area.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Von_Smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Von_Smiles,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We highly appreciate your opinion and therefore we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you again during your future stays in Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the hotel November 11th thru the 14th 2012, It was so shabby. The lobby chairs were torn and soiled. The carpet in my room was badly stained and frayed. The TV was 20 years old.
The breakfasts were good, the coffee never warm. after the Penta in Beijing this was a real disappointment.The staff was friendly and helpful.The traffic noise was bad.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajollabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear lajollabay,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Our staff does their utmost to provide you with excellent service and an optimized stay. Therefore we are delighted to hear that you experienced this as such. Additionally, I am happy to inform you that we will start with a refurbishment of the guest’s rooms at the end of this year.
Therefore we hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me at mary.han@ihg.com

,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

All above plus typical Chinese breakfast, I would rather go to one of the Holiday Inn Express, there is a quite new one just a few streets away.

The location is convenient to access everything in Shanghai, plenty of taxis around but with the already mentioned downsides.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andie6931
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Mr/Ms. Andie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
As we highly value our guest’s opinions, we are delighted to hear that you experienced our location to be a great advantage. As we have an extensive variety of guests, we do our utmost to also let this reflect in our breakfast by providing Continental as well as Chinese elements. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully experience this as such. Therefore, if you have any suggestions that might enhance both your general experience and breakfast experience, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you once again for your valuable evaluation and we are looking forward to getting the chance of welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews