We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will definately return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Ranked #141 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will definately return”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

the hotel offers good price, comfortable room and it looks new, wifi acess on complimentary, and the superb location to access everywhere, walking distance to train and subway station, lots of food outlets surrouding the hotel, i will definately come back whenever i am visiting Shanghai.

Bear in mind, the hotel divides into 2 different buildings, which categorised into South wing and North wing, make sure your booking is clearly indicated. I was told that South wing is newer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PYP0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear PYP0721,
Thank you for having chosen Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and we are glad to learn your last visit with us was relaxing and memorable. We would definitely look after you again. Our hotel has 2 wings, the Plaza Wing and the Great Wall Wing. The wings are connected by the basement and the walking distance is maximum 2 minutes. To avoid the inconvenience we also provide a shuttle service. Once again, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    400
    283
    70
    21
See reviews for
65
159
76
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is beside the main train station so would be convenient for anyone arriving or leaving by train. For us it was a Wendy Wu tour hotel and had some pluses and minuses. It was a 15 minute taxi ride to the Bund and the other sites such as the Shanghai Museum, or the Yuyuan gardens or the French Concession though taxis were very cheap at about US$3 a trip. It was on a busy road with a large department store nearby, plus a lot of smaller shops servicing the local train users. Hotel staff were helpful writing the Chinese character names of places I wanted taxi drivers to take me to such as Tang Zi Fang, and clagging down taxi for me and speaking to thendriver. Good free lobby wifi much appreciated. Breakfast room had a real espresso maker for some quite acceptable coffee - the first of any China hotel we stayed in. Good fruit for breakfast, not just the ubiquitous watermelon. Also the most comfortable beds of any of our tour hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OscarTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear OscarTammy,
Thank you so much for your positive and comprehensive comment about our hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Our good location is often reassuring to hear directly from our guests. Our staff is dedicated to providing the high quality service you have come to expect from Holiday Inn. Thank you again and we look for to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Good comfortable hotel. Nice layout and good not to have that smokey smell that is so usual of Chinese Hotels. A reasonable selection of shops close to hand. Good breakfast with plenty of selection for western tastebuds. Nice to have your coffee poured for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra_j_leong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Sandra_l_leong,
Thank you so much for your positive and comprehensive comment about our hotel. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Refurbished rooms. Old buildings - of the 2 only one has an executive club.
Excellent service. Only 200m or less from teh main railway station.
Morning difficulties in getting taxis.
Short taxi ride to Xintiandi and the Bund, unless there is heavy traffic.
about 100m from subway station.

Room Tip: Ask for teh wing with the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haib18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear haib18,
Thank you for your stay at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and taking your time to share your experience with us. Our good location is often reassuring to hear directly from our guests. About the taxi problem, we suggest that during the rush hour it’s better for you to make the car booking in advance. Please feel free to check more information about transportation with our Concierge. Thank you again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were staying in the hotel during our holidays. It is a great place to stay as it is 2 mins walk from the Shanghai Railway station and subway. Nice and clean, accommodating staff who were happy to check us in much earlier. Great breakfast at a very reasonable price. We will definatelly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Awaterfield,
Thank you so much for your positive and comprehensive comment about our hotel. Our good location is often reassuring to hear directly from our guests. Making your stay a complete success is our goal. Our staff is dedicated to providing the high quality service you have come to expect from Holiday Inn. Thank you again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel gives you the best value for your money. the rooms are good,though we had a problem initially with the AC in the room as it ws not working properly ,our room was changed without any hassles. it is very convinient to reach this hoteln as it is near the metro and just opposite to the main railway station. There is free WIFI in the lobby and the staff speak good english.
just around the corner is a KFC as well as MC donald . There is a family mart also where you can buy your requirements but you should be able to chose by looking at it since everything is written in Chinese and the people there do not speak English.
good comfort away from home

Room Tip: as soon as u check in make sure all the things are in working condition.They r happy to change if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pucha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear pucha13,
Thank you for staying with us, and we’re glad you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. We also pleased that you found our staff very friendly and accommodating, so, hopefully you did not hesitate to call on them to assist with any inconveniences. Making your stay a complete success is our goal. Thank you again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, or perhaps some of your friends whom you may care to recommend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This Hotel would be a 3 1/2 star if available. The arrival at the Hotel was pleasant enough. Staff Professional. Rooms were basic for the money paid. The location was good & central to facilities. beds are very firm. Biggest grip was the provision of 2 teabags (green) and 2 coffee sachets 2 sugars only. No milk or equivalent. We stayed 3 days and they were replaced only once. Room Staff were delightful but spoke no English. Breakfast was very much for the Asian clients (being China I guess to be expected). Internet was not available. I overall did not feel welcomed in this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSKahoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary h, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Robyn S,
Thank you for your stay with us at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and your construction comment on TA. According to Holiday Inn Standard, all rooms should provide 4 teabags(green and black tea), 4 coffee sachets, 4 sugars, 2 diet sugars, 2 coffee mate. If you have any further requests, please feel free to contact our staff. I am pleased to report that we are in the process of new menus for breakfast. New ingredients and daily chefs specials are being implemented. Regarding internet, currently in-house guest can enjoy free wifi at our lobby, restaurant, meeting room executive lounge and public area. And all our rooms are featured high-speed internet access. Thank you once more for bringing the ups and downs of your visit to our attention. I hope you would give us the opportunity in welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown in the future, to which I am sure you will experience a marked improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#104 of 5,059 in Shanghai
535 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#112 of 5,059 in Shanghai
561 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#165 of 5,059 in Shanghai
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Address: No. 285 West Tian Mu Road Jing'an District, Shanghai 200070, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#125 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is managed by InterContinental Hotels Group. The hotel is located in the commercial centre of Shanghai Jing’an District, only 5 minutes walking distance to Shanghai Railway Station, subway entrance of line 1/ 3/ 4 and airport line 5. Pudong International Airport is 45 minutes by car and a speedy 20 minutes to Hongqiao International Airport/ National Center for Exhibition & Convention. Ease access to some famous attractions such as Tianzifang, Xintiandi, The Bund, People’s Square, the Jade Buddha Temple, Yu Garden…around 20 minutes. Our hotel provides you an ideal location for shopping, dining, sightseeing, entertainment. The hotel has a total of 282 modern and comfortable rooms including 14 suites. Guests can also utilize your very own in-room desk and free high-speed Wi-Fi and Wired Internet Access, so you can keep on top of work and the latest news. The Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown is the ideal choice for conventions and meetings, with its versatile and stylish function rooms; we can accommodate all types of meetings, training seminars, weddings and a wide range social function. After a day of meetings or sightseeing, the Lobby Lounge is a great place to relax and enjoy special drinks. Enjoy Western and Asian cuisine at Angel’s Cafe and experience authentic Chinese local dishes at Yue Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing