We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
Ranked #172 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Great location only stayed for one night. Room was not ready by 1.30pm when we needed to go out so they kindly upgraded us to a room that was available. Room was very clean, including large bathroom and even enjoyed a nice balcony. all for 68GBP including breakfast which must take some beating in Shanghai. Only downside was 5GBP fo half a pint in the bar

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toposstiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 271 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

Was attracted by the historic art deco features and great location. Thought that this would allow me to ignore any service gaps. Arrived, staff of three, porter tells me that there's one staff for check in and two for check out, five people waiting to check in and the two check out staff pretending to be busy. It was 10pm! Then the phone won't stop ringing which was only answered by the guy checking in, after a while I realised that the calls were guests ordering room service which needed to be relayed to the kitchen. Executive room was sub four star. Changed my reservation from two nights to one at check in. Shame.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendanRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is basically a business hotel and in an excellent location for Henshan Road. The rooms are well appointed and quite large in size with good facilities and bathrooms are exe lent!
I have not really eaten at the hotel so cannot really comment but the breakfast looked OK - plenty of variety of all different types of food!!
The location is also very good for all the bars and restaurants at the Hengshan as well and the metro is just 5 mins walk as well. The park is opposite which is nice for an early morning stroll when the jet lag wakes you up at 5am!!!

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room to get a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We have stayed here a few times. Booked through Agoda and got a fantastic rate with breakfast included. In the French Concession - a very leafy, green part of Shanghai. Great restuarants as well as Metro nearby. A romantic and historic part of town. If you stay in the newer part of the hotel the rooms are spacious, clean with big beds. You must specify one bed or two singles otherwise they will give you two single beds. There is a great DVD shop if you turn left once you leave the hotel - walk about 10-15minutes.
Breakfast is a good choice of western and chinese food. We had dinner one night also in one of the hotels restaurant - also very good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anoukmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Familiar with the Chinese hotel rating system, I expected a 3.5 - 4 star quality hotel, not a 4.5-5 star as advertised on its website.

The hotel was within my expectation. Location was good, close to train stations and good bars/restaurants. The soaking tub was a great plus, the tub that size was actually rare for Asian hotels. Although rooms were not on the large side, it was not crammed as a lot of other Asian hotels. Beds were comfortable and clean.

Some drawbacks include: the separate shower enclosure leaked a bit under the glass door, which could be a little annoying; temperature of the room was lower than what American travellors were used to and I didn't find the place to adjust the heat level; no staff was there helping me getting a taxi, which stood out to me as a little odd.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BtwBlackandWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I stayed here for two days earlier this week on business. A very nice, historic boutique hotel. The rooms are good, fairly new renovation in them I think. But the two best parts of this hotel, in my opinion, is the Japanese restaurant on the 2nd floor. For RMB 150 you can have an AMAZING all-you-can eat meal that would cost many times that in Hong Kong or New York. And even better, the neighborhood is wonderful. It's an old French neighborhood, very walkable, and i really enjoyed it. The location is also good for getting to the domestic airport, I found.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScrapManHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I stayed in the hotel for 5 days during the IEEE ICPADS conference. I must say that this was one of the worst hotels I have ever been too and the quality is too low to have 5 stars.

First of all, when we arrived, we were assigned a smoking room despite clearly stating during the reservation process that we require a non-smoking one. Simply, the staff said, When we finally agreed to stay one night in that they only have two floors of non-smoking rooms and all are occupied. Moreover, the staff said that they do not know when a non-smoking room will be available. We agreed to stay in the smoking room for one night, and we said that we will change the hotel if they do not find a better solution.

The room itself was extremely small, and the bathroom was in terrible condition without a shower (only a bathtub) and the sink leaked. The room was located on the 12th floor. The carpet was dirty with stains and, what we suspect, spilled instant soup (or vomit!). The only clean things were the beds. Moreover, the heating did not work. We asked for a change immediately, but there were no other rooms.

As it was quite late, we decided to stay there and look for a different place in the morning. We went down to reception first thing after the breakfast, and they had a free room which we checked out and accepted (it would be more fuss to change the hotel than to change the room). The room was much bigger, a bit cleaner (but still had stains on the carpet) and the bathroom was much, much better with a shower and bathtub separate.

The staff at the reception spoke terrible and appalling English and it was very hard to communicate, but the sales manager spoke passable English, however, he was never around. We asked the reception staff to get some directions, and they even laughed at us because we couldn't properly pronounce the Chinese name of the place. Generally, I would fire them all. The cleaning service was also terrible, even though we put "do not disturb sign" at the door, they knocked and tried entering to ask whether they should clean the room.

We had breakfasts and lunches at the cafeteria downstairs. It was good, there was plenty of food, but the staff were inefficient and when asking for a coffee or a tee, it took them a few minutes to bring to a table.

The conference venue was good and the wireless worked fine. The conference rooms were spacious and the conference was well organized, but this was not the hotel's work - they would probably screw it up.

The main positive of the hotel is its excellent location. It's located just 5 minutes from metro line 1 and 10 minutes from metro line 10, with excellent connections to the downtown Shanghai. However, this is the only positive and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, because of the dirtiness and incompetence of the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d1gital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#179 of 5,159 in Shanghai
190 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#66 of 5,159 in Shanghai
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Anting Villa Hotel
Anting Villa Hotel
#142 of 5,159 in Shanghai
152 reviews
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#152 of 5,159 in Shanghai
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hengshan Picardie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hengshan Picardie Hotel

Address: No.534 Hengshan Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#152 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $118 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hengshan Picardie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hengshan Picardie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hengshan Picardie
Hengshan Picardie Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing