We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 star accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Ranked #100 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was a first class hotel that many movie stars stay in. It is in a reasonable location in Shanghai and the bedrooms are very well equipped. The bathroom has a electric toilet included, shower and bath. The beds are large and there is also a large TV, desk and chair. The breakfast was of buffet style and accommodated Chinese, European and American tastes. We had a meal in the restaurant one night and the food was only tepid and although it was well presented it was not really worth the money. The cost of wine is very expensive the cheapest being approximately £25 a bottle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suedewdrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear eastenders18,

Thank you for taking your time to share this warm review about Crowne Plaza Shanghai.

Our team is committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and it is motivating to read your nice comments.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Hotel Team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 693 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Location:
In a relatively quieter area requiring taxi to get around.
Convenience store across the street and Starbucks and Subway around the corner at movie theatre.

Getting to Hotel from Airport:
Arrived at SHA late evening, waited 10 minutes in line for taxi, then taxi took 15 minutes to get to hotel for 53 RMB.

Check-In:
Couldn’t see platinum check-in counter.
3 minute wait in line at reception.
Recognized as platinum during check-in and advised that room was upgraded to club level.

Room:
2120.
Non-smoking.
Smelled very clean.
Large comfortable room.
Large king bed.
Close to elevators but I couldn’t hear them.
Older style furnishings in very good condition.
Plate of welcome fruit which was replenished daily.

Internet In Room:
Wireless and wired.
Free access to wired internet with platinum status.
Dropped occasionally but generally fairly good speed.

Safe:
Yes. Was able to store laptop by putting it in at an angle.

Room Service:
Did not use.
Standard room service ends at 2200 and after that there are very limited options.

Elevators:
Fast.

Desk:
Glass desk at very good working height.
Desk lamp light not very strong but room lighting is very good.
Power sockets for several different types of plugs at desk height.

Desk Chair:
A bit wobbly but adjustable and comfortable.

Iron:
Yes.

Trouser Press:
No.

Robe:
Yes.

Slippers:
Yes.

Umbrella:
Yes.

Tea and Coffee in room:
Complimentary. Replenished daily.

Complimentary Drinking Water:
Two bottles already in room on arrival. Replenished daily.

Fridge:
Yes – containing mini-bar items.

Turn Down Service:
Didn’t see it offered.

Room Lighting:
Wall light and lamp stand.
Bedside lamps.
Lighting not very strong.

Closet, Drawer and Cabinet Space:
Hanging closet.
Lots of storage space in several cabinets.

Phones:
Phone on desk.
Phone bedside.
Phone in bathroom.

Couch:
Large chair and ottoman plus side chair.

TV:
Large LCD.
TV Channels include CNN, BBC and some English movie channels. During heavy rain some channels lost picture.

Windows:
Large windows along outside wall.
Curtains effective at blocking sunlight.

Balcony:
No.

View from Room:
Mixed neighbourhood.

Bathroom:
Small.
Shower combined with bathtub.
No bidet.
No magnifying mirror.
Good lighting.
Many amenities.
Water pressure strong.
Some days hot water was only lukewarm.
Non-heated mirror.
Shaver outlet.
Bathroom floor not heated.

Morning Newspaper at Door:
English paper delivered in room daily.

Gym:
Yes.

Pool:
15m indoor pool.
Water on warm side.
Not very crowded so could swim laps.
Very dated and a bit grungy pool area.
Access from changing room to pool is through gym.

Steam Room:
In changing room, but didn’t use.

Sauna:
In changing room, but didn’t use.

Noise Level in Room:
Very quiet.
Very low air conditioner hum.
Very rarely could hear honking from traffic.

Bed:
King size bed.
Firm mattress.
Bedside lamps.
Very comfortable.
Very clean.

Room Cleanliness:
Cleaned well daily.

Air Conditioning/Heating:
Very effective.

Alarm Clock and Wakeup:
Alarm clock.
Wake up calls requested from reception were always on time.

Laundry Service:
Seemed pricey but done well and delivered on time.

Microwave Oven:
No.

Breakfast:
Buffet breakfast in hotel restaurant cost 139 RMB.
For lighter breakfast used nearby Starbucks instead.

Restaurant:
Did not use other than for breakfast.

Parking:
Did not use.

Staff:
Very polite.
Good understanding of English.
I reported a problem with water from room above dripping down in bathroom during first night and this was quickly fixed and room change was offered.

Check Out:
Fast, easy, took about 3 mins.

Leaving Hotel:
Had booked taxi with concierge in advance so didn’t have to wait for taxi.
Taxi fare was 248 RMB for 1 hour trip to Pudong terminal 2.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ymff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear ymff,

Thank you very much for taking your time to give your review about Crowne Plaza Shanghai.

We are pleased to hear we have met your expectations, as well as, to read such a detailed review about our rooms, facilities and services.

We still very eagerly look forward to your next visit, thank you.

Best regards,

Hotel Team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed for three nights as part of a package after a whirlwind tour of China. A great place to relax in an international city.
Reception staff advised on a restaurant - and it hit all the right buttons being very close to the hotel and with very, very reasonably priced, good food.
Room was large and bed was comfortable, but the view was duff - as are most in Shanghai, with one skyscraper looking pretty much like the next.
Charlie's Bar excelled in personal welcomes, and the band gets better depending on the number of drinks. Only downside was the guy who got on stage for the duet: when I rule the world karaoke will be consigned to history!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Pippintraveller,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Shanghai and for your review regarding your experience.

We are glad that you like our hotel. And thank you give us highly recognition. To provide first-class service for guests is our goal of all staff.

Looking forward to receive in a nearby future at Crowne Plaza Shanghai.

Best regards,

Hotel Team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Crowne Plaza Shanghai. Here are my comments :

1) The location of this hotel is probably one of the best in Shanghai
2) The hotel is 20 years but the maintenance hardware is in tip top condition, so don't expect everything to be brand new.
3) The staff are very efficient and always helpful
4) The rooms are very clean and cozy, decoration is old fashionned, beds are really comfortable.
5) I love the elevators ( very old fashionned with touch of modern)
6) Charlie's bar a fun venue to relax and unwind over a couple of drinks
7) Check-in always smooth, they even give you tea & hot towel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Matthias G,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel during your stay in Shanghai and taking your time to write a review about it.
Our team is committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and we feel really proud to read such a review full of praise regarding our people, rooms, services and facilities.

Thank you once again and hope to welcome you any time soon at Crowne Plaza Shanghai.

Best Regards,
The team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is not a super chic hotel by the standard of some of the new properties that have gone up in town, but it's still very good and good value. I've been coming here for years, even though I have stayed at other hotels from time to time. Its in the old French concession and the surrounds even have a bit of a feel of Paris when you go out for walk.

The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need for business travel. Great free wi fi all throughout the hotel.

The food in house is good , I have even entertained customers in the restaurant and they thought the food was good, and they weren't just being polite.

The bar is : well, it depends what you are looking for. If you want a nightclub, go out to a nightclub, but as a hotel bar, this is ok by hotel standards. Still has the few single ladies looking for friendship with mainly foreign businessmen during the week. Its good for a drink and for a chat to guys from other countries and other industries.

I like this hotel. I go to hotels everywhere around the world in connection with my work. This place feels comfortable. Its quiet, and it has a sort of touch to it which funnily enough, you start to appreciate when you stay here a few times. Maybe it because I have become familiar with it and its like a sort of home away from home. As I say, its not glitz and glamour, but I'm always happy to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uPelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta V, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear uPelican,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Shanghai and for taking your time to write a review about us.
Our team is committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and we are pleased to read your comments related to our service, food and beverage offer and rooms.
We have shared your comments with the team and will reinforce the service trainings to keep offering a great level of service to our customers.

Looking forward to welcome you any time soon at Crowne Plaza Shanghai.

Best Regards,
The team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

In a nice neighbourhood of Shanghai, a stay at the Plaza offers its guests a nice location to walk around the city at any time of day. This is fortunate, as this hotel is not one you would want to spend too much time in!
We asked for a non smoking room, as we had been advised to do everywhere in China as smoking is widespread. We were told all rooms were non smoking. We were therefore disappointed when we got in to our room to find it smelt strongly of cigarettes.
The rooms are not cramped and are relatively comfortable. Apparently the windows overlook the city. I'm not sure as I couldn't see out of ours due to the thick layers of streaky dirt that covered the windows. The room itself was clean but the finish was poor. It was a similar story in the bathroom. The only shower was a stand in the bath do with a curtain pulled across. The sealant was in need of redoing, it was dirty and cracked.
After a hot day, we were keen to relax in the pool. When we arrived, we were horrified. The pool is disgusting. The area has the feel of a run down 1980s council swimming pool that has never been cleaned let alone refurbished. The garden chairs feel like they will break and the tiling is stained a nasty yellow. My wife wouldn't even get in the pool for fear it would be as dirty as its surroundings! Horrendous for any standard of hotel.
The only restaurant has a buffet and a menu. The food was not of a bad standard and breakfast had a good selection. The bar is designed to have the appearance of a night club. It was empty and hardly had an appealing atmosphere, not somewhere that should be associated with a hotel. The only other area to sit and relax in the hotel is the cafe. It is adjacent to the busy and open foyer area but is small and very expensive.
We didn't enjoy our stay at this hotel, which is unfortunate as it tarnished what is a nice city. As experienced travellers and having stayed in various 5 star hotels in the past, this fell far below what we expected. A 2 star at best in our view. We definitely wouldn't recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsabigplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Itsabigplace,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review about Crowne Plaza Shanghai.
The Hotel team is committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services. We honestly thank you for providing us such a detailed description of your experience as we want to improve base on our guest’s comments.
We truly regret for the incidents you experienced during your stay. Therefore, I will personally make sure that the problems described will be followed up by the related department and won't happen again.
Your willingness to share your thoughts in our page on Tripadvisor is genuinely appreciated, thank you once again to help us to improve.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future, as we wish you to experience the improvements of our Hotel.

Best Regards,

The team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We found this hotel to be very welcoming and attractive. Good location but taxi ride to Nanjing Rd and the Bund areas, however many shops in surrounding streets. Staff were efficient and helpful. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Our room had every comfort and was spotlessly cleaned. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear John B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Shanghai and for taking your time to write a review about us.
Our team is committed to provide our guests with the highest quality services and we are pleased to read your comments related with our people, food and beverage offer and comfort of our facilities.
It’s motivating to read your comments and your recommendation, definitely, makes our team even more proud of the daily effort to offer great experiences to our guests.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcome you any time soon at Crowne Plaza Shanghai.

Best Regards,
The team
Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#70 of 5,222 in Shanghai
479 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
#86 of 5,222 in Shanghai
356 reviews
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
The Longemont Shanghai
The Longemont Shanghai
#102 of 5,222 in Shanghai
838 reviews
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
#97 of 5,222 in Shanghai
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Address: No.400 Panyu Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200052, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#113 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#132 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $89 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its strategic city center location, Crowne Plaza Shanghai situated next door to the Shanghai Arts Film Center and about 3 minutes’ walk to Metro Station line 10、11; only minutes away from the bustling Xujiahui and Huaihai road shopping areas and close to the consular district and major Puxi exhibition venues. The hotel is situated just a 25 minutes drive from Hongqiao International Airport and 50 minutes from Pudong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing