We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed, never a four star hotel in my option.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #457 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay the final night of our business trip is a good 4 star hotel in Shanghai close to our supplier. The price of the city hotel was good and the pictures of the room and facilities on booking.com looked great! This was not the case on arrival, the room and bath room was dated, small and there were stains on the carpet!!! To top it off we wanted to use the swimming pool but the hotel wanted to charge 100 RMB (approx £10!!) what a joke!!!! It definitely goes to show its to a good idea idea to pick hotels from pictures! I travel around China a lot with work and stay in a number of hotels, this was in my bottom 5%!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank higgy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for City Hotel Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 278 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Because of its location, I returned to this hotel on my third and fourth night in Shanghai. The hotels seems to had undergone minimal renovation. The bathroom somehow looks cleaner than before with a much better show head, although the bathtub is still as swallow as I remembered it to be. Breakfast skewed more towards your chinese spread, noodles and buns. Wifi and internet access remained chargeable still, where other hotels are offering free access at least at the lobby. Front desk service was great, the staff had super fast in check-in and check-out procedures.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

For a city with so many mid range choices, I probably wouldn't go here again. The location is good, but about 10 minutes walk to line 1 and 10 south shaanxi rd metro. Efficient, poker faced service. Damn small superior rooms... Barely could walk around!

The breakfast was so average. Weird mix of western and Chinese dishes (e.g chicken nuggets, congee, noodle). Only one breakfast included so a second breakfast was 80 cny. I ended up skipping breakfast all together. Also gym and pool was not included in our rooms which was annoying.

Paid about $70 aud for double superior room + 1 breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fizzychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Although the hotel is not exactly near the subway it is within walking distance to either the West Nanjin Road station (1.6 km) or the South Shaanxi Road station (700 m).
The hotel is inside the French Concession where you will find lots of restaurants and clothing stores (mostly for women).
The room was spacious and clean, WiFi was reliable but it wasn't included in the price of the room (60 CNY per day, about $10 CAD) however the breakfast buffet was.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NessyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

When I am in Shnaghai I always stay in this hotel, specially now that the renovation is completed.
Good value for the money, near Hongqiao airport, near the subway, nice places around..
Great breakfast, rooms are clean and fully renovated ... So if you think in a good hotel with a decent price in Shanghai, you can try it, no regrets...

Room Tip: The restaurants at the hotel also great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joaonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The best thing about the City Hotel is its location in the French Concession. Within walking distance are any number of bars ans restaurants.Taxis in Shanghai are very cheap and for 20/30 yuan you can get to practically anywhere in the city.
True, there is a big refurb of the exterior going on, so my recommendation would be to book and executive room as they are on higher floors, and are above the work going on. We stayed on the 22nd floor and heard nothing. Other friends stayed on lower floors and found the noise and the lack of light annoying.
Some of the rooms on the lower floors have been updated, our room though an executive was a bit worn, but it had everyting a guest needs, and was spacious and immaculately clean.
All the staff are very friendly, and there is usually one or two people on reception who can speak English and help out with any enquiries or problems. The breakfast was excellant, a huge variety of both Chinese and Western breakfast staples, and the coffee was the best I tasted in China.
If you fancy a nice glass of wine, I'd recommend Le Vin on Jinxian Road - take a left outside the hotel onto Shanxi Road and its the 2nd street on the left. The wine is pricey, but there is a lovely atmosphere there, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and you get a little selection of cheese and salami with your wine. The Citizen Bar next door is good too. Also, just across the road is a really good hairdressers- it is run by a guy from Singapore and he speaks excellant English. 5 of us went to get our hair done there on a sunday morning as we were going to a wedding- they will also do manicures. reasonable prices too.
I would also recommend Lost Heaven, a restaurant specialising in Yunnan cuisine. They have two restaiurants in Shanghai, one at 38 Gao You Road in the French Concession, and the one we went to at the Bund- 17 Yan An E Road, Shanghai. The decor is outrageously opulent and the food is quite simply divine. I can't recommend it highly enough. Try the Roast Pork wrapped in banana leaf....

Room Tip: After the end of Sept when the exterior refurb is finished I would recommend a room on the 10th floo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mervynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was informed at check-in,very efficient by the way,that the Hotel had renovation work going on.I would have thought it courteous of them to tell me this when I made my reservation just two weeks before.The Kango's kicked in about 7.30am,no problem there as I'm an early riser,and continued until about 5.30pm.Other than that the City Hotel met my needs for a four night stay.Ten minutes walk to the wonderful Shanghai Metro and in close proximity to many restaurants and bars.The area also has some nice tree-lined lanes full of interesting shops and cafes.
The Executive Room was rather small,had I not been travelling alone it would have been uncomfortably small.With too little storage space,but perfectly maintained by Housekeeping.The bed was very firm,just how I like it,and the wi-fi was by Chinese standards,very reliable and included in the room-rate.The breakfast was below the standard I've come to expect of a four star Hotel and was a little greasy and samey..The Executive Lounge was another dissapointment,apart from tea and coffee,only between 2.00pm and 10.00pm,not much to recommend it.The Staff were efficient,pleasent,smart and well versed in English.Every request met with a smile and prompt service.
Overall I'd say that this is a perfectly adequate Business Hotel but less attractive to the leisure traveller

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fourfourtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#159 of 5,112 in Shanghai
208 reviews
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#205 of 5,112 in Shanghai
90 reviews
Jing'an
Shanxi Business Hotel
Shanxi Business Hotel
#499 of 5,112 in Shanghai
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#239 of 5,112 in Shanghai
257 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#52 of 5,112 in Shanghai
611 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#129 of 5,112 in Shanghai
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.5-7 Shanxi South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#297 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai City Hotel
City Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing