We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location could not be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Ranked #177 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Certainly not five star by American standard, but quite attractive on arrival through front lobby. Our room on the fifth floor faces the Bund. The view is very attractive. I just observed the stunning sunset, but could not get a picture because of the shape of the room, and the window opens only so far! The buffet style breakfast is varied and quite tasty.
The room could do with a facelift & refurbishing. The chair at the desk is torn and tattered.
The staff is helpful, but short on smile. However, there are little thoughtful touches such as a bathroom scale, scissors in the desk drawer, robe, & slippers. Free wi-fi available!
I would certainly return if the opportunity arise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Bund. They will oblige if they are able to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noproblemSetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 552 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

It has a great locations and a great view. We enjoy every minute. The employees are very cordial and help you as much as they can. The restaurant in the second floor is good for breakfast and the have a buffet that brings you local and american food for different taste.

In general we enjoy it and the price is very reasonable for the service that you get.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bluemarlin93926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed at The Broadway Mansions Hotel for three nights in Mars 2014. The building is 80 years old and an attraction itself with a New York style brown brick facade and a perfect location on the Bund and in Shanghai and in good condition. Before they built the Oriental Pearl on the Pudong side, this was the best place to view The Bund.

Try to get a room high up on The Bund side and you will not get disappointed. Room was well equipped and clean. WiFi was working but could have been stronger. Breakfast had a lot to offer. You have a walking distance to the Bund and Nanjing Road etc.

The hotel was helpful with getting taxisand helped us to talk to the driver. Don´t forget to bring the hotels card with you if you want to take a taxi back.

Avoid the British Bar - at least the food.

Room Tip: High up towards the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingvar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel dates back to the 40's but kept in great condition and very elegant. I had a room with a view of the bridge and the bund, not a "square" room but quite roomy. The room had lots of amenities, robes, slippers, and lots of towels, and a safe. The wifi was very strong. The room was thoroughly cleaned everyday. Funny they ask you to put the towels on the floor ONLY if you want new ones. I never did that and still had fresh towels everyday. The breakfast Buffett was great, I wanted to see the terrace but they always had a meeting so I never got a chance. They offered two free bottles everyday, one mineral and one plain water. To my surprise, not only I found a handful of English channels but one or two in Spanish as well! As for the location, it's great, very close to all the shopping and attractions. The farthest one was the cruises but it was probably a 15 min walk.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank romescafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I just had my 2 days stay there and even if the location is good, all the rest could be greatly improved. I do believe it is a real 4 star property while it is hard to say it deserve 5* rating. I had issued with wi-fi, the signal was not stable and my laptop and phone tend to lose it every few minutes, which is not a great thing for sure. The room however was OK and it is hard to complain about it. Although everything looks a bit old there.I think it is time for the hotel management to make some renovation. The other thing i did not like is the strong "toilet" smell on the main entrance and lobby. Is this a first impression 5* property should provide its customers with?
So, there are few things to improve there for sure. Check-in and check out was quick and there is nothing to complain about it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sven444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great hotel in great location near the bund. Room was recently renovated clean and spacious.
Breakfast was good. I would not quite give it a 5 Star - more like a good 4 Star. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PE_Travelmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We arrived at the hotel and were booked into a double bedroom (even though we had paid for a king bedroom). When we approached the concierge a man Cloud, who appeared to be the manager came to find out what the problem was.

We then explained that we had booked a king room and showed the payment/booking slip clearly showing a King room. He then tried to explain that in China perhaps king beds are different size. However, we had stayed in two other hotels in China where King beds were king bed size.

Eventually, he said that another room had become available. We viewed it and it was what we had paid for. From then on it was 4 star all the way.

Not many good / affordable restaurants in this area but very close to the start of the bund.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#185 of 5,206 in Shanghai
311 reviews
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#97 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,145 reviews
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#52 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,190 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Mansions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Mansions Hotel

Address: No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#155 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $106 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadway Mansions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Broadway Mansions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Mansions Shanghai
Hotel Broadway Mansions

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing