We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Ranked #188 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was a great experience to have been able to stay at a hotel that was first built in 1937, of course there have been many updates and advances since the '30s and this hotel has kept up with them. ( I would think that free wifi in the rooms shouldn't be a problem... but alas only in the lobby and one of the bars). great location and views. Shanghai is a very advanced city and one of which I hope to visit again.

Room Tip: a room with a view of the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 547 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a landmark hotel, positioned so well for the Bund and other attractions. There are 2 lifts visible from Reception to serve 16 floors! The a/c instructions are written in the darkest part of the bedroom on a gray background by a cryptic crossword compiler, not funny when you arrive at 11pm. But the main beef is management, not the enthusiastic staff who try. Sample problems were :- no facial tissues in the room, no tea cups cleaned each day, lack of plates and bowls at breakfast and tardy resetting of places too. And most dreadful, we had to go looking for the bar staff for our first drink AND our second round! This hotel is the perfect example of "Staff does what Management inspects". With experienced hotel management, staff training, and closer supervision and checking, this hotel could be much better more quickly. In fact later reviews may want to comment on whether supervison has improved as it would be a quick and easy win for the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a quick 36 hour stopover in Shanghai, and Broadway Mansions provided just what we needed. It is comfortable and historic, and the view of the Bund from our room (1115) was better than what you'd get at the Peninsula across the way without breaking the bank. Some of the furnishings in our room were a bit frayed, but overall it was still a lovely and comfortable resting place. Careful if you go to fill the bathtub -- the spout is in the ceiling and scared the %^@t out of me! Nice British-style bar was great for a bit of socializing. Easy access to the Bund and other sightseeing. Service was fine - very helpful. Would stay there again, no question.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a river view -- makes staying here worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staff were exceptional at this hotel. From greeting you on the footpath to service with a smile. Hotel is older style Art Deco so it won't suit everyone. Location & views are great. Upgrade to a corner suite for a few extra dollars. Breakfast was great offering large varieties. Bar/English pub was a fun place to start before heading out to the shanghai nightlife !

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive suites which were very spacious offering great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallyhigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great breakfast banquet. Very large well appointed rooms. s
Staff very friendly and helpful. English spoken at front desk. Excellent location on the Bund. Easy walking to Nanjing Road, and Tourist Site seeing buses. Asked for a non-smoking room and got such a room :) We had great meals in both the in-house Chinese and Japanese restaurants. Tip: our room was a city view room - which was fine. Next time we will get a river view room purely so that we can have a better view of the wonderful light display.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Where to begin? The front desk personnel were extremely rude. I asked for a bottle of water and they told me to go back to my room to get the bottle from there. I requested a non-smoking room and they gave me one that was smoking. When I asked to change they said they had no more rooms. The waitresses at the breakfast area keep asking you for your room number throughout your breakfast. It's really annoying to have 4 different people asking me what my room number is when I'm trying to eat breakfast. And, to top it off, I asked 3 of them to bring me a coffee and never got one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V-Man-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location. good views. nice decor. service less than you would expect for this level of hotel. belle vue restaurant has no atmosphere and limited menu. smoking allowed in lounge bar. british bar nice, deserted and a bit hard to find. no pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonksMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#186 of 5,147 in Shanghai
306 reviews
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#84 of 5,147 in Shanghai
1,127 reviews
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#54 of 5,147 in Shanghai
2,078 reviews
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#67 of 5,147 in Shanghai
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Mansions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Mansions Hotel

Address: No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#162 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $109 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadway Mansions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Broadway Mansions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Mansions Shanghai
Hotel Broadway Mansions

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing