We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice on The Bund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Ranked #187 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is definitely not a 5 star hotel as they advertise on their website. It is an okay hotel with a good location near The Bund, but it is certainly not a 5 star hotel.
- They charge 80 RMB (13 USD) per day for internet, but the internet is not upgraded to the level which could be expected in 2012, it's gave me big problems as I come to Shanghai for business and need efficient internet.
- Climate system are not cooling in the winter season although the temperature of my room was 26 degrees (celcius)
-The hotel appears a bit worn in different places, it's need renovation and upgrading.
- Service is okay but absolutely not top level.
- Breakfast is not giving value for money as well, they charge a price of 147 RMB (25 USD), the last few days I went to a Starbock's coffee shop nearby instead of having breakfast at the hotel.

I have been here several times in the past 10 years, at this hotel, and they have repeatedly announced that they are in the process of renovation but I can not see any improvement. It will probably be the last time that I stay here.
PS: I have been many times in China and had many positive experiences in other hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Broadway Mansions Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 547 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is located on the edge of the Bund, the most colorful and energetic sight in Shanghai. Adequate room, good service, and great breakfast buffet. The streets can be noisy, but closed windows completely block out the honking horns. Two small grocery stores are a couple block away and a variety of prepared snacks and beverages are available on the Bund.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkl004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Location and view are great, but rates could be lower and breakfast needs to be improved !!!
By the way, around 9am you can't find any free table, you have to join someone... or some
nice lady, if you are more lucky, hehe !!

Room Tip: Ask for a standard river view room, it's fine, no need to pay the big difference for the executi...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makis x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice location but rock hard bed. I was annoyed by the horns honking but learned that it is normal. If higher up and a soft beds I'd recommend it. View is nice and location convenient and very nice staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Back in 1937 when this hotel first opened, it was "the place". In 2012, it still has location on its side and wonderful art-deco motif.. Staff are competent, speak English and do try their best to make your stay a good one.
If I had one problem with the hotel it would the hotel buffet breakfast. The buffet is presented well but if you are a party of 2, you will be sharing your table with others. Not a bad thing, necessarily, but the space if tight. I appreciated the fact the chefs did their best to not have the same breakfast items everyday, there was variety and enough items to select from. But the one problem I continually experienced every morning of my four day stay, the coffee was lukewarm to cold. Small thing, yes, but I can't understand how it could that way day after day.
Other than that, the experience was going back in time to a different era when you entered hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Bund...the night lights on the Garden Bridge and other buildings is a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneMansPerspectives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Hotel is heritage listed and forms an integral component of the historical Bund experience. Firstly however don't miss the high speed Maglev experience from the airport but whatever you do avoid the "Red Cabs" as they will rip you off inflated fares. The Bund is the old english side of the Huangpu River with essential the Mansions as the start of the heritage trail. The staff at the Hotel are warm and courteous and accomodation is very comfortable and rooms well decorated and king size bed extremely suportive of good rest. The addition of a loofa in the bathroom is a nice touch. The TV system incortporates a computer with Internet features but is an outdated and slow feature that was superseeded by better ethernet. Our room had access to the executive lounge which is a pleasant quiet getaway with views over the river and surrounds. Whilst breakfast can accepted in this lounge we preferred the usual guest facilities for a broader selection which was top qulaity fair and excellent table service. The views from this area were spectacular even during the day but at night is when you appreciate the location of the hotel. The Bund is alive with colours and all the buildings are floodlit and a wonderful experience. However once you leave the Hotel and cross the minor bridge you see the opposite side of the river and experience the new version of the city, The Pudong. At this point you recognise that the Hotel's location is paramount to your appreciation of the visit. From the perspective of the historical Bund and the newer Pudong we highly recomend the property. The feeling is akin to viewing Hong Kong from the Star Ferry. Nonetheless you are close to transport and the shopping of Nanging Road is also an easy walk away. A stay at this Hotel is a very memorable experience for so many reasons.

Room Tip: For city lights ask for the river views. They are however more expensive.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elekesla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the bellman standing ready at the street to open the cab door, holding umbrellas over our head to keep the rain off, taking our bags from us and escorting us to our room to the roomy old-style comfort of the rooms, everything was first class at this hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room on the side of the Bund; the views are amazing, and it is well worth the extr...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArlyBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#184 of 5,112 in Shanghai
303 reviews
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#81 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#55 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,036 reviews
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Mansions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Mansions Hotel

Address: No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#163 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $110 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadway Mansions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Broadway Mansions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Mansions Shanghai
Hotel Broadway Mansions

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing