We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Ranked #167 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff, good location.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for 3 nights.

This is a great hotel, with art deco style evident all round. Not to everyone's taste, and probably not mine but I can appreciate when things are put together well and how they are meant to look. It was built in the 1930's and still has a lot of the original features tastefully added to the rooms and the public areas.

The staff are friendly and polite and the rooms very comfortable. The location is great, just at the end of the Bund. Not right in the middle with the busy tourist areas, but situated just at the end away from the crowds.

On approaching the hotel, it does look in need of a bit of a facelift, or at least a good clean.
It does look a little unappealing, especially when looking up at it from close by. But don't let that put you off. Once inside it feels comfortable and welcoming.

Breakfast was probably the only thing that let it down a little for us with the lack of choice when it came to hot western foods. Not a major thing and we probably missed a number of dishes as we were in a rush, but we didn't really fancy cold Chinese veg for breakfast. There was plenty to choose from, especially among the local dishes but the variety didn't strike us as amazing with regard to other items.

All in all though, we were very happy with our room and the hotel.

Room Tip: If the room is at the back of the hotel, request a floor higher than 4th to avoid looking onto air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    266
    81
    28
    26
See reviews for
55
139
43
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

the location is really good - right on the bund and walking distance from nanjing street. we were 2 adults and 2 kids and the room is spacious.
the hotel is close to several other restaurants and is again the location is a great plus esp for short sightseeing stays.
the service was average. they do not have ac operational in oct as it is cool outside and i found that unacceptable.

Room Tip: get a river view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Broadway Mansions Hotel is situated at the north end of the Bund, which makes ít an ideal starting point for strolls and walks in central Shanghai. The rooms are great and the lobby service impeccable. The house dayes from the 1930's and this gives it a certain historic flair.We also enjoyed a very good breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is just of The Bund easy walk to shops and riverside. We arrived 9am and had a room at 10am, room was large and comfortable, no river view but you only need to go outside and it's all there. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast great. Only problems were, booked early (6am) breakfast, and staff lost our order, Coffee and snacks expensive. Explore streets round back of hotel many restaurants and food outlets. Good value great location.

Room Tip: Have to pay extra for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hmmm... After having read the reviews I found them to range from great to fair. My stay there this past July 2012 was magnificent and had I known what a nice place it was I would have selected to stay there (instead of the overpriced Marriot) on my return trip from inland. Naturally, some rooms will be better than others, as I have discovered through my travels, and I most certainly hit the jack pot with the room I got. It was roomy; it included a seating area with a desk, chairs, and the kingsize bed was more than comfortable. The bathroom was perhaps the largest bathroom I have enjoyed in any hotel, and the view, toward the Bund looking through a wall of windows, was fantastic. The next time I travel to Shanghai I will book at the Broadway Mansions!

Room Tip: Select a room with a view of the Bund. The higher up, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Really overpriced. The hotel has a great location and view, but the service was really poor. The staff was not helpful. We had specifically asked for a non smoking room - they gave us a smoking room on a smoking floor - completely smelly, and made a BIG fuss about changing the room - they finally did with a bad attitude. The lobby had an overpowering incense smell as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a high non-smoking floor if it matters to you. River view costs more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was built in the 1930's when Shanghai has not many high rise yet. This bland imposing building , brownish in color is situated on the northern part of the Bund, near the river called Suzhou creek and opposite the very old Baidazu bridge - possibly the oldest steel bridge in Shanghai.While i was here i saw many newly wed Chinese couples have their shots taken on this bridge. The decor of the numerous restaurants in the hotel looks grand and cosy.
The service esp the bell boys is superb, ever helpful and they are very well dressed and polite.
We stayed on the 9th floor and our room is facing the river with a bit of Pudong view. Just below we can see the Suzhou creek, Baidazu Bridge and the Bund. It just take 5 mins to walk to the Bund and Nanjing Road , where its the road for shopping. The Nanjing East subway station is also nearby. In fact the best way to travel in Shanghai is by subway and its so cheap,we used it in most of our stay in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Rooms in the higher floors facing Pudong has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eat4free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#179 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#79 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#54 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Hongkou
Hanting Express Shanghai The Bund Waibaidu Bridge
Hanting Express Shanghai The Bun...
#1,127 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Mansions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Mansions Hotel

Property: Broadway Mansions Hotel
Address: No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#143 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadway Mansions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Broadway Mansions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Mansions Shanghai
Hotel Broadway Mansions

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing