We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Bund in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Ranked #167 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“On the Bund in Shanghai”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Newly renovated historic hotel in a great location on the Bund which is where you want to be in Shanghai. Just over the bridge from The Peninsula hotel. Good breakfast buffet in the morning with very nice accomodations and a concierge that is helpful to the guests. Easy to walk everywhere from this location. Lots of good restaurants in walking distance and a good view of Pudong at night. Rooms are a good size with nice amenities including a big walk in shower.

Room Tip: Hotel at this location would usually cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Lorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    268
    81
    28
    26
See reviews for
55
140
43
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Broadway Mansions was not bad. The location is really cool and allows for great morning walks. The rooms were clean, but many people complained about the beds. However, I found the beds to be firm, yet comfy. The breakfast in the morning was not bad. It was a great gathering point for all the guests in the hotel from around the world. The spa was a little different. In conclusion, the next time I go to Shanghai, I will stay at a better hotel, like the Ritz or JW Marriot.

Room Tip: Do not choses the 2nd or 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crumbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I just returned from China after a 10 day escorted tour. While in Shanghai, we stayed four (4) nights at the Broadway Mansions Hotel. My wife and I are frequent travelers and found the hotel to be excellent.

The hotel is at least 80 years old, but was recently refurbished. The rooms were all different, but very large. Our room had a bed that was at least the size of two (2) queen beds. The mattresses were very firm, however we slept very well.

The lobby was very nice; they even offered free WiFi on the first floor.

The breakfast that was included in our stay was nice. There was a large selection of Chinese and western food items. Although the staff's English was limited, they went out of their way to be helpful.

The Bund 30, is a small restaurant/pub located around the corner from the hotel. We ate there two (2) nights and really enjoyed the food and beverages. We did not have an opportunity to eat dinner in any of the hotel's restaurants.

When we return to Shanghai, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfkrazy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed three nights and wished I was somewhere else, but as it was part of a 5* package, had no choice. Changed room twice - first room looked over a building site, second one had inoperable heating and I was then given a room 'that you shouldn't have as it has a view and the travel company does not pay for a view'! Bed was like rock and the bathroom like a fridge as there was no heating in it. However it did have a lovely walk-in shower. Breakfast left a bit to be desired, but did lovely fried eggs! The best part was the British Bar. Had a smashing ham and egg sandwich there and the white wine was drinkable. Had to eat in the bar as the restaurant had stopped serving at 9.15p.m. Our party was split between four and five star hotels and the four star hotel (Bund Riverside) seemed a lot better going by their comments.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr4g0nl4dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The location is very good, the hotel is just at the end of the Bund.
The staff is not very friendly and most of them only speak Chinese. Rooms are Ok but not extremely clean. My room on the 5th floor was nice with two large windows but it was quite cold (I stayed there at the beginning of February); my friend's room was on the 15th floor with a wonderful view on the river, larger and warmer than mine, but much more expensive.
Breakfast was not very good and at 10 o'clock they take away everything even though you're still eating (and if you ask a spoon, they will bring sugar; and if you want some more bread they will give you a cup of tea).

Room Tip: Most of the hotel floors are for smokers. You have to ask before if you want a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benedetto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

and I am used to hotels, beleive me a 2 star hotel is better than this 4 star hotel.

rooms are small and not good at all, you have to pay very much to have a view on the river.

breakfast the worst ever, and you have to get very very early, even though you can not find what to eat, the restaurant is very small and not enough for all guests.

internet is not free and very expensive 80 rmb for one night!!!

very very crouded because small not enough for guests.

some days they even did not give shampoo, very poor service, they charge me for electricity adapter !!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We just returned from a Friendly Planet tour of China and stayed three nights at this hotel. The included breakfast buffet was the best meal of the day and the rooms were comfortable, especially if you like firm beds. There is a small market about a block away behind the hotel that you can get cheap bottled water and beer. A Subway restaurant is also just across the bridge in front of the hotel. The area seemed safe as we walked to the Bund several times day and night. The Friendly Planet Tour is the best way to see China.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cyclebuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#178 of 5,105 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#82 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#55 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,010 reviews
Lujiazui
Oriental Riverside Hotel
Oriental Riverside Hotel
#149 of 5,105 in Shanghai
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Mansions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Mansions Hotel

Property: Broadway Mansions Hotel
Address: No.20 North Suzhou Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#147 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadway Mansions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Broadway Mansions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Mansions Shanghai
Hotel Broadway Mansions

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing