We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Faded glory- maybe time to level up otherwise drop the 5 star category” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hua Ting Hotel & Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Ranked #126 of 4,566 Hotels in Shanghai
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Faded glory- maybe time to level up otherwise drop the 5 star category”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with a big group. Let me start with at least one good thing- coffee is good and breakfast average. Agree with other reviews on the negatives-
-lobby wise it looks great but rooms are desperately in need of refurbishing especially the carpet and bathroom.
- acu needs updating
- Even the nonsmoking floor, still stinks with cigarette smell
- outdated bathroom amenities
- no wifi, nowadays wifi comes mostly free
- old smelly towels
- waiting lounges at the lobby too small for a big lobby sobyou have stand in waiting
-toilet bowl water leaking all over the floor.
Over all, for a 5 star category this hotel definitely fails to live up to it as there are other better hotels within the same price range or maybe even lower in city center or financial or shopping area.
Hoping to see dramatic improvements in the future! Until then.

Room Tip: Those with rhinitis or allergies, make sure you request for vacuum cleaning on a daily basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    287
    104
    37
    11
See reviews for
27
53
26
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
175 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our group of 81 persons stayed here for 3 nights (April 12-14, 2013). Their spacious lobby was impressive with fountain & shops but their housekeeping needs total reorientation. They don't vacumm clean their carpet everyday coz the cigarette butt we clearly saw on the carpeted hallway floor going to our room from day 1 was still there until we checked out. Their carpet floor was so dirty (my white socks became dirty white while walking in our room in just a few minutes) & dusty that i had coughing from dust allergy so i did not have good sleep during our 3night stay there. No free wifi in our room (only in lobby) and their bathroom is quite small & its water closet has no bidet spray for a hotel claiming to be 5 star. Air con control is antique and air con did not work so well so it was hot con instead of air con. And when we asked front desk to check air con, we were told "our air con is not working at this season." Plus points: There is a business center on the second floor where there is free wifi, its buffet breakfast has wide choices and a convenience store is nearby. But unless their housekeeping improves and understands better the difference between what is clean and dirty and they improve their air conditioning, you are better off staying in another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

this hotel is conveniently located next to a subway station. They offer a wide selection for breakfast in a very comfortable restaurant. Only gripe is you have to pay for wifi in the room, but it is free in the lobby and breakfast restaurant. The rooms are very comfortable so value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimlee1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevor-wa
Level Contributor
188 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was on a business trip and the hosting company paid for the hotel - everything was fine but not 5 star for sure, 3.5 stars. the rooms are fine but nothing to remember. the location is fine but not if you want to walk to interesting things. If you don't want to leave the hotel the prices are usa prices. I wouldn't stay here again on my own $'s.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor-wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Originally we had a non-smoking room on the 24th floor, but the floor itself is "not" non-smoking so we moved our room to 1207. The view was of the back of the hotel so it was not as pretty, but we liked the room much better (the 12th floor is all non-smoking). The bed was comfortable and the room was cozy. Shanghai's rate of a 5 star is more of the states 4 star. We really enjoyed breakfast every morning in the Garden Court Restuarant (which we included in our room reservation) it is a Buffett and they have everything we are used to eating. Please keep in mind none of the food will taste exactly the same to the United States but it's similar and good. The hotel staff were all very professional and kind. We were able to rent a wireless wifi box from the business office on the second floor and they also have free wifi at several locations throughout the hotel. I know you can get secure wifi at the Garden Court Restaurant (ask your server for the password), the second floor outside the business office (on the desk just inside the door of the business office has the password) and outside has a nice seating area, and the 25th floor which is an executive area. The spa in the hotel appears to be independent of the hotel and it is not up to our standards so we skipped it. The subway is located outside the hotel driveway on the right side. Cabs are always at the front door and we learned the reputable ones are (green, white, and dark yellow) always ask for a receipt which is pronounced (fa pi ow). There is a mall across the street which has a Mc Donald's on the bottom floor and a Big Mac combo will cost you $3.00 US. There are 2 more malls down the street on the same side as the hotel (Gateway Mall) and (Oriental Shopping Mall) both malls have all the stores the states have. We crossed the street from the Oriental Shopping Center and walked throughout the neighborhoods and we found a lovely city park. Our trip was mostly business, but my husband and I had a couple of days to relax with each other too and it was very nice and convenient to have been at this hotel.

Room Tip: We were very satisfied with 1207 or the 12th floor because it is all non-smoking. We had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My favourite hotel in Shanghai and the service is excellent. Room is a bit dated but fortunately still clean. As it is used to be Sheraton Shanghai, the breakfast is still very much maintained. Really value for money. U can just hop into the subway which is just next to the hotel, shg indoor stadium station n is so convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieT168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We're spending two weeks here with my husband who's on a business trip, this is the end of the first week. I'm a bit confused. From the outside it really does look like an elegant hotel but don't let it fool you. As you enter you still think that 'yeah, I've made a good choice picking this place' because the lobby is really nice with lots of flowers. Unfortunately the list of positive things I'd like to mention is done here. Staff are not kind and polite. Nobody helped us with our luggage. I mean of course I can carry it but this is supposed to be a 5-star hotel. Never mind, you get over the cold reception hoping your room will make up for everything. Sadly, it doesn't. By the way, don't forget to make sure you get a non-smoking room (if you're not a smoker) because they tend to put everyone on the smoking floors. Even if you are on a non-smoking floor, you can still smell the stink of cigarettes all day. The wallpaper is stingy, so is the carpet. Seems like they never vacuum. There is some mold in the bathroom and everything looks overused. There's no wireless connection in the rooms, just cable Internet access. Mattress is quite firm, that's the only thing I like about this room.
They have a swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and a gym which is nice. Breakfast is unreasonably expensive but at least it's delicious and you can eat all kinds of stuff: eggs, fruit, pancakes, local food.
There is a subway stop here (line 1 - Indoor Stadium) which is really good since it's easy to use and gets you downtown pretty quickly.
I definitely don't recommend this place to couples or families who want to spend their hoildays here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veronbalogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#96 of 4,566 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Xujiahui
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#130 of 4,566 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#44 of 4,566 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Stadium
Shanghai Olympic Club Hotel
Shanghai Olympic Club Hotel
#1,301 of 4,566 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
San Want Hotel
San Want Hotel
#165 of 4,566 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hua Ting Hotel & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Ting Hotel & Towers

Property: Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Address: No.1200 North Caoxi Road , Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Shanghai Stadium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#71 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hua Ting Hotel & Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 773
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star hotel within the city's bustling Xu Jia Hui business district in Shanghai, the Hua Ting Hotel & Towers is an exquisite combination of luxury and convenience. Our guests enjoy the hotel's lavish accommodation, wide range of quality restaurants and excellent transport links. Both the city ring road and an underground rail line are at the hotel's doorstep, with major department stores, offices, entertainment and restaurants all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hua Ting Hotel & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hua Ting Hotel And Towers
Hua Ting Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing