We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, newly refurbished, historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Ranked #123 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, newly refurbished, historic hotel”
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This historic hotel is very clean and beautiful. Within a few minutes walk, one has easy access to three different subway lines as well as a major bus hub. In addition, the hotel is centrally located so that all the main tourist attractions are just a short subway ride or average walk away.

The service is excellent. Upon arrival we found our room's TV to be out of order. After spending a few minutes trying to fix it, the front desk arranged for us to be put in a different, larger room for the same price as the smaller room we had booked. The hotel staff at the front door are also extremely helpful in giving directions to area attractions.

There is a significant difference between the standard room and the room one level up. The standard room is very beautifully decorated; but it is small, has no bathtub and the counter space is limited. The next level of rooms is by far superior. This type of room we is spacious, modern and has a large bathroom with ample counter space with a glass enclosure featuring a bathtub, a normal shower head and a rain forest shower head. Both levels of rooms feature a large, flat-screen TV with free internet access (a wireless keyboard and mouse is provided).

The included buffet breakfast was also satisfying with a good and plentiful mix of western and Chinese choices.

The one downside was that the bed for two people was smaller than one would expect, and so some may find that uncomfortable. However, the mattress and pillows were very soft and comfortable - a rarity in China.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamarack05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    166
    38
    1
    9
See reviews for
34
77
38
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2009

This was probably one of the worst hotels ever.
1. My mum ordered a non-smoking room. I arrived in the room and noticed two ashtrays and a cigarette lighter. So we go to tell the lady at the desk that we ordered a non-smoking room. Do you know what she tells us? “There are no non-smoking rooms”. AARRRRRGH. We insist on them giving us a non-smoking room so the lady went in, took out the ashtrays, and says “There, non-smoking room”.
2. We have already changed rooms two times, because the first one smelt disgusting.
3. We go to the floor marked “B1” to find the gym and the pool. What do we find? Children in tutus, staring at us like they were thinking, “What are they doing here?”

They did not have internet connection or anything else advertised.
DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noisetteandpancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

whew. this probably was the most expensive hotel in this trip == my group was trying to limit hotel expenses == except for the beijing leg.

well, it's not really worth the price. the rooms were not very clean, as you probably can see on the pictures, there are some stains already on the bathroom wall and floor.

i wouldn't have booked this one in the first place but it was the cheapest i could find that seemed safe enough. it's hard to find cheaper hotels in shanghai, maybe coz it's a big metropolis now, or so they say.

the way to the rooms weren't that great either, it's like a maze of twists and turns -- i don't want to exaggerate, it's not that bad, but it is on the downside.

since it's in china, there's HEAVY smoking in the restaurant area wc is near the front desk, not a good thing at all.

location, it wasn't at the best spot. but it's convenient to take the bus to go to the main touristy areas though.

overall, i would probably still stay here if i can't find a better deal. shanghai is just so expensive!

i wouldn't be rumbling here if the price was a little lower but since it's quite expensive [for my budget anyway], i'm pretty disappointed.

  • Liked — it's comfortable enough
  • Disliked — price does not equal quality
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inutme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

We stayed 4 nights in April 2007.As budget travellers we found the hotel ideal and cheap.The room was large, with a view, but the bed was so hard.Check the mattress when you arrive.Behind the hotel was dozens of places to eat,so cheaply. Maybe a bit seedy, but very safe.The metro and top of the main street were only 200 metres away. The breakfast on the top floor (you pay) was not bad if you are used to chinese food.Perfect for value for money.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 12, 2005

This was actually more like "average" but I put above average because the price was right. Clean rooms, no cleanliness problems, laundry prices were very reasonable, minibar prices also very reasonable (6 RMB for a beer, 5 RMB for an OJ). I stayed here for 4 nights. No complaints; the maid service was actually better than that in a "5 star" hotel I stayed in in Beijing, since they filled a pitcher of drinking water for you every night whereas the "5 star" hotel didn't.

I really only have two complaints about this hotel--one may be related to the natural high humidity of Shanghai--the rooms were a bit overhumid (cool, but humid) and once used, our towels wouldn't dry out, even with the bathroom fan on. We were comfortable but I hated having to wait for the damp towels to be replaced every day (I could have asked for replacement earlier I suppose). The second complaint is that when I used the hotel's internet access (which was admittedly cheap), the connection was extremely slow, as in much slower than a 56K modem.

Another thing I liked about this hotel was the very reasonable currency exchange rates. I wrote them down and compared them to a few places we saw walking around Shanghai, and the hotel's were much better. We also ate breakfast in the cafe one morning and it was decent.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 24, 2005

This was perfect... cheap lit all day/night parking, I was warm and left alone. It's in the bad side of town but I don't care. Just make sure you bring flip flops for the shower.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#148 of 5,059 in Shanghai
335 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#42 of 5,059 in Shanghai
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#151 of 5,059 in Shanghai
334 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square

Property: Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Address: No.123 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly 商悦青年会大酒店)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#103 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super Great location in the historic 1931 YMCA building for transport, shopping, entertainment, bars and cafes! Historic entrance then walk or take the lift to 2F to reception. This hotel joined the new mid scale Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel chain as a "Classiq". Try out the new extra large rooms recently renovated and well worth a little extra to overlook the park.Good local cuisine featured in the 3 meal a day leased out cafe on 2F. Along with the brand standard east-meets-west-breakfast-buffet. Please check out the MetroPolo brand website or Booking for a total of 10 hotels in Shanghai open in 2016 and 30+ in other cities. Attentive service; distinctive decor; delight your senses; inspire your imagination. Unique urban style lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing