We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Ranked #87 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very central, easy walk to Peoples Sq station.(Airport for couple of dollars). Classic 1930s building full of marble. Room fantastic & surprisingly large.Spotless too.Bed fantastic - slept 13 hours!Can't see better value in this area. Walk to everything.

Room Tip: Got Queen room for base price.Huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    155
    33
    1
    7
See reviews for
33
70
36
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was my first trip to Shanghai and no one could tell me where was the best location to stay, Chose Marvel as it was close to Dashijie station and was easy to find. Walking distance to Peoples square and Nanjing Road. Room was large and clean and had High Speed Wired and Wireless internet Free!!!.No view out the window, but was OK meant the room was quite. No pool or Spa with would have been great on the hot days. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Hotel is in a very central Location close to peolple's scare. The rooms are not big, but we also did not need this. Evereything was clean, which is always most important for me. The Price is very good, if you tke the central Position in Shanghai into account. We did not book breakfast, therefore no comment in this. Just one Thing I really did not like, but this is what you find in almost every Chinese Hotel: there was a lot of mould in the shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denitsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

It was a real good surprise for a hotel in the heart of shanghai.

It's a quiet hotel located in heart of shanghai.
Close to metro (Line8 : Dashijie metro station). 1 metro station from people square.
But you can walk to go to people's square (between 10 to 20 min walking) or to go to french concession.

Close to local restaurant behind the hotel. Close to shopping area. Near the main shopping street. Near Museum.

Staff is very friendly and efficient. There is always someone to help you for luggages, or to take taxi.

The room was big and very comfortable. We did spend 6 nights there. View on the bund. Level 7 (room 720). Very very very QUIET ROOM with a modern design. So we did sleep very well. WIFI in the room. It was a non smoking floor. in the corridors of the hotel, it smells very good

It's Value for money. Next time we go back to shanghai, we will choose again that hotel. A really good surprise.

Room Tip: High level, city view, superior deluxe room if u can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Law M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The Marvel Hotel is located close to People's Square. Front desk staff Is very helpful and housekeeping does a great job of cleaning the rooms. The breakfast has a variety of both Western and Chinese foods, although I wish there was more fresh fruit at breakfast. The Marvel Hotel is an affordable option and I would stay there again

Helpful?
3 Thank Wehogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is in a nice location, reception is located on the first floor.
The room was quite big and clean. We stayed for four nights and each day the cleaning lady did a really good job.
The staff spoke adequately english and could answer all of our question.
They sometimes host Chinese weddings in the restaurant, it was fun to peek in and we were never disturbed at all, you could hear nothing in the upper floors.
All in all I would recommend this hotel, also the price is very reasonnable for the quality you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank babsp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great location
Nice staff
Nice clean room
Good price
Free WiFi

What more do you want

We booked this hotel with not very high expectations but my was I pleasantly surprised!! The staff were very good, the room was great, bed was fantastic, location amazing (close to the metro, shops etc)

IF I was to go back to Shanghai - I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#38 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#120 of 4,324 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#27 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#31 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#106 of 4,324 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square

Property: Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Address: NO. 123 Xizang South Rd, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly 商悦青年会大酒店)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#102 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super Great location in the historic 1931 YMCA building for transport, shopping, entertainment, bars and cafes! Historic entrance then walk or take the lift to 2F to reception. This hotel joined the new mid scale Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel chain as a "Classiq". Try out the new extra large rooms recently renovated and well worth a little extra to overlook the park.Good local cuisine featured in the 3 meal a day leased out cafe on 2F. Along with the brand standard east-meets-west-breakfast-buffet. Please check out the MetroPolo brand website or Booking for a total of 10 hotels in Shanghai open in 2016 and 30+ in other cities. Attentive service; distinctive decor; delight your senses; inspire your imagination. Unique urban style lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing