We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel except for wonky TV-Computer combo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Ranked #147 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Liked everything about this hotel except the way the TV is tied together with some sort of wireless computer console. Made the whole system very hard to use. My set up was buggy and I kept getting error messages telling me to go into CMOS and make changes, then reboot. The maids were as perplexed and mystified as I was. Not a big deal of course.

I had a junior suite. Very posh and quiet. They asked me at check in whether I preferred a room with a view or a quiet room in back with no view. I chose the latter. I was also on a non-smoking floor, which was nice.

Convenient location. One day I went to the Shanghai Museum which was about ten minutes walk away. Plenty of small convenience stores, bakeries and coffee shops nearby. A slightly longer walk will get you to a good selection of other restaurants.

One evening I walked to a lively neighborhood "crawfish street" where boiled crawfish were for sale by the kilo just like you might find in Louisiana or Houston. Probably twenty or so small eateries, all in one block, and all of them featuring boiled crawfish plus an assortment of shellfish, such as scallops, clams and oysters roasted over charcoal. They had vegetables on skewers.

Ask at the hotel desk for directions. I forgot the name of the street or I would post it here. Sorry. Tell them you are looking for Long Xia 龙虾。In other parts of China, that's the name for lobster; but here it seems to mean crawfish.

Breakfast was quite satisfactory. Check in and check out were smooth. The lobby is on the second floor. The front desk staff spoke good English.

Be sure to have the name and address written out in Chinese, since taxi drivers don't know this hotel by its current name.

I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Recommend a quiet room facing the back. Rooms having a view of the park get noisy in the evening bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 295 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good place, good service,very nce room.But especially impressed with staff efficiency - we had to take with us friend‘s luggage, because we were late for flight and unexpectedly they solved our problem very quickly. Good job

Room Tip: Try to walk it‘s only 15-20 minutes,and you'll see a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is situated near the People's Square - the very centre of Shanghai city.
The service was really good, rooms are clean, breakfast quite ok.
Next time I'll definitelly choose this hotel for staying.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Rooms are very nice and the location is quite convenient. Wifi works from time to time but you always can check your e-mail through the TV. People from reception should be kinder and nicer.
Apart from that it has been a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MangosdBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at the Marvel Hotel for a second time: still very good in an excellent location for tourism. Chose a smaller room this time: it was perfectly adequate, if a little on the smallish side. Restaurant was superb, and breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Had a room facing inside courtyard this time: VERY quiet, slept with window open to get the cool nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pauljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The former YMCA Hotel now houses the Marvel Hotel in a grand character building. The hotel is located in the heart of Shanghai, only 1 subway stop from Peoples Square (or a short 1KM walk down the road.) The subway at your doorstep means that commuting around Shanghai is super easy to catch all the hotspots. This Chinese establishment offers a smooth check in, limited but enough spoken English, chic rooms and complimentary wifi. The lack of English in the hotel was the only thing that I could comment on, but when your main clientele are Chinese, looks like it is not needed as much.. Would definitely stay in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatDane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is well-connected in terms of location. The room I stayed was functional and slightly above average. However, I agree that it is slightly small for China's standard. The breakfast was ok but definitely a lot of areas for improvement such as the quality of bread and not deserve guests with cold food. Like many others, I will like to think that the service of the staff will differentiate one hotel from another. The bell boy was extremely helpful. My mum and I were late to rush to the airport. He recommended us to take the express train instead of taking a taxi. He even reminded us not to be con by the taxi driver. Thanks for all his help!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexchanwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Qipu Road
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai,Rock Bund
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#51 of 5,206 in Shanghai
879 reviews
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square

Address: No.123 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly 商悦青年会大酒店)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#103 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#133 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $93 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super Great location in the historic 1931 YMCA building for transport, shopping, entertainment, bars and cafes! Historic entrance then walk or take the lift to 2F to reception. This hotel joined the new mid scale Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel chain as a "Classiq". Try out the new extra large rooms recently renovated and well worth a little extra to overlook the park.Good local cuisine featured in the 3 meal a day leased out cafe on 2F. Along with the brand standard east-meets-west-breakfast-buffet. Please check out the MetroPolo brand website or Booking for a total of 10 hotels in Shanghai open in 2016 and 30+ in other cities. Attentive service; distinctive decor; delight your senses; inspire your imagination. Unique urban style lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing