We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable. Modern. Clean. Central.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Ranked #127 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable. Modern. Clean. Central.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I spent 6 nights at this hotel in a Superior Double Room.
The room was quite small with little space for large luggage.
But overall the room was above average when it came to cleanliness, modern feel and furnishings.
The best part of the room was the shower, which has a glass wall letting out onto the bedroom area. This gave a much larger feel to the room.

Some low points were:
1. We arrived at 10am and had to wait until 2pm for our room (even though check-in time was noon)
2. We initially had dirty sheets. (they were changes as soon as we asked)
3. Staff was very helpful but English was scarce. Staff also were not very helpful when it came to recommendations.
4. There was a foul smell coming from the drainage system in the bathroom

High points:
1. Breakfast was good (though same thing every day) and not too expensive
2. The hotel is extrememly central and just walking distance from the heart of Old Town. It is also walking distance from the Bund and if you are really adventurous, walking distance to French Concession as well.
3. I never found a problem getting a taxi. They were always right outside the hotel.
4. Beds were very comfortable

I would highly recommend this hotel is you are traveling on a middle-priced budget and want someplace central to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lueez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    166
    38
    1
    9
See reviews for
34
77
38
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Formerly known as the YMCA, the Marvel Hotel is located in a stately, historic building, within walking distance of a couple of key tourist sights. Taxi drivers won't recognise the 'Marvel' name so make sure you refer to the hotel as the 'YMCA'. Overall, it's really not a bad hotel, given its price range and good location. The rooms have all been refurbished and are well-appointed with modern furnishings. They're a little small but not uncomfortably so, and definitely ideal for a couple days of stay. Marvel's staff are friendly and helpful - I had to courier something to Beijing and they took care of this quickly and hassle-free. The bell-hops are also always on hand to find you a taxi. This is one hotel I would return to, especially if I were in Shanghai on a personal trip and was footing the hotel bill myself.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Although the location is ideal, I found this a soul-less place to stay. Didn't get much help from the staff who were not so great at English. Room service options were unclear. Very large room however which was good. TV does not have many overseas stations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-Mac1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It was the last week of my vacation and my fam stayed in this hotel. My parents and I got separate rooms. We both got the suite. Really nice! There's someone outside to help you with the elevator and to bring your luggage up or down. The outside might look dull, but inside is really beautiful. The suite is clean and room service is super friendly. The bed is comfy and the walls aren't thin. The hotel was located around stores and restaurants like Manhattan almost. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_L4200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is not very impressive from outside but once you enter the lobby , the old world sedate dignity and character is evident. The rooms are good , clean and fairly large. The staff is helpful . The location is superb . It is just near the Dashijie metro station and the bus stop is outside the hotel . Therfore traveling becomes very easy and inexpensive . You need not include breakfast since there are a lot of eateries round the corner where you can eat a large portion at half the breakfast price. Don't forget to visit the market at the People's Square metro subway.

Room Tip: Avoid the breakfast and eat out. Take a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakati_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The website says the hitel has a gym, but its very small and some of the machines don't work. A huge bug
Got into our room somehow but management came up right away to kill and remove it and then to spray the room. Later they sent up a fruit basket to apologize. The cafe serves one of the better coffees I have had in China. I speak Mandarin, so I found everyone extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suruien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Excellent value, excellent location, comfortable beds, presentable and clean. Hotel breakfast was pretty average, so I would suggest going elsewhere, otherwise hotel staff were friendly and attentive. Another big bonus of this hotel is it is right around the corner from Dashijie Station and about a 10 minute walk from People's Square, Yuyuan Garden and The Bund.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Superior double room (26 square metres), which was the cheapest and smallest room opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zemonsta80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#148 of 5,082 in Shanghai
342 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#41 of 5,082 in Shanghai
772 reviews
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#195 of 5,082 in Shanghai
447 reviews
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square

Property: Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Address: No.123 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly 商悦青年会大酒店)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#103 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super Great location in the historic 1931 YMCA building for transport, shopping, entertainment, bars and cafes! Historic entrance then walk or take the lift to 2F to reception. This hotel joined the new mid scale Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel chain as a "Classiq". Try out the new extra large rooms recently renovated and well worth a little extra to overlook the park.Good local cuisine featured in the 3 meal a day leased out cafe on 2F. Along with the brand standard east-meets-west-breakfast-buffet. Please check out the MetroPolo brand website or Booking for a total of 10 hotels in Shanghai open in 2016 and 30+ in other cities. Attentive service; distinctive decor; delight your senses; inspire your imagination. Unique urban style lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing