We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokey rooms far from city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atour Hotel Hongkou Dabaishu
Ranked #1,531 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Smokey rooms far from city centre”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I came here for a work conference, obviously not my choice and was horribly disappointed. The hotel was OK but the whole experience was completely ruined by the fact that I was given a smoking room. They were unable to change my room due to the hotel being full so all in all my experienced was incredibly average. I hated going back to my room, everything I packed smelled of smoke when I got home and I felt dirty all the time while I was in Shanghai. We tried to make it better using the aircon and/or opening windows but once that smoke is in the soft furnishings, it's hopeless really.

The food was very average as was the location. There is nothing around this hotel except a myriad of roads/highways/byways so if you are going to Shanghai to SEE Shanghai, be prepared to Taxi around a lot if you stay here.

The front desk wasn't very helpful, of course we didn't speak Chinese (even though I believe when you visit a country you should learn some of the language, it's impossible to learn all of the Chinese language and alphabet in a couple of months) and we really struggled to gain assistance. They weren't very patient either, which was disappointing. If they want to host a conference of english-speaking people, they should be a bit more patient, otherwise don't host us.

All in all it was adequate, better for business than tourism, but I wouldn't stay here again and I certainly do not plan to recommend this hotel to my clients.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Splash135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    64
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
7
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have stayed in this property for more than 6 times. Everytime its always a pleasure. Location is little off bit overall, but since I have work in that area, its works well for me. Its a fantastic proporty. Staff is very friendly. Lobby bar is nice and relaxed. Rooms are spacious and its always a value for money staying at Lansheng, Shanghai.

Room Tip: Highway facing rooms are best view. Road over Road view gives you a fantastic feeling of staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dips_KOTNIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed here on the first and last parts of a trip around China. Location wise, it wasn't the greatest in terms of proximity to major tourist attractions like Nanjing Road, The Bund and Financial Centre and if your lingusitic skills were as limited as ours you're less inclined to venture into the surrounding area as it is not a tourist spot. The hotel was a bit dated but rooms were comforatable and clean. Facility wise it wasn't the greatest. When you ordered a drink at the bar, the staff went in to a separate room to fetch them and it took an eternity to get served. Buffet breakfast was fine and offered good choices. There's a restaurant in the hotel but you're probably better venturing outside and trying other restaurants although it would be a taxi journey to the main tourist hubs. We were fortunate that we had a guide accompanying us so we found our bearings a little easier but we wouldn't recommend the hotel if you are travelling independently and struggle with the local language.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrumpys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We had two seperate stays here, 2 nights, then 1 night. This was far the best of our hotels whilst in China.
More like a five star. Great views, from floors 13 and 14.
Very spacious bedrooms, and en suite. Sufficient breakfast, and a reasonable evening meal.
Don`t forget to produce your room card in the bar, and resteraunts, 15% discount applied.
Very helpfull staff. Great choice of hotel.
Situated near our version of Spaghetti junction, but still able to get around locally very easilly.
Taxi to the `Bund` etc, only £3.

Room Tip: High floor, excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kthdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Hotel was average, but locaton was a bit far out from the main attractions. 15-20mins walk to metro station. When you get of of the hotel, take a left and cross the road. Walk down the road, past the petrol station which should be on your left.
Taking a taxi otherwise was not expensive but with the traffic takes forever.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froggggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Our room was pretty old but clean. On arrival we were upgraded to a big suite, which was a nice surprise, still they should refurnish the rooms.
Breakfast was ok, nothing special though. The staff were not very friendly or helpful, a mix of not understanding and not caring.
The hotel is far from everything, but a taxi ride to The Bund costs only about 25RMB, very cheap.
I think you can find a better hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay-bologna-zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I stayed here on a freind's recommendation that this was closer to the "real Shanghai". I was not disappointed. The rooms were very nice - not 5* - but 4*+. Breakfast buffet was very, very good as well as the coffee served during breakfast time.

The hotel is about 400M from the Metro so it was fairly convenient. If you feel like taking a stroll, the #3 line is about 1KM away. Best of all, the staff was very accomodating and they do speak english and they are very helpful.

All in all, a very good stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyguy6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atour Hotel Hongkou Dabaishu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atour Hotel Hongkou Dabaishu

Property: Atour Hotel Hongkou Dabaishu
Address: No.1000 Quyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200437, China (Formerly Radisson SAS Lang Sheng Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#306 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atour Hotel Hongkou Dabaishu 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Atour Hotel Hongkou Dabaishu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Lansheng Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing