We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value on the Bund !!!”
Review of Astor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Astor House Hotel
Ranked #83 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Value on the Bund !!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The Astor house is located 1 minute away from the famous "bund" , 5 minutes walking from the Peninsula Hotel Shanghai.

It is an old remodeled hotel full of history and as you walk in you will immediately feel that you are in "old shanghai".

The rooms are very nicely decorated and the beds and linens are extremely clean and well made, during the wintertime i did not have a problem with hot water.

The staff and front desk was very helpful and they all spoke English.

For the price it is a STEAL in Shanghai, i recommend it to anyone that wants to find a luxury-bargain in shanghai !

See pictures for yourself !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stolarchos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    525
    139
    54
    20
See reviews for
184
375
137
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town RSA
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The Astor is a grand old dame with an exceptional history. This may not be everyone’s cup of tea though! The walls are decorated with many pictures of the history of this hotel and pictures of famous guests from a different era (Einstein, Charlie Chaplin, etc) adorn the walls. The ‘oldness’ of the Astor is very visible on some floors of the hotel and the dark wood, etc give it an almost eerie feel. The top floor is however completely different and some rooms will even give you great views across the river.

The service at the hotel was good and check in and check out was fairly efficient.
The best thing about the hotel is its location. Based on the river, it is a short walk to the famous Nanjing Rd and its bright lights and many shops and restaurants. Also close by is the stop for the red bus (hop on, hop off) services.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelmaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the location excellent for exploring Shanghai though not very easy to get a taxi outside--you had to cross over the bridge which was well worth doing anyway for its views of the harbour and the fact that engaged couples have their wedding photos taken here!The hotel itself was a mix of the luxurious(C19th century style) and rather shabby bits--the hotel desk weren't very helpful and didn't speak good English-the room we had was old fashioned(i.e. the bath was about a hundred years old) but perfectly comfortable--the breakfast room was a splendid old ballroom and we were welcomed by charming "hostesses"and the food much better than elsewhere in China.

Room Tip: great to get a room with a view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mullionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Astor House Hotel is a bit rough around the edges but is a travel experience in itself. This quirky, vintage hotel is in a great location. It is easy to find, being right on the edge of the Bund, next to the Hyatt and many of the other big hotel chains. It is a creaky old place that celebrates its old Shanghai heritage. Stay away if you require regular five stars.

I stayed in the Marconi room, which has an entrance hall, a big bedroom, a separate dressing area and an ensuite. The shabby period décor makes it feel like Marconi himself had just walked out of the room. Actually, I took me a while to feel comfortable in the room but when I did I loved it. Most of the other hotel guests were Chinese which added to the local experience.

Like the rooms, the common areas are chipped and scratched and quirky. Reception is a bit cluncky and my emails pre-arrival were not answered. The breakfast in the main function room on the ground floor is OK, but it’s worth 115 RMB to experience the room. The hotel business center that handles guest booking advice and assistance was shady and unhelpful, so I used outside operators on The Bund for booking tickets and trains.

I won’t stay at Astor House again, but I am glad that I did this time around.

Room Tip: If you get offered an upgrade into a celebrity room, take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three days and and were very happy. Great location on Puxi side of Shanghai at the top of the Bund. Easy walk to restaurants, subway and viewpoints for night and day. The breakfast is pretty reasonable too, but the Richards Bar is very overpriced!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shleighbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Awesome interior, spacious room, friendly front desk and strategic location. it's a little far from the nearest MRT station (about 15 min walking distance) but it's very nearby to the Nanjing walking street and it's right at The Bund. We stayed in the penthouse, the lift was just right behind of our room so it's very noisy every time when people use the lift (imagine there's a washing machine running right behind your bed!) especially in the early morning.

Overall, it is a pleasant stay and I'll definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Do not choose the penthouse room behind the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mantrajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed one night in Astor House Hotel on Dec 2013.This hotel with a very long history, this is the main reason I choose Astor. The hotel is not near to the metro, walk around 10-15 minutes, as this was December, quite cold, my advice is to dress more to keep warm.
The service was very good, staff is really helpful. When I checked in, the staff explained the detail such as the payment had already been settled when I booking the room, the breakfast price (as my booking does not include the breakfast). Actually, the hotel would require the guests to have $500 (local currency) as guarantee and credit card could be used.
I only booked a standard room and the staff provided an upgrade to me, it was amazing.
To go to the lift, there is a staircase (I think as a historic building, no A&A work for this to improve) and then to the lift. With a large luggage and very heavy, the staff was very helpful to bring my luggage to my room.
Inside the room, all the things were clean and tidy, with a LCD TV. The room was very large.
I also tried the buffet breakfast (with addition 78dollar local currency), not really special. The venue is beautiful.
If you love a hotel with long history, Astor should be a good choice (you could take many photos).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ytw330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#179 of 5,082 in Shanghai
300 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#167 of 5,082 in Shanghai
545 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor House Hotel

Property: Astor House Hotel
Address: No.15 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astor House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor House Hotel Shanghai
Astor Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing