We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hostoric hotel with every modern amenity”
Review of Astor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astor House Hotel
Ranked #81 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed a very pleasant five nights at the Astor House, in a room on the executive floor. Rooms on this floor had been well refurbished and were quite large and well appointed. Even though they were on the second floor, they were reasonably quiet. Staff were efficient and helpful, but not gushingly friendly and breakfast staff were a little icy, but these were very minor problems. The hotel revels in its history, providing a fascinating display of photos and memorabilia on the mezzanine floor as well as in the lobby, well worth checking out. Its location across the Suzhou Creek meant it was easily accessible to the Bund and East Nanjing Road, although it was a little hike to the nearest Metro station. If you like wandering, then the areas surrounding Astor House provide plenty of diversity and interest. Our son recommended this hotel to us, and we're very glad he did.

Room Tip: Try to get a deal for the executive floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
There are newer reviews for Astor House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Near to The Bund, it's historical importance still remains inside the rooms. The staff offered me a paid upgrade to a huge room, with an excelent bed, office desk, pc and bathtub. Only problem was the street noise, I had a room faced to the noisy avenue, even during the evening buses and cars and bikes honking a lot.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank mnakazaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had booked Astor House based on price,the first time I stayed there, so was not expecting too much in the way of facilities. However this tuned out to be a beautiful hotel, with tons of character, very friendly staff with good English, and probably one of the largest and nicest rooms I have had in China. Very beautiful old fashioned room, that fitted with the heritage character of the hotel. Breakfast had a good selection, but as always in China most items tended to be lukewarm. Coffee was very good though.

The only downside is that a few rooms face onto a busy street. They do have many inner rooms too which I am sure they would allow you to request.

I would totally recommend Astor House to any traveller.

Location is ideal. You are literally 20 or 30 metres from the Waibaidu Bridge which opens out directly onto the Bund by the Peoples Heroes Monument. 10 minute walk to the subway, quick taxi ride to most places in the centre of town.

Richards Old Bar is a great place to unwind after a day out sightseeing, they have nice cold beer or good wine if you prefer and the fastest wifi in the hotel, the staff are friendly and very helpful in planning your next outing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We came back to Shanghai after 24 years staying at this same building. We were back-packing then in dorms on level 3. This time in room 201. The hotel has lots of history and the only slight issue was the road noise from the busy intersection but otherwise very helpful staff, great location. Try dinner at the Seagull restaurant more or less across the road. Great view and menu. The Astor is good value for money, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. We will be back.

Room Tip: Try to keep away from the main road heading over the bridge. Rooms starting with xx1 are furthest aw...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I booked 3 nights in a penthouse at this hotel but got upgraded to a room that used to be used by the famous philosopher, Bertrand Russell. As soon as you enter the hotel you are instantly taken back to the grandeur of 30's Shanghai. Looking around at the hotel and the massive rooms you realise you have stumbled across an amazing bargain. The staff are excellent, speak great English and offer top advice on surrounding area. The area is excellent and right off The Bund.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and will stay there again when I visit.

Room Tip: The main rooms where famous people stayed are in an area that is also open to the public and houses...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeem27HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is only just off the Bund and is in a great location. We paid about £53 per night and got a massive room with a brand new ensuite. Had a view of the Bund / Pudong from the bathroom. Don't really know why this hotel has not decided to go more up market considering its location which 5 star hotels such as the Peninsula only minutes away.

This Victorian era hotel has a lot of history with a lot of famous guests lining the wall including Charlie Chaplin, Einstein & a 19th century US president Grant.

Our taxi to Pudong airport in the morning (with no traffic) took the best part of 1 hour and cost 192 RMB. [Hongqiao airport into which we arrived in Shanghai is much closer than Pudong airport].

Only word of warning is that guests in rooms near the lift will hear the creakings of the lift. We stayed in room 618 and could hear the lift mechanism anytime someone used the lift.

Room Tip: Only word of warning is that guests in rooms near the lift will hear the creakings of the lift. We s...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel has everything and is sure to attract anyone who loves a sense of history, charm and luxury. We had a suite which was basically three rooms with an enormous bathroom, sitting room and a giant bed. While it has a real sense of history and tradition it still maintains all the mod cons, with three TV's for example, including one to watch while soaking in a bath. There are 180 degree views of The Bund which can be viewed from different locations in the room, while the bar and breakfast rooms were tremendous. The staff struggled a little with their English but were very keen to assist in anyway they could. It got a little noisy at night but we actually enjoyed that and left the windows open to enjoy the hustle and bustle from the Bund while enjoying a beer or two. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can, pay a little extra and stay in the "Richard Suite" on the third floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizzyLeeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#185 of 5,112 in Shanghai
303 reviews
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#192 of 5,112 in Shanghai
547 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#54 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,036 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor House Hotel

Address: No.15 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $87 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astor House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor House Hotel Shanghai
Astor Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing