We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Historic and Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Fairmont Peace Hotel on June 5 and 6, 2014 and wish we could have stayed longer. What a wonderful hotel this is! It is probably the best hotel I have every stayed at. The hotel is located on the Bund and it is a half-block walk from the hotel to the Bund. Our room was very large, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was HUGE! It looked like the hotel had been recently remodeled and they combined two large room for the room and bathroom with a short connecting hall that had closets, a dressing table and a safe. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The espresso style coffee machine was excellent and we had delicious coffee every morning.
The bathroom had a very large tub that accommodated two adults with a hand-held shower attachment. There were two sinks on a large marble counter and all of the fixtures were clean, modern and worked well. The mirrors were large size, well-lit, and it was easy for shaving and putting on makeup. In addition to the large, claw-foot tub, there was a separate shower area and a separate toilet area with a frosted glass door. They had all of the standard lotions and soaps but they also had two new toothbrushes with tooth paste and a shaving kit with shaving soap and a razor. They also provided a hair dryer.
The hotel is very historic and, I think, was called the Cathay Pacific at one time. In the hallways off the lobby area, there are pictures of famous people that have stayed at the hotel during a period prior to WW II up to the present. There is a cozy bar right off the lobby that plays jazz music in the evening and I think is famous. Down one hall is a small cafe that serves coffee and pastries. We didn't have time for it, but the pastries looked delicious.
The lobby also has a large domed room with raised carving murals of the historic buildings in the surrounding area.
This is a beautiful hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear john07_11,

I would like to extend my most sincere appreciation for you choosing to stay at our iconic property. This really is such a truly special building with so much history and unique designed that it goes unmatched in Shanghai.

As stewards of such a unique hotel we work very hard to respect it with the best possible service. I am so pleased that you took full advantage of your time with us and experienced all of our very unique and special offerings.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Until then please take care.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is my second visit. The location on the Bund is great. Although my room faces a busy street, it was sound proofed. I love the idea of walking into the room and they have old Shanghai music playing on the Bose system. It lends a great sense of place and nostalgia. The Fairmont Gold room is very nicely decorated, it has a walk-in wardrobe and a spacious bathroom with a decadent bathtub that I wish I had time to luxuriate in. The reception team is always helpful and welcoming and I like the Royal Touch button on the phone where I just press and ask all sorts of questions and they seem to have the answers.
It's nice to sit and have a delicious pastry at Victor's and watch the hordes of tourists walking by. I had a business lunch at their Dragon Phoenix and the young chef came out to carve the Peking duck with such a flourish that I had to take a video of his 'performance'. The crispy duck skin was delicious. Don't forget to have a drink and catch their old jazz band in the evenings.
All in all, this is a luxurious hotel with many little nice touches and amenities in the room and an efficient team of staff.

Room Tip: I was twice assigned rooms facing Nanjing East road and I didn't have issues with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suslika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Suslika,

On behalf of our entire team I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us on 2 occasions now and I am absolutely thrilled that our team has provided such consistent service to you. I will very much enjoy sharing your feedback with the entire team and I thank you for this opportunity.

We are absolutely so lucky to be taking care of such an iconic property with unbeatable location in Shanghai. I certainly hope that we will be seeing you again and I would like to invite you to alert me at George.wee@fairmont.com so that I can ensure everything is ready for your return.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I am doing my annual review of the Fairmont hotels across the world and want to provide a warm commendation to the historic Fairmont Peace Hotel. I am a T4 member (regular guest at Fairmont hotels) and want to let you know the service, cleanliness and location make the Peace Hotel the best of the best. A special thanks to Julie on the Fairmont Gold Floor that made my stay especially pleasant.
Paul Blom 3247182600

Room Tip: Fairmont Gold Floor has excellent service and great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear paul b,

What an absolute pleasure it is to be seeing your feedback. It is so great to be able to hear from our loyal guests and I know that entire team, especially our Fairmont Gold team will be excited to receive this. I would like to thank you sincerely for this.

We are greatly anticipating your next visit. Please keep me posted at George.wee@fairmont.com as well so that I can ensure we have a chance to connect.

Kind regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was probably my 3rd time to stay in this wonderful hotel. I just find the location very convenient right on the Bund. The hotel also has a long history, giving it a lot of significance in the local social scene. This was restored and renovated and is now managed by the Fairmont. It has maintained its old-world charm but at the same time introduced modern comfort and convenience to today's travelers. I find the room luxurious and elegant, very generously spaced and tastefully decorated. The beds are so comfortable! When I checked in, I had a nice fruit arrangement, welcome card and a plate of chocolates from the hotel management. Nice touch indeed. Wifi was also very reliable and fast. Thank goodness for my FPC membership that allows me this convenience. Check in and checkout were very smooth. Breakfast buffet up on the 8f is very sumptuous, and it has everything from Asian favorites to western staples. Did I mention about the stunning views of the Bund? It was excellent. The hotel is so conveniently located that it only takes a few steps to be by the Wangpo river and be amongst the hundreds of tourists taking breath-taking, post-card perfect, photos of the popular Shanghai skyline. I highly recommend staying at The Fairmont Peace the next time you visit Shanghai either for business or pleasure. May the Peace be with you...

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the lift as the hallways can be confusing. Take lots of pictures in the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octoberians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear Octoberians,

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay with us. It is especially rewarding when we get to hear from our loyal guests like yourself and I know our entire team here will be excited to read your great feedback

We are looking forward to your next return and I would like to invite you to alert me directly at George.wee@fairmont.com so I can welcome you back personally.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

One of the Emperors of Shanghai - The Peace hotel is really Grand - fab location just off the Bund. Beautifully designed rooms, though a bit like the Canadian Fairmonts. Friendly staff and very helpful. A great terrace for evening parties overlooking the Bund. A feeling of old world charm of Shanghai.

Room Tip: Fairmont Gold Rooms are very good, even though with inner views. The hotel has suites after many cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvind_Meera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear Arvind_Meera,

We are absolutely delighted to read your outstanding feedback and we are very proud and happy to see that your visit will leave lasting memories for you.

I will look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team and we are eagerly awaiting your return so that we can show you our warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Kind Regards,

George Wee
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The staff at this hotel is so fantastic. If you get an option to upgrade to the Executive Lounge, it is a must. Great food, service and drinks. The concierge service is also handy. I stayed in a suite, and it was the best suite I have stayed in. The hotel is located right off the Bund and is central to anywhere you want to go.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Galen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Galen U,

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay with us. It is especially rewarding when we get to hear from our loyal guests and I know our entire Fairmont Gold team will be so happy to receive this.

We are looking forward to your next return and I would like to invite you to alert me directly at George.wee@fairmont.com so I can welcome you back personally.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Peace Hotel for 4 nights in May. The location couldn't be any better -- right on The Bund and close to everything. Lots of shopping and restaurants close by and the metro is about a 5 minutes walk away. The service was fantastic and the room was really nice. This is an iconic hotel, so the property itself was a tourist attraction -- we especially enjoyed the on-site museum. If you get a chance to visit Shanghai, I definitely would recommend staying here. We will be back.....one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseApple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear RoseApple 9,

We are absolutely delighted to read your outstanding feedback and we are very proud and happy to see that your visit will leave lasting memories for youwith our unbeatable location and service to match

I will look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team and we are eagerly awaiting your return so that we can show you our warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Kind Regards,

George Wee
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#12 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#51 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,150 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#185 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $257 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing