We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Rate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Peace Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top Rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

A quick, friendly check in. In 5 minutes I was on my way to the room. Nice size, well appointed with all the little extras required for a comfortable stay. Even though I was facing busy Nanjing Road, the street noise was not evident inside the room....The staff were friendly and very attentive. The location is perfect; right on corner of Nanjing Road and the Bund. Nanjing road, as it has been reported many times, has lots of scammers trying to hustle you. It is the worst place to negotiate or buy ANYTHING, so resist the temptation, be patient with the constant relentless hassling you will get as a foreigner (read: Caucasian).

Don't accept ANY offers on the street (especially Nanjing Street), to go for coffee and talk English, or attend a Chinese tea ceremony, or deals on electronics, or even massages. (You will get scammed - (and in some cases roughed up if you don't hand over money)....100% guaranteed.

When approached, politely and firmly say no thank you...repeat it if necessary and continue on your way. It did get exhausting after a while. Enjoy the walk, the street is fun, but there are many other great places in Shanghai to enjoy...just do some research!

Back to the hotel....the complimentary breakfast is the best offering I have ever seen. I travel 100 days a year. The selection more than you can imagine; Western with some Asian selections. The quality is top notch. My "prepared-to-order" egg white omelette was perfect every morning.
The morning breakfast is served in a great room with a great view of the Bund and river. Staring at the Pearl Tower whilst enjoying breakfast is amazing! As busy as they were, the breakfast staff was smiling, friendly and very attentive.

For my stay, it was worth the price...which admittedly is a little higher priced than other good hotels in the area. Location, location, location!

Room Tip: Always request for a high floor to avoid potential street noise at night. Stay clear of high traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJ_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear GJ_Johnson,

I want to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback regarding your overall experience at our iconic property. I also truly appreciate your well rounded feedback and we are delighted to see that our service culture was what you should expect of a luxury hotel experience, and our unbeatable location on the Bund delivered to your expectations.

I will look forward to sharing your feedback with our team and we certainly hope that you will find your way back to Shanghai so that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    282
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
315
559
116
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have stayed at a dozen properties in Shanghai through the years. Fairmont Peace Hotel has been, and remains my favorite stop. In October 2013, my wife and I spent two nights there in a spacious and well maintained room. Well trained staff maintain the high standards expected at Fairmont properties. Certainly nice to return to the room after a day on the streets of Shanghai. Extensive breakfast buffet gets the day off to a nice start. We also took in a couple's treatment at the Willow Stream Spa, which is a good way to wind down at the end of a hectic day. Location on The Bund and Nanjing Road provide the tourist with much to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HealeyWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear TripBill,

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us during your time in Shanghai as well as for taking the time to share your experiences.

We are delighted that your stay was memorable and what you should expect from a luxury hotel experience. I also greatly appreciate this opportunity you have given me to thank our staff for their outstanding service to you.

We hope that you will be back to Shanghai in the near future and we look forward showing you our warm and engaging service once again.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We recently stayed here for 7 days, and what a treat it was. This hotel is a stunner! Five star quality all the way. It was a joy to come back to the hotel after sightseeing all day. Rooms are very spacious and luxuriously fitted out to the highest standard. Nothing is too much trouble and the Concierge staff are a credit to the hotel. They were always happy to assist with printing off taxi directions in Manadrin, making reccomendations of where to go, see and eat.
The Jazz Bar is also a wonderful place to visit after dinner, and also don't forget to ask about the free tour for guests to get a full background to the history of the hotel. The ballroom is magnificent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear OzzieMelbourne,

I would like to extend our sincere appreciation for you coming to stay with us during your time in Shanghai. We are so delighted that you were able to experience the amazing old Jazz Band and in particular I will take the time to thank our Concierge team for the outstanding service they provided to you.

We certainly hope that Shanghai will be on your destination list for the future and we look forward to welcoming you back and providing you our warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed at the Fairmont Peace hotel for work and had an all round wonderful experience. This was my second visit to the amazing city of Shanghai and Peace hotel and I can honestly say I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. My room was so spacious and the fixtures and furnishings were so beautiful and tasteful. I wish I could transport the room to my house. The hotel evokes all your senses from the warm and woody fragrance as you enter to the great Le Labo toiletries. All round perfect. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigimelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Gigimelb,

We are so delighted that have been able to host your during your second visit to this wonderful city of Shanghai. It will give me great pride to be able to share your experience and feedback with our entire team.

We are truly so lucky to be looking after such a beautifully restored property that has such history and culture that evokes a charm that you cannot get anywhere else in Shanghai.

We certainly hope that a third visit to Shanghai will be in your future and we will look forward to welcoming back to our iconic property.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Aesthetically beautiful, full of character, excellent restaurants and retail, great location in the Bund, happy helpful staff lead by the professional delightful Lily at front of House. Faultless. Spent entire evening in Rooftop restaurant and balcony enjoying the fare and the views.
MS

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank maurice_spicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Maurice_spicer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our iconic property. We are so pleased to know that you had a memorable experience during your time with us and in particular thank you very much for identifying Lily for her outstanding service to you.

I will certainly take the time to personally thank Lily for leaving such a lasting impression with you and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Rooms are lovely and modernly updated but the lay out of the hotel and the lobby are a visible reminder of how old the hotel really is. Food in the restaurants is average, and sadly poorly presented as the breakfast buffet showed. Service staff are plentiful but really don't seem to do much but point, direct, stand around or take up space! The Terrace bar up on the roof is very cool, but you pay for it. Drinks are high for the Shanghai market and it is a shock to pay $11 for a drink you can get elsewhere for half the price.
Ideal for a short stay - central, historic and easy to find.
For longer stays or chic stays - look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Hotel tips: shower handles are difficult to operate - watch you don't scald yourself! If you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear DMC90,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us although it is disappointing to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you encountered further with you and as such, invite you to contact me direct by emailing me at george.wee@fairmont.com

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just beautiful inside and out, this historical hotel was a pleasure to stay at. Right on the bund, this hotel has spacious rooms, marble floored huge bathrooms and all amenities that is expected of a five star hotel. Hotel is renovated to its past glory that it was once known for, a true beautiful Art Deco everything. The Gold lounge breakfast and high tea was great, and we looked forward to go there everyday! The views and food at restaurant on the terrace floor were unforgettable. Hotel staff, concierge and chef were extremely helpful with our vegetarian food requirements. The location is the best possible location in Shanghai, right on the bund and close to some great shopping. I highly recommend the Fairmont Peace Hotel to everyone traveling to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Go for the Gold Lounge rooms. Along with high floor room, the included breakfast and high tea are ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chhayaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Chhayaji,

I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you coming to stay at our iconic property for your visit to Shanghai. I am very proud of our team for being able to provide such a memorable experience for you. In particular thank you for identifying our Concierge and Culinary team for recognizing your unique needs and delivering to your expectations as a luxury service provider should.

I will surely use this opportunity to thank our team for their outstanding service to you. We certainly hope that you will be able to return to Shanghai and we look forward to taking care of you once again.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Property: Fairmont Peace Hotel
Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#174 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing