We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing! One of my best experiences ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

On our recent vacation to China, the Peace provided us a heavenly sanctuary to which we could return every evening from our adventures in chaotic, crazy, wonderful, beautiful Shanghai. The hotel was historic but modern, and elegantly decorated. The suite was luxurious and comfortable; the staff were extremely fantastic. Breakfast every morning was a delightful.

Overall, one of our absolute best hotel experiences ever.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LamNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,357 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed at a lot of hotels around the world and this one is way up there. Perfect. It features an ideal location, old world character, charm, cleanliness, top quality service, ever-helpful and accommodating staff, fabulous food and the best jazz bar ever! Congratulations and enduring thanks to the GM, George Wee, and his dedicated and professional team. As per other rave reviews on Trip Advisor, our rooms were spacious and perfectly appointed. (We stayed 3 nights on our way to Beijing and Xi'an then returned for 3 nights.) On return, it was like coming home. We were welcomed, treated as friends and you just feel special in this place. The foyer, along with its grandeur and spectacular flowers, has a sandalwood scent that adds to the warmth and welcoming atmosphere. Special thanks to Robert, Sandy, Ben and other staff members who helped us overcome some communication problems with tailors, restaurants and directions. This hotel and its staff provided us with everything to make our first trip to China a memorable and most pleasurable event. So hard to leave... and definitely on our repeat experience list.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

April 22, 2013
Dear Cathydel

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our iconic hotel and our incredible staff who work so hard each and every day to make special memories for all our guests. It will be my pleasure to take the time to recognize the particular colleagues mentioned in your feedback along with all of the staff here at the Fairmont Peace Hotel.

Again thank you for this opportunity and we hope that you will be planning a return to Shanghai and the Fairmont Peace hotel in the not to distant future.

Regards,

George Wee
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a must stay hotel in Shanghai! So elegant so classy. You can see antiques, ceilings, chandelier and parts of hotel dating back to 1920s. The renovation/restoration work was perfect! The hotel, room, location, staff, breakfast are all you can ask for....everything was perfect. It is the most convenient hotel you can find in Shanghai! Surprised it is only ranked no. 8! It is definitely the best hotel in Shanghai!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rene999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

There is no single place on Earth as welcoming and exciting as the wonderfully redone Fairmont Peace Hotel. Every Staff Member acted as a trusted Guide and every piece of advice given turned out to be accurate. Even when Conceirge politely said they didn't recommend eating at a place recommended by TravelZoo and when I did anyways, I came back to the Fairmont that eveningh to let them know that their advice was 100% correct. The Rooms are so very well appointed with quality furnishings from the Art Deco era that made us feel like we were on a Hollywood set of a 1930s movie. I had the best sleep of my life in this hotel and all of my allergies were accomodated in advance so i could breath easy. Drinks at the Bar at night with the jazz entertainment, dinner at the Cathay room with the best Black Cod ever, make me want to go back to Shanghai asap. There is no better place to stay in Shanghai.

Room Tip: There's no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

April 22, 2013
Dear Rick182

It gives me great pleasure to respond to you and sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences during your stay with us at the Fairmont Peace Hotel. There truly is nothing more rewarding for an hotelier than to read comments like this, and be given the duty and honor to share with, and recognize the colleagues of this iconic hotel for a job well done.

I truly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, and on behalf of the entire team here we hope that you will find your way back to Shanghai and the Fairmont Peace Hotel.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel sits right opposite the most popular section of the Bund. It is about ten minutes walk to the "2" line of the subway, which can take you easily to both Pudong airport and Hongqiao airport, and the Hongqiao highspeed-rail railway station.

There are plenty of eating places around whose price ranges vary a lot. A few blocks over from the Bund you can find lots of "Heritage Buildings" of the city, which radiates a feel of the old Shanghai. People ride their bicycles or motorcycles crazily but you can see that is where they live and how they get to work every day. Nice to see, otherwise you are just seeing thousands of tourists :)

Other people have described the hotel itself enough -- the room is really nice, with the bathroom being the kicker, and the lcd screen in front of a free-standing clawfoot tub kicker of kicker. I wish I could stay at such fine hotel for each and everyone of my trip :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chenjie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stay for 2 days at the hotel. Great location, great service, great breakfast. totally enjoy the stay.
Room is beautiful, big and with nice decoration. The bathroom is huge with confortable tub. The hotel is part of the shanghai history and you feel it everywhere and every moment during the stay. It is in the heart of the bund so have easy access to the bund view even you don't choose the room with view.

good service but not too many staff speak english.
also try the cafe at lobby, very good cakes and coffee. The only thing is it's not cheap at all. Breakfast is RMB 225+15% per person, internet is RMB99 a day and SPA RMB1000+ per service.

but still recommend to try at least once when you travel to shanghai.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanAndIanAtTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

April 14, 2013
Dear seanTaipei

We are very grateful for you taking the time to share with everyone your recent experience with us at the Fairmont Peace Hotel. I very much appreciate these well rounded comments on our iconic hotel and I can assure you that I will review with the team here to ensure that we are always providing the best possible experience for all our guests..

I do sincerely hope that you will get the chance to return to Shanghai and choose the Fairmont Peace Hotel once again as your home away from home.

Regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is just beautiful. We stayed four nights. The rooms and bathrooms are to die for, luxurious and so comfortable. Its right opposite The Bund and so close to everything.
The staff couldnt have been more helpful. They were wonderful.
It was our 40th wedding anniversary and they gave us a bottle of wine and a beautiful cake in or room. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 522 (a suite) faced Nanjing Road and we could also see the crowds on The Bund. Only thing was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlynMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#13 of 5,205 in Shanghai
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#52 of 5,205 in Shanghai
2,182 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#187 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $251 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing