We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing at best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing at best.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in January to celebrate the end of our China trip and were really looking forward to it. I have been to Shanghai before but my partner wanted to try a new hotel. We agreed on the Fairmont primarily for its location and reputation.

The rooms were lovely and the history is rich but the service is well below average.
Housekeeping was unreliable - we only received turn down service 2 out of 4 days. Also received Chinese newspapers and letters despite requesting English ones. When we called concierge to amend this they said they didn't know what we were talking about and forwarded our call to about 3 different departments. On the second day, we received additional minibar items as the minibar had not been checked prior to our check in. We were charged for the items on check out - this is unacceptable for a Fairmont hotel, we expected better.

Concierge was helpful but always recommended places that were far to expensive when we just wanted to experience the 'real' Shanghai. Even when we told them this, they suggested chains of restaurants instead of original home-style places.

Reception was frankly awful - problems on check in, problems on check out, problems with the bill, problems with the language - we felt like we were just another number in the hotel. No one really went out of their way to help or be nice.

The doormen and bar staff were to be commended. The doorman always opened the door with a smile on his face and ensured that we had a cab if needed. The bar staff were very helpful and the cocktails were delicious. However, upon ordering wines by the glass, I had to order 4 different glasses to get one that was in stock. This is not the fault of the barman but simply another level of disorganisation by management.

Breakfast was so disappointing we would never go back - not even if it was free. Ordered tea and received coffee. Asked for tea - it was cold. Asked for an omelette and I'm not really sure what I got - more of a lump of buttery microwave-tasting eggs.

Overall, the positives were the rooms, the history, the great location and the bar. I would not stay again simply for the fact that it was expensive and the service was terrible. I am disappointed with the Fairmont group. They really need to invest more time in training their staff and finding staff who actually care. If I am paying that price for a room, I expect more. Next time I will stay at the ShangriLa across the river which has far better service and attitude for what you pay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jngroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ms. Groen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us at the Fairmont Peace Hotel

I am extremely disappointed to read your comments and can assure you that the service issues raised in your review have been addressed personally with our entire management team, in particular our Rooms and Food and Beverage teams for their immediate action. Clearly there were many missed opportunities on our part to show you the kind personal attention and care that you should expect from our colleagues and I can only offer my most sincere apologies for this.

I do hope we have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Fairmont Peace Hotel the next time you are in Shanghai.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    296
    49
    18
    10
See reviews for
347
606
126
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

When I was a kid growing up in shanghai, I always wanted to hold on to the revolving door going around and around every time walking by the hotel. Fast forward 20 years, after living in the U.S. for all my adult life and staying at a couple of Fairmont hotels in the U.S., I looked forward to finally staying at the Peace Hotel under the Fairmont management. For comparable price, you just can’t find a room on the bund for that money. The room was absolutely beautiful with custom size carpet, chandelier, art work on the wall as well as china on display, art deco pattern wall paper, walking in closet, a bar and a very decent size bathroom in such an old hotel. The restoration is just absolutely gorgeous, a perfect blend of art deco and modernization. They did not cheap out on anything. The bed was big and comfortable, very nice sheets. We stayed here for 10 days during Chinese New Year with the baby, which is really hard going from California to Shanghai with the jet lag. The hotel staff really went out of the way to make our stay pleasant, from the door man to the bell boy to the concierge to the guest service manager, we were pampered from left to right. They knew our names and even remembered when we went to the same place for breakfast a couple days in a row. We waited in the lobby while the door man waved off a taxi for us every morning, so we don't have to stand in the cold. There is a heat lamp at the door, but they insisted we wait inside. The staff was really professional and spoke very well English (my husband can’t speak English). They even packed us free breakfast on the day we left, since our flight was early. We got married at the San Francisco Fairmont, while the staff was really nice there during our wedding, we didn’t get nearly as much as attention as we did at the Peace Hotel and we spent way more money at the San Francisco Fairmont.

Praises aside, there are still room for improvement. I guess it’s just the fact Shanghai is still coming up to speed on some of the details on western culture. When we were looking at the macaroons at Victor’s, I asked the server what are the different flavors and she didn’t know. She said they were all the same, just different color. I was there with my cousin the day before and someone explained the flavors, I just couldn’t remember them all. We had afternoon tea at Jasmine lounge, where the scones were not served with clotted cream, instead they were served with butter. You’ll see a lot more interesting tea selections that’s not available in London for tea time, but the pastry selections are a bit limited to what I’m used to. The ambiance is definitely nice, you will need a reservation for tea time like 4 days ahead. At Cin Cin (the bar), the red wine was not in the temp controlled cellar. There was a bottle of Opus one with the cork side pointing up, wow, I can’t believe they are letting a $200 bottle wine just sitting there in the wrong position in room temp. The Chinese food in the hotel is pretty decent. We didn’t try the western food at the hotel, since we looked at the menu and it didn’t seem appealing. It had some weird Asian twist and I just like my western food…eh…western…yeah, I guess that’s the word. I don’t want some fusion kind of stuff. That being said, I am kind of a food snob, since we have really good food in San Francisco, just to put things in perspective.

In general though, I would definitely stay here again and you should, too. It feels very glamorous and to me feels very Shanghai. You can always find a more modern hotel with bigger rooms and what not. But you will not find a hotel has such rich history as the Peace Hotel anywhere in China. There is even a small museum in the hotel, and the curator can take you on a tour of the hotel and tell you all the stories. It is the Ritz of Paris and the Park Hotel of New York. If you want to see Shanghai for why some people think it rivals New York, London and Paris, you shouldn’t miss the Peace Hotel even if you are not staying here. There are a couple of restaurants that faces the bund with probably the best view in Shanghai to see the bund, so you should definitely eat there. Besides the subway is near by, and the biggest shopping district is just steps away, it's very convenient for tourists.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciciewang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cARDIFF
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Best location on the Bund, and main shopping street , Art Deco wonder with fantastic views from the 8th floor breakfast room.jazz bar and gin gin lounge evoke the inner war decadence that wasShanghai. now a twenty second century city which will blow way your per-conceptions of China.
Yvonne and her team present a friendly and relaxed experience the jasmine lounge high tea is must.
The Fairmont gives you a time traveling experience the marble and walnut high style Art Deco with an ultra modern facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms are all quiet orientation of the hotel limits rooms with river view don,t worry bund and view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Fairmont Peace Hotel, Shanghai, China

Old World Luxury – be ready to be wowed! The Fairmont Peace hotel is breathtaking – you feel like you are at the home of the Great Gatsby! The Fairmont Peace hotel is a gorgeous hotel that was renovated in 2007 to painstakingly preserve the art deco style of the 1920’s. It embodies not only a smart atmosphere but luxury and grace as well. We took over 400 pictures of just the hotel and its beautiful appointments! The hotel is jaw dropping to see but so is the view it affords you of Pudong! Located literally across the street from the Bund, which overlooks the activities and lights on the Huangpu River the hotel’s view displays the glory of Pearl Tower and about 40 other amazing feats of architect eye-candy! We recommend reserving a room on the Gold Floor. We enjoyed a beautiful suite and the luxury of the Gold Floor amenities which included a western as well as Asian breakfast and outstanding happy hour buffet and drinks. The staff is so accommodating – remembering not only your name but your coffee or wine preferences as well as where you like to sit in the room – amazing. In Shanghai, we decided to get around by walking, taxi and using double deck on/off passes. The bus stop was right across the street; we felt safe and were able to move about comfortably and in a timely manner.

Room Tip: Stay on the Gold Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is charming with luxurious rooms, excellent spa and beautiful dining room overlooking the river and the city of Shanghai. You really feel the history of the hotel and the staff are charming and can't do enough for you. I love staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soton1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

In the tradition of Fairmont Hotels an old hotel magnificently restored. The foyer is a sight to see, the staff were great. When we arrived the manager welcomed us and when we left we were asked if we enjoyed our stay. A short walk to the Bund and Shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliot_neck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is an exceptional property in a fabulous city. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with side view of the Bund and river. Extremely tasteful decoration, very comfortable room, brilliant bathroom (with wonderful amenities from a top boutique fragrance designer from Grasse, France). Breakfast in the lounge was very good with a nice mix of Western and Eastern dishes and an 'egg chef' for made to order egg dishes. Spa treatments were also excellent (not cheap but was a perk in the package that we book). Only room service was disappointing with some very salty dishes and generally not very good food. This, however, is the only disappointment of our short stay - everything else was simply fabulous and I would return to the Fairmont Peace any day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurolondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#7 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,169 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Property: Fairmont Peace Hotel
Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#178 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing