We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Love this hotel, Right where all the action is at in Shanghai. Great staff, good bar with live jazz band, and helpful staff. You can get a free tour of the hotel and see the true beauty. Rooms have true luxury that you rarely see

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    286
    47
    17
    10
See reviews for
322
580
118
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having lived in Shanghai for 18 months now, we've alway wanted to say at this iconic hotel.
We arrived Friday late afternoon and had some worrying discussions with Management about the fact that I didn't have my passport ( has been sent away to have my Visa renewed), but some very sensitive and professional handling from both our Duty Manager and the Hotel Manager ensured it was all settled and we could get on and enjoy our evening.

My husband booked the India Suite, with a knock-out view of the Bund. The room is dazzling in it's Indian style decor and attention to detail. A large dining room, separate living room, and huge bedroom/bathroom made us want to stay for a week.

we recieved a huge fruit bowl, and a bottle of wine and cheese platter, which was lovely. The beds are 5 star, the service impeccable, and the sense of modern luxury combined with the most amazing art-deco furniture and accents, makes this a unique place to stay.

Breakfast in the lounge was great, especially loved the small bombolini doughnuts and the steamed creamy custard buns! ( best I have ever eaten).

The regular courtyard view rooms are very nice too, but for a lovely treat, try to splurge on a suite!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Peace Hotel , Shanghai, in mid Novenber ,2012. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. The hotel is well situated at the top on Nanjing Road. From check in to check out we were wonderfully cared for.. The service was superb, the rooms luxirious, spacious and well equipped with the most wonderful beds. It was quiet, the staff always gracious and helpful and the breakfasts a treat. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
280 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I regretted staying there for only a night. It was the final night and we decided to up the budget a little and try the vintage 6-star.
The treatment from the bellhop from normal.
The receptionist could speak perfect English and we thought it was normal.
And after check-in, we felt like home.
The bed was fantastic. The sound proofing was awesome (we couldn't hear the lovemaking next door for once in China!)
The luxury you get and feel in the bath room was perfect. Every little corner of the hotel tells a story of Shanghai in the Prohibition era.
Coupled by an evening stroll down the Bund was excellento.

I was impressed by the attitude of the hotel staff, from the room service guy to the manageress who led us to the main entrance when we lost our way in the hotel, you could feel that they are genuine. I hate it when some hoteliers gave fake and pretentious responses like telling you "everything is certainly to you because you are the nuts spending money in our hotel".

Looking forward to a longer stay in the hotel DEFINITELY during our next trip.

1 hour to airport without jam. coffee capsules are free to add on. :P sorry. pls allow me to be cheapo for once.

Room Tip: those rooms facing the Bund are all suites. Meaning,if you don't see a "suite" in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeJorgimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

It's an amazing old building in the best location along the bund. This hotel has character. It has old world charm in its decor of marble, old dark stained wood, high ceilings and grand staircases. This place has character to the max. I got lost several times trying to find my room as I believe the building is two buildings merged into one. Once I figured that out I was fine :) would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_giret19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed Dec 23-26
Peace Hotel is a very nice hotel perfectlly located in the corner of The Bunt and Nanjing road.
Great service and very nice executive floor/lounge were both brekfast, afternoon tea and evening canapeés/drinks served in plentiful by serviceminded personel, worthwhile the x:a charge.
Rooms beautiful and the bathroom was fantastic.
Food in Victor´s café was lousy but the Chinese restaurant was great.
Spa/sauna also good.
Would absolutely stay there again if ever in Shanghai

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenSkifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Rooms are very big. Hotel is very historical - could use a renovation though. Stayed in executive floor and made use of the lounge but no one else was in there! Great location right on the bund, beautiful in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccandyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal N, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Fairmont Peace Hotel. We are appreciative of your nice comments of our hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Property: Fairmont Peace Hotel
Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#183 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing