We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the Bund!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location on the Bund!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here three nights in September 2012 for business. Staff struggled a little with our group check-in, but recovered pretty well over the next few days. Outstanding concierge desk, with helpful tips on where to eat, shop and sight-see. Don't miss the river cruise in the evening - best way to see the lights of Shanghai! Breakfast buffet is good, but not great. Cafe in the lobby has the best ham and cheese croissants I have ever had...Jazz band in the lobby bar is fun. the Peace Hotel has some of the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen - you could fit a bed in there...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10ACJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    294
    48
    17
    10
See reviews for
335
599
120
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I am a Travel Agent from Dawrin in Australia and chose to stay at the Fairmont Peace as I liked its history and position, and was thrilled with our experience. We had a bit of a problem when we first checked in due to a misunderstanding with the booking Agent in Sydney, but this was quickly sorted out and we were shown to our suite, which is bigger than my home. The rooms (in the suites) are huge especially the bathroom which has it's own TV and waterproof remote control.


We dined in the Cathay Restaurant for dinner which has spectacular views of the Bung district and across the river. The food was excellent and the chef prepared my lamb exactly how I like it. We then adjourned to the Jazz Bar which was just a bit loud for me, so we chose to sit in the adjoining lounge, where we could still hear the Jazz and had coffee and cake.

The next morning we had a lovely buffet breakfast - on par with other top class hotels, and as we ate late, gave lunch a miss and had the High Tea instead which was the most food I have ever had at any High Tea anywhere eles in the world.
The service at this hotel was excellent, with all the staff speaking English and very friendly and obliging and. I would especially like to thank Mr Henry Wang - duty Manager - for his assistance

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent three nights and enjoyed every minute. We were in one of the suites and Gold and found everything just perfect. Some of the best service anywhere, everyone helpful and kind. The rooms are spectacular and do not miss the restaurant The Cathay - honestly the best view and food of any place we went. Wish we hadn't wasted two dinners elsewhere at rooftop trendy places. Book this hotel- you will not be dissappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Top quality service with big and comfortable rooms. Bathroom is a real room. Full of space. Perfect location in the heart of the Bund district, walking distance from pedestrian area in Najing Rd. Good english spoken and very kind staff. The SPA is just great, Breakfast very good, plenty of choice. Try the restaurant on 9th floor with a stunning view over the Bunf and Pudong area across the river.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuka70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

One of the most historic hotels in the world. (Muhammed Ali stayed on the 6th floor in the '60's!). Pefect location across from the Bund. Warm, caring staff. Make sure you go to the roof at night for a view that will blow you away! Restaurant is top-notch. Room was large, comfortable. The only complaint would be that you need to purchase a suite to have a view of the Bund from your room.

Room Tip: Must get a suite to have a view of the Bund from your room. If not, just go to the top of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is amazing, brilliant location, superb staff all speaking great English, amazing rooms and such a fabulous feel about the property. We spent a lot of time researching for somewhere to stay in Shanghai, it is so hard when we had no experience with this awesome city, but settled on the Fairmont and it is the best decision for a hotel we have ever made. We had 7 lovely nights, and just so enjoyed being in our room.The bathrooms are exquisite, the beds are so comfy and the whole atmosphere and ambience is to die for. Never felt excited about going back to any hotel as much as we did with this one. The restaurants aren't as good as you can get in Shanghai, but still great service. I just cannot say enough about this hotel, from the bellboy to the reception, to the Manager, to the housekeeping team, all totally brilliant and so friendly. Nothing like coming back from the heat and crowds, there is your bellboy welcoming you back and then up the elevator to the best room you could ever have.

Room Tip: We had room 111, was absolutely quiet and very serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Having stayed at most of the luxury hotels on the Bund and in Pudong, I was delighted to have the chance to spend a few nights at Shanghai's famous Peace Hotel. This was long anticipated as in my earlier days visiting China it was closed for quite a few years. In the most simple terms, it is a beautiful and elegant hotel with a history to match. The high ceilinged lobby is open and inviting, the public lounges are tasteful and there's some good jazz in the iconic Jazz bar. The rooms match the elegant style with a large marbled bathroom and tasteful bedroom decor. And to top this all off it has to be one of the best locations in Shanghai - on the Bund, adjacent to Nanjing Lu with views of Pudong. Check out the rooftop if it is open for some of the best views Shanghai has to offer.

However, there appear to be some shortcomings with the management and service which is disappointing when a 5 star hotel identifying it with the Fairmont brand.
1. On the first night we were told no photos allowed in the lobby. Such a beautiful lobby with guests being told that they can not take photos with the only response being that 'I do not speak English'. I do not know if this is a weird Fairmont policy because last time I was told to do this at Fairmont's NY Plaza Hotel I immediately cancelled my reservation and left. It is extremely offensive as a guest to here that and if it wasn't so late I would have walked down the road to the Waldorf-Astoria or Peninsula. After a talk with a member of management we were then allowed to take our photos.
2. House keeping barging into a room at 8am.
3. Door men avoiding opening doors with all their might.
4. Inconsistency among staff. Trying to get to the lunch rooftop barbecue which then became a dinner barbecue, which security/staff told us was not on when it was actually on. Then we had the major problem of actually getting food to come, with the chefs constantly disappearing for breaks and constantly bringing the wrong orders, etc. It was a comical experience with a great visual backdrop of Pudong and the Bund.
5. The staff at the Victor Cafe have no idea what their menu items are, especially when drinks meant to be ice cold are served with warm water I assume was from a tap.

In summary - a beautiful iconic hotel that you must visit, but the service is yet to reach a 5 star standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,155 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Property: Fairmont Peace Hotel
Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#175 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing