We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2011

OK, it is in China, so language is an issue, but not as much as you would think as most people that you meet or need speak some english. The location is great as you can walk across the street to the Bund - a large and beautiful walkway along the river. The Bund is always crowded and is a good place to run but even at 5am it is jammed full of people doing all sorts of things (tennis, kite flying, taichi, etc.). The people are generally friendly, but more aggressive than you might be used to, e.g. if you pass a fellow jogger, be prepared for them to try to pass you back.
This hotel has a dark lobby that is a bit odd, but just get to your room. I had a larger suite type of room that has an entry way, a gigantic bathroom with anything you could want or need. The hotel was exceptionally quiet. If you can get a rate with breakfast included, do it, you won't regret it. The Breakfast is on the top floor and can be tricky to get to as it has a separate elevator, but you have panoramic views of the city while eating a huge and good breakfast. I spent at least an hour there every morning.
While not cheap, given that it is in one of the largest cities in the world and a more cosmopolitan city than is usually found in China, the rates weren't bad and were cheaper than a Fairmont in any US city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,500 - 1,506 of 2,122 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

The old Peace Hotel, besides being an art deco icon, used to be the hub of the buzz in Shanghai, in years past when there was considerably less buzz in the rest of the city. It was also badly in need of refurbishment. Enters the Fairmont.

The whole hotel, from the lobby to the rooms, has been renovated in the original art deco style: this is high quality work and must have cost a fortune. Hidden under the old-looking, brand new wood and marble, it offers all the equipment and amenities one expects from a modern luxury hotel. No fault either with the service, which is professional and efficient.

It should be great; it feels hollow. The guests I saw in the lobby appeared in awe of the decor, like tourists in a museum or a mausoleum, not like inhabitants who have settled into the place. Shanghai has changed and the Peace Hotel is not where the action is anymore. With its soul gone, what remains is a magnificent empty shell.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vwhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I've been around a bit, stayed in everything from a mosquito infested buree on the beach for $5.00/night to luxury 5+ star hotels,too expensive to mention, but this one beats everything. The service, room and restaurant were excellent. The jazz bar was fun and the lobby lounge was reasonably quiet and well appointed. The staff were highly professional and friendly. The art deco decor was fun and interesting. I would live in this hotel if I could. So little time, so many places to see, so much to do...Enjoy this place. You may never find one like it.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are mostly at the back, facing the alley. If you want a view, speak up. They'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Overall this hotel is truly majestic from the magnificent foyer and dome to the styling in the rooms. The art deco decor has been restored beautifully and in great detail from it's origins in the 1930's. The hotel has a wonderful history having been built by Sir Victor Sassoon and then survived wars and being owned by the State and used for various activities including the hotel. It is worth visiting the gallery and organising a tour by the gallery staff if at all possible during your stay. While the decor is very impressive, some of the service areas could be improved slightly. Check in and out was seemless however I was attending another event in the hotel and instead of our bags being delivered to the room I was given bag tags and had to collect them later, the room was ready but I was not given an option of delivery. I was surprised when I wasn't asked how our stay was on check out - it was almost clinical. Turn down service rang the bell and then opened it immediately giving me quite a surprise. Our morning breakfast waiter in the Dragon and Phoenix restaurant had a marvellous demeanor - being friendly without overbearing and remembering our coffee orders from day to day. He is a bright star in the hotel! Breakfast included a more than adequate selection which is very smart although I was a little disappointed when the dim sum were not replaced even with 50 minutes remaining until breakfast finished. Dragon and Phoenix restaurant is not only decorated in wonderful colours and ceiling reliefs but the food is very good with amazing views of the Bund and Pudong. A couple of little hitches in the service with a wrong main course and the wine being forgotten until we reminded them. The jazz bar is definitely worth a visit and the service here was impeccable as was the service in Cin Cin. The spa is also very good and I would definitely go back as the experience is worth it! Overall impressions of the hotel are very good - Not perfect but pretty good! it is not a resort style hotel (you normally see in Asia) but I would consider an excellent business hotel, particularly for overseas visitors who have not stayed in Shanghai, as the location is amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Bund and Huang Pu river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passionflower200050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I was visiting Shanghai for 1-night Business Trip and would like to try the hotel as it looked very nice. The hotel is very nice in terms of building and facilities, but the service is very bad. The reservation failed to arrange for limousine airport pick up. They did sent email explaining why they did not receive the email (that the person was taking the day off and no one else was handling my request), without even apologizing. The concierge was not very helpful in finding restaurant and bars around the hotel. Comparing to other five-star hotel in Shanghai like The Four Seasons and The Ritz Carlton or Grand Hyatt, the service attitude of Fairmont Peace Hotel is very far behind.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Was in Shanghai to visit friends and stayed 7 nights at the Peace Hotel.... And wanted to stay 7 more! Everything about the experience was commendable; stayed in a suite which was the lap of luxury - great beds with wonderful linens, marble bathrooms, fresh cut flowers, orchids growing in the living room, and on and on! The Fairmont Gold up-grade was a definite hit; very nice breakfast in the mornings and the evening cocktail/appetizer buffet was the highlight of many a day after hours of touring...
The spa and fitness centre were beautiful, very well-appointed and they anticipated your every want and need, right down to the complimentary styling products!
All in all one the nicest hotel experience I have ever had....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This iconic hotel has been totally updated and is nothing short of breathtaking. Everything during my stay was perfect from my first arrival experience to checkout. The soaring lobby and shops are elegant and interesting, the employees were helpful, and the gorgeous restaurants were great. I highly recommend the Dragon Pheonix as an authentic Canonese restaurant. It's been restored to it's original aesthetic, right down to the original paint colours and decor with outstanding service and impeccable food. My one bedroom suite was perfectly executed, from the marble bathrooms to the expansive living areas. I now want to redecorate my house to match their style. I would highly recommend ensuring access to the Fairmont Gold Lounge as well- it's a great place to start the day with breakfast, or relax pre dinner with a cocktail. The Willow Stream Spa is also not to miss! The Fairmont Peace Hotel is a must-stay while in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janmasterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#12 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#51 of 5,160 in Shanghai
2,148 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#183 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $259 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing