We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Shanghai's most famous hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
730 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,434 helpful votes
“Staying at Shanghai's most famous hotel.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at the Peace Hotel at the beginning and end of my ten days in China: four nights when I first arrived and two before I left. Initial check-in from Pudong airport was quite professionally done; I didn’t even see the front desk but was brought directly to my room and given a brief tour of it and a description of the services and facilities available. Among these are a small museum on the history of the hotel which was quite fascinating and for this writer was worth the 7,000 mile flight from Detroit alone.

This is a new hotel and it shows: from the lobby to the rooms to the multiple restaurants. The surroundings are beautiful and I really did feel like I was encircled by old elegance. The rooms are very clean, well decorated, and quite spacious. The location (right on the Bund) is tough to beat although the nearest subway station is about a ten minute walk away.

Service was unfailingly polite, although I did run into communication difficulty with attendants from time to time (several requests for an adapter for my camera went unfulfilled). This was also a common occurrence at other hotels in the country so I was a bit used to it by the end of my trip.

Overall, I would definitely recommend a stay here. The price is decent given the city and the history of the place and this hotel has character that few others in the area (and probably the world) can match.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midway42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    294
    48
    17
    10
See reviews for
335
597
120
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Usually a hotel for me is simply a place to rest my head whilst soaking up the culture and experiences a place has to offer. This hotel WAS a cultural experience. It quite simply took my breath away. We are keen photographers and surprisingly took pictures of everything we found within the hotel: the entrance foyer, the beautiful atrium with stained glass ceiling, the top floor luxurious restaurant with stunning views over the smoggy Bund, the cocktail bar and jazz bar: we even took pictures of the room because we were delighted with the art deco splendor in every detail! I've never been so delighted with somewhere I've stayed before, and I'm fairly fussy. Aside from the beautiful decor the service was absolutely top notch, the food delicious (although not enough chinese food on offer to my mind) and the cocktails delightful. We had one of our most memorable nights of our amazing trip took place right within the hotel in it's beautifully cozy and atmospheric jazz bar listening to one of the most talented jazz bands I've ever heard - brought in from New Orleans. The band, the crowd and the staff were all so obviously having a great time it was a joy to be there. The location is perfect - right on the Bund and near to everything including shopping, "Chinatown", gardens, good restaurants etc. We also enjoyed taking night-time shots of the hotel with it's signature stunning backlit pyramid roof, as well as over the busy Bund with it's light shows and ferries tootling back and forth. We really couldn't have been happier with anything we found in this hotel. It was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarSonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed here on a recent visit to China. Excellent location as it is right on the Bund, with a great view of the Pudong skyline across the river.Beautiful lobby. The room size was excellent and the bathroom was enormous. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating to our needs including help with directions to different areas of the city as none of the cab drivers speak or understand English.Good breakfast selection at the Fairmont Gold club. As a side note would recommend a visit to Tian-zi-fang as it has a lot of small boutique shops with relatively decent prices although you would still have to bargain.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cosmopolite65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2011

took the British suite - best view in the whole city they said and I have to say it probably is - overlooks the Bund and the River - In room check in - great Concierge great Room Service great In fact everything you could want from a City 5 star hotel Can thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Fairmont Peace Hotel is an amazing example of what a hotel company can do by investing in restoration of a classic hotel. Fairmont even has a resident historian and a small museum/gallery in the hotel.

The hotel was originally built in 1929 when a Shanghai real estate magnet (Victor Sassoon) added 9 floors of an art deco hotel above his 2 story office building. He operated the hotel as the Cathay Hotel until 1950. When the communist party assumed control of China, they took over the Cathay hotel and a hotel across the street and operated the two buildings as “The Peace Hotel”. However, as the government was taking over the property, staff hid a lot of its more beautiful features by painting over some, installing false ceilings and walls. After running it as a government owned hotel for over 50 years it had deteriorated significantly. Fairmont bought the original building and closed the hotel from 2007 – 2010 for renovations. They did an amazing job, including finding and restoring the original stained glass ceiling of the lobby (see photo) above a false ceiling. The rooms are spacious and well appointed.

The location is superb as the hotel faces “The Bund” which is the original “downtown” area along the river with a host of classic buildings from the early 1900’s, which include the Shanghai financial district and stock exchange. The city recently completed a project that “sunk” most of the traffic into tunnels under the Bund leaving only 4 lanes for local traffic and a very wide pedestrian walkway/park along the river bank.

Room Tip: The interior rooms overlook a small courtyard but it is hard to determine the weather by looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebigmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was the most fabled hotel in Shanghai but it was in disrepair before the recent renovation. The renovation surpassed my expectation and brought back the grandeur of the old Shanghai. It now has all the modern conveniences of a 5 star hotel with well appointed rooms and huge suits. The location is superb and the panoramic view of the river and Pudong is probably the best in the city. The rich history, the beautiful decor and the classy ambiance (daily string quartet in the lobby and jazz bar) make the stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jscdjjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel Gandolfo, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

A short walk from Bond, this hotel has proved a real surprise. A large elegant hall introduced us to the lobby where staff polite and very kind (especially Cherry Zhou, Guest Relations Officer) helped us in the check-in. The room was wonderful and well exposed. Clean, elegant, with a king size bed and pillows very comfortable and with a real Italian espresso machine. The bathroom, worthy of a great hotel which is Peace.
With a surcharge we were able to attend the "Gold Lounge." This is a discreet and elegant lounge where the staff is very efficient and very stylish catering. I recommend this hotel for those who want to stay with comfort and elegance in one of the most beautiful districts of Shanghai.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,154 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Property: Fairmont Peace Hotel
Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#175 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing