We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Pudong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #39 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hyatt is a really nice property. The hotel start at about the 50th floor so the views are very good and the ambience is very nice. The rooms are well appointed with all the amenities. The restaurant options are good and the service from the staff is top notch. If you are travelling through on business, I recommend this property.

Room Tip: You have to travel up to get to the lobby and then from the lobby you change elevator banks to acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Travellingglobal,

Many thanks for making Grand Hyatt Shanghai your hotel of choice on your visit to Shanghai and thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to learn that you were satisfied with our service, the newly styled guest room and the restaurant options. It is always gratifying us to receive such recognition and encouraging words from our valued guests, and I have no doubt your comments will further motivate us to exceed guests’ expectations.
Taking this opportunity, we would like to thank you for your support of Grand Hyatt Shanghai, and earnestly look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future should travel plans return you to Shanghai.

With best regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 2,498 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Excellent location in the financial area and 3 Blocks from the famous TV Tower (Oriental Pearl), the Bund, shoppings and restaurants. Excellent service, very nice rooms and great breakfast! 5 star hotel and its worth the cost! Plus its located in the highest Shanghai building at the moment. WOOOW!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MARYCHEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear MARYCHEEN,

I was delighted to read your positive comments about your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Shanghai. Many thanks for making us your hotel of choice on your visit to Shanghai.

The pleasure was indeed all ours to have the opportunity to serve you. Your compliments for our hotel service, facilities and the location with easy access to points of interest in Shanghai have been duly noted and relayed accordingly. I have no doubt your compliments will again, go a long way, towards motivating our team to continuously maintain and exceed our guest expectations.

Thank you for your support of Grand Hyatt Shanghai, and earnestly look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future should travel plans return you to Shanghai.

With best regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

High quality decor and design. Staff friendly and efficient. Food options after 2130 hrs are somewhat limited. Great bar on the 87th floor but it can be a little devoid of atmosphere early in the week.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank Tommy2ties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Tommy2ties,

Many thanks for making Grand Hyatt Shanghai your hotel of choice on your visit to Shanghai and thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to learn that you were satisfied with the services and facilities extended during your recent visit. I have shared your encouraging words with my colleagues. On the other hand, your comments on the limited food option as well as the atmosphere in Cloud 9 have been duly noted and I have shared with respective managers and will be taking action to ensure recurrences are followed through correctly.

We thank you once again for taking the time to share your experiences and thoughts with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not distant future.

With best regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Why must one chose Grand Hyatt Shanghai? To admire the stunning views of the Bund and PuDong, to see its breathtaking atrium (29 floors), to enjoy the perfect location in the heart of the business district LuJiaZui and close to all important places on the Puxi side, to enjoy Shanghai's best shopping malls (IFC and Super Brand Mall), which are within 5 minutes walking distance, to discover more than 50 different restaurants (within 10min walk) from casual to fancy, from local Shanghainese to authentic Italian Food, to unwind in its quality facilities, to rest in its comfortable beds and to stay in this most famous skyscraper in China - Jin Mao Tower. But what makes this hotel unique to me are its people - warm, humble, helpful, proactive and smiley - despite being far away from home, Grand Hyatt Shanghai is a place where everyone feels at home immediately.

Room Tip: Book a Club Deluxe Room with River View for the stay of your life
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FollowMSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear MrGlobetrotter65,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences following your recent stay with us at the Grand Hyatt Shanghai.

I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding the stunning views of the Bund from Grand Hyatt Shanghai, hotel facilities, the location with an easy access to points of interest in the city and especially the service provided to you by our associates.

We talk about caring for the human spirit in each of us as our purpose as a company – it is why we exist. The pleasure was all ours to be able to serve you and, indeed, your compliments will further motivate the Grand Hyatt Shanghai team in our dedication towards providing authentic hospitality driven by human care.

We thank you for your thoughtfulness in taking the time to write and hope we shall again have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future.

With best regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I first visited this hotel in 2005 and at that time it was the highest building on the Bund with 87 floors. The Hyatt hotel starts on the 53rd floor and there is a choice of restaurants bars and cafe on floor 54. Unfortunately the Hyatt is now dwarfed by other buildings with fancy names such as the aptly named Corkscrew but the views are still spectacular and what better place to have High Teas than in a bar virtually in the clouds.
Getting up there is amazing, the lift feels like it takes less than a minute but there is no evidence of G Force. The staff are fantastic, seating very comfortable and the fare totally acceptable and reasonably priced. Just do it for the view.

Room Tip: Take the Metro to Super Brands Mall and amble over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Gerad B,

Many thanks for taking the time to share positive feedbacks about Grand Hyatt Shanghai. Your support of our hotel is very much appreciated and I was most pleased to learn that you were satisfied with our customer service and facilities. I was also delighted to read that you enjoyed the stunning views of the Shanghai skyline from the bar Cloud 9 at Floor 87. I have shared your thoughtful words with my teams respectively.

Thank you again for your feedback and loyalty to Grand Hyatt Shanghai. We look forward to continuously serving you whenever your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

With best regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Beautiful hotel, great service and amazing views. Recommend it to all the people who come visit and are not too worried about budgeting.
Also, the view from the bar compares to the view on the observation deck, so I would recommend to everyone to rather have one of the amazing cocktails at the bar and admire the view, rather than pay to get into observation deck:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ShanghaiRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear ShanghaiRosa,

Warm greetings from Grand Hyatt Shanghai and thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your comments.

I am very pleased to read your positive and encouraging comments particularly for our overall service as well as Cloud 9 with stunning views of Shanghai skyline . I have no doubt your compliments will go a long way towards motivating our employees to continuously maintain and exceed our guests' expectations.

We thank you once again for your time and effort to share your thoughts and experiences on the Trip Advisor, and I remain with my best wishes and regards.

Yours sincerely,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a very impressive hotel right in the middle of Pudong. It used to be the highest tower in Shanghai and the tallest hotel in the world. Athough it still has a great history there are taller structures to see in the area. this hotel has remarkable service, wonderful decor, very clean and comfortable rooms, great restaurants and a fantastic spa. it is well worth the money and to top it all off it has a fantastic location access to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Livetotravel002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Livetotravel002,

Many thanks for making Grand Hyatt Shanghai your hotel of choice on your visit to Shanghai and thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

Your most encouraging words on the newly renovated guest room and our overall hotel service and facilities are most appreciated. I have shared your thoughtful words with my teams accordingly.

We have as our mission to make a difference in people’s lives, so your words bring this to life. I have no doubt your compliments will further motivate the whole team in our dedication towards providing authentic hospitality to each of our valued guests.

We thank you again for taking the time and effort to share your thoughts and experiences with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future.

With best regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#53 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,196 reviews
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#35 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,217 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Shanghai

Address: Jin Mao Tower, No.88 Century Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200121, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#11 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#176 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $165 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowning the prestigious 88-storey Jin Mao Tower, the hotel begins on the 53rd floor and rises to the 87th floor. The 555-room Grand Hyatt Shanghai is located in the centre of Lujiazui, Pudong’s business and financial area. As Hyatt International’s flagship property in China, Grand Hyatt Shanghai caters to the international business traveller by offering a style of service and range of facilities that are second to none.Jin Mao Tower was developed by China Jin Mao Group Co. Ltd, and designed by world-renowned architects, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill of Chicago, and soars to a height of 420.5 metres (1,380 feet). The most dramatic architectural feature of the tower is a 33-storey atrium inside Grand Hyatt Shanghai, starting on the 56th floor. The interior design of the hotel is by Bilkey Llinas Consulting of Palm Beach, Florida.Featuring contemporary art deco touches combined with traditional Chinese imagery, the guestrooms are spacious and all have stunning views of Shanghai. All guestrooms have complimentary broadband and wireless Internet access, CAT 5 high-speed modem computer dataports, two-line telephones and a voicemail message system. The oversized bathrooms are appointed with separate baths and showers, feature high-tech shower-towers with three shower heads and have heated mirrors in the shower cubicle (convenient for shaving while you shower), clear glass sinks and double-sided wardrobes. The hotel has seventeen Grand Suites, seventeen Grand Riverview Suites, eight Diplomat Suites, two Presidential Suites and one Chairman Suite. Exclusive Grand Club accommodation is provided at the top of the hotel, ideal for business travellers seeking an even higher level of personalised service. An all-day concierge is provided to guests that can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, evening cocktails served with deluxe hors d’oeurves and coffee and tea in the comfort of the private two-storey Bund View Grand Club Lounge. An executive boardroom is available for Grand Club guests.Located on lobby level 54, Grand Hyatt Shanghai’s Business Centre provides a full range of office equipment and confidential secretarial services, such as translation, printing and parcel wrapping. Business cards can also be printed and delivered. The Business Centre also offers private work areas for rental on an hourly or daily basis and a conference room seating up to ten people. To allow for differences in international time zones, the Business Centre is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week.To wind down after a day of hectic business dealings, the business traveller can appreciate Grand Hyatt’s fitness and recreational facilities that are located on level 57, namely Club Oasis. In addition to comprehensive health club facilities and spa treatments, guests can enjoy swimming in the sky pool while enjoying the breathtaking panorama of the Shanghai skyline.Grand Hyatt Shanghai offers the business traveller an extensive selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy and entertain in. Facilities include Canton restaurant, ON56 (a collection of eateries on level 56 featuring Kobachi Japanese restaurant; Cucina, an Italian restaurant serving brick-oven pizzas; The Grill, offering the freshest seafood and succulent prime-grade meats; Patio, a lounge at the base of the 33-storey atrium; and Wine Bar, offering the most extensive wine selection in town). Grand Hyatt Shanghai is also home to the Sky Lounge Cloud9, a favourite for night owls on the 87th floor; Piano Bar located on level 53 of the Jin Mao Tower, offering breathtaking views of the city; Grand Café, a 24-hour restaurant with buffets; Food Live, a food court with five Asian and Western counters and a casual Chinese restaurant; and Club Jin Mao located on the 86th floor. Club Jin Mao is Shanghai’s most prestigious Shanghainese restaurant and offers the finest facilities for entertaining and relaxation. It's exquisite and authentic cuisine and highly personalised services are available to the public. The hotel’s extensive event and conference facilities include the Grand Ballroom for 1,200 people, the Crystal Ballroom for 750 people and thirteen separate meeting rooms. State-of-the-art multimedia and video conferencing are also available.Located in the prosperous Pudong business district, Grand Hyatt Shanghai is just ten minutes from The Bund, the city’s famous waterfront showcasing turn-of-the-century architectural masterpieces and the Yu Yuan Garden. Shanghai Hong Qiao International Airport is a 30-minute drive and Grand Hyatt Shanghai is the closest five-star hotel from Pudong International Airport, approximately 45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Shanghai
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing