We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good week stay at Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #46 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good week stay at Central”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were in Shanghai for a holiday and we stayed at Central Hotel which was selected based on its on-going reviews in TripAdvisor. Checking in was easy and the receptionist on duty spoke reasonable good English. Our room was on the 14th floor with a view. I should commend the hotel for a very clean room with hardly any dust. The bed sheets and pillow casings are superb. The toilet was sparkling. The hotel's location is just one street behind Nanjing East Street. The Metro line 2 which can connect you to the Pudong Airport is also nearby within walking distance. Things that can be improved further is the 1).free wifi where the connection is less desirable, 2). there is no teaspoons in the room 3). there is a long plastic coffee stirrer packed together with another shorter sharp ended stirrer which is dangerous and can cause injury when you tear the packing 4) concierge service staff's knowledge of local attractions need to be improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    373
    58
    17
    8
See reviews for
111
211
49
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

wonderful experience! good staff and everything, not very new but you can feel the old shanghai luxury there

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathinda, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for two days in this hotel as a couple in June 2014.

We reached at 1:30 AM in the night due to a delayed flight. Even at that hour, check in was very quick and efficient. The person at the front desk who checked us in was extremely courteous.

Our room was on the 21st floor, so we heard no noises from the street. The room was a bit "tight" but comfortable enough. The bathroom was also smallish but clean and had all the fixture. There were two LCD televisions in the room but very few international or English language channels. Wi fi is free and signal strength and speed in the room was OK. An iron, ironing board, in room safe and mini bar were there. The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean and housekeeping is unobtrusive.

Breakfast was not included in our tariff and we considered the buffet too expensive. There are many options around the hotel teeming with inexpensive food, mostly Chinese. The signs and labels on all food are entirely in Chinese. Vegetarians may have a problem in finding appropriate food as elsewhere in China. We ate mostly fruits, breads, buns and cakes!

Nanjing Road is a stone's throw from the hotel. So are two subway stations. A tourist information office is close enough and they are very helpful and informative.

The entire staff of the hotel is extremely courteous. They spoke enough English for our purpose.

If you are traveling to Shanghai as a tourist, this hotel is hard to beat.

Shall certainly come again, God willing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naughtybrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you very much for Check Inn Hotel and share all your feelings. We will create a better service, welcome to you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were on a package tour and this was the designated hotel. It has lovely decor with lots of marble and chandeliers. Check-in was OK (albeit a bit "regimented"). There is a currency exchange machine at reception which is just great. Rooms are really spacious and extremely well-kept with gorgeous toiletries. House-keeping was efficient and unobtrusive. Most times, there is a bell-boy to open the lifts which is nice. Breakfast was included which was a vast array of dishes, (many Asian).
We had the buffet for dinner and this was mostly Asian food (eel, turtle jelly), but if that isn't your taste, they also have an a la carte menu...we can recommend the beef goulash.
This hotel is across the road from Nanjing Pedestrian Street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muriwaidonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great review of our Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room facilities, location as well as the service. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Good place located in heart of city at a stone throw away from Nanjing Street and also the famous Bund area is not very far

Hotel is having a good lobby and also services are good but I missed swimming pool which is a must for such hotels

Vegetarian food is always a problem but fruits served were good

Was there for 3 nites for a business exhibition so dont know family or friends leisure experience

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The Central Hotel is extremely well located in the heart of Shanghai. We were minutes away from Nanjing road and the Bund. Not too far from the old Shanghai either. Well worth the money we spent. Only downside is that the service is not great. The concierge barely spoke English making it difficult to rely on them to book transportation and restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank Deemen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at our Hotel and taking the time to share your feedback. We understand your disappointment and we sincerely apologize for our service. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we will take action to improve our service. We hope we will be given an opportunity to change your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed 2 nights here in May 2014, very close to Nanjing road, about halfway along from the Bund. Our room was a bit crowded furniture wise, probably because of the strange shape of the room, dictated by the outside shape, but room comfortable none the less. Terrible currency exchange rate compared to the banks and a very rude woman behind the counter, needs a course in anger management.

Room Tip: As the hotel was a sort of threepenny bit shape, go for a room not on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Hotel. We will bring your valuable feedback to the concerned department head immediately and please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you. We sincerely hope you’ll have a different experience in your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#44 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,002 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#62 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#41 of 5,069 in Shanghai
772 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.555 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing