We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice rooms and decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location, nice rooms and decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Rooms were spacious, modern and stylish. They were clean and in good condition. Excellent house keeping. The same applies to all communal areas that I saw of the hotel.

Restaurant - we only ate the buffet breakfast, but the food was "ok" at best. I've seen some other reviews raving about the breakfast but I didn't think the western cooked breakfast was very good, I'm not a huge fan of having Chinese food for breakfast and the cold continental breakfast was fine just not to my taste. Perhaps they could have had a wider selection of bread and fresh fruit etc?

Staff were all very friendly and helpful, however their English was basic, even the receptionists and concierges. This might be a slightly harsh comment considering I can't speak any Chinese and they knew enough to get by with simple "hotel" type questions.

Location is great. Very central to the main regions of Shanghai. You'll still probably have to get a taxi to most things when exploring the city, unless you really love walking!

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander_1984_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and for your wonderful comments on our hotel location, rooms, facilities, breakfast, as well as services. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    357
    55
    16
    6
See reviews for
97
203
46
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Service: greeting at the front door, elevator service on the first floor, temporary luggage storage after check-out, getting a taxi to airport for customers, all questions answered. I consider this as excellent in China (though some staffs lacking smiles and how they spoke sound rude, but these are what you are getting in China anyway)

Cleanliness: May be we were just too lucky to have a spotless room; really couldn't ask for more.

Room: It looked like it was recently renovated. Modern and nicely furnished. Free bottled water provided everyday. The biggest downside was the Wifi, which was extremely weak and slow.

Location: right in the heart of Shanghai. 10 minutes walk to The Bund (or shore). 1 minute walk to Nanjing Road shopping street. Less then 10 minutes walk to the subway station. Lots of restaurants around the hotel area.

Some tips: taking a taxi from/to the HongQiao Airport only costs us about 70rmb for non-rush hour when someone tried to sell us a "hotel car" that costs 200rmb at the airport. Request a non-smoking room. Ask for a higher floor (we were on 13th floor) if you hate noise.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room. Ask for a higher floor (we were on 13th floor) if you hate noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GQKAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review of our hotel location, rooms, as well as our services. We also appreciate your comment about the WiFi problem in the room. We will investigate it with the relevant department for improvement immediately. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute and was very impressed with the central location. It is a street away from people's square and east nanjing road (popluar tourist street, shops etc) and walking distance to the bund and the river. Despite the location, it was still quiet to sleep. Staff were all very helpful. The room was spacious and clean. You can use the next door (sister) hotel's pool, sauna and steam room for free which was great. I would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 6Emms6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the Central Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted that the hotel met with your expectations. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is centrally located near the mall and a short walk from the Bund area. It is clean and tidy and the rooms are a good size. We were given a room overlooking the mall however the hotel doesn't have double glazed glass and the mall is very busy and night and is quite noisy. We asked for a quieter room and was given one on the other side of the building, which was much quieter and to our liking. The breakfast was great and the food reasonbly priced, their are plenty of restaurants in the surronding area.

Room Tip: Ask for room on opposite side of building to the Mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noddy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the Central Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted that the hotel met with your expectations. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel has a great location, better than we thought when we booked it. It takes you less than 1 min to get to Nanjing Road and it's very close to the subway.
The rooms are very large, very modern and fully equipped with everything you might need.The breakfast was also good, especially if you enjoy chinese food in the morning. They served very good Dim Sum and I also liked the soups they were serving (including miso soup).
All in all, a great stay, I would come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the Central Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted that the hotel met with your expectations. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel's location is superb, with Nanjing Road essentially outside and People's Square a short stroll away.

The rooms are very comfortable and nicely furnished (although a bit too plush and opulent for my liking). Street noise was an issue, although this died away after midnight.

What holds this place back is the service. I found it to be cold, curt and generally disinterested. The staff at check-in and concierge were more focussed on their efficiency than on me. There was little if any eye-contact and not a lot of patience for simple questions. The greeting I received at breakfast was a curt "ROOM NUMBER?!" The young concierge staff outside lacked confidence and seemed intimidated by the simple task of hailing down a taxi.

This standard of service held back what should be a decent hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_chch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Thank you, too, for your compliments about our hotel location and room facilities. We also appreciate your comment about the service problem. We will investigate it with the relevant department for improvement immediately. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

You don’t take holidays every week, so it’s important to get a good hotel when you do. The Central Hotel is excellent for a stay in Shanghai on so many levels.
First up, location: The hotel is only minutes away from that wonderful heritage promenade, The Bund and right next to the Peoples Square and Nanjing Road, both of which are a must to visit. There really is nothing worse than being located in a hotel in the middle of nowhere. Sure you get the hang of taxis eventually, but it all takes time you don’t have.
The rooms are terrific here too. They are ultra well soundproofed, the air-con is wonderful, the bed was King sized and with a mattress to die for (ooh la la). The bathroom was well supplied and did everything I demanded of it, and more. Service was very good too and the front desk was both helpful and very efficient.
Breakfast is always a good test of a good hotel. My test is always checking how much I have eaten. Did I make a pig of myself. Indeed I did! The buffet was terrific and very well supplied with both western and Chinese food. My partner shakes her head sadly as I head off for another plateful of some new delicacy. I would then waddle, looking rather like a balloon on legs, back to the room to recover. The hotel has an excellent restaurant which did, however, seem a little pricey but the quality was superb.
Yes I did enjoy my stay at the Central Hotel, Shanghai. Sure the hotel isn’t budget but it won’t break the bank either. It was worth every yuan! Will I go there again? Absolutely 100% I will!

Room Tip: Ask for a King bed! You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review which makes us very proud of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#32 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#58 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#43 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#34 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.555 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing