We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good Hotel is the foundation of a good holiday, and this is a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #47 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good Hotel is the foundation of a good holiday, and this is a good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

You don’t take holidays every week, so it’s important to get a good hotel when you do. The Central Hotel is excellent for a stay in Shanghai on so many levels.
First up, location: The hotel is only minutes away from that wonderful heritage promenade, The Bund and right next to the Peoples Square and Nanjing Road, both of which are a must to visit. There really is nothing worse than being located in a hotel in the middle of nowhere. Sure you get the hang of taxis eventually, but it all takes time you don’t have.
The rooms are terrific here too. They are ultra well soundproofed, the air-con is wonderful, the bed was King sized and with a mattress to die for (ooh la la). The bathroom was well supplied and did everything I demanded of it, and more. Service was very good too and the front desk was both helpful and very efficient.
Breakfast is always a good test of a good hotel. My test is always checking how much I have eaten. Did I make a pig of myself. Indeed I did! The buffet was terrific and very well supplied with both western and Chinese food. My partner shakes her head sadly as I head off for another plateful of some new delicacy. I would then waddle, looking rather like a balloon on legs, back to the room to recover. The hotel has an excellent restaurant which did, however, seem a little pricey but the quality was superb.
Yes I did enjoy my stay at the Central Hotel, Shanghai. Sure the hotel isn’t budget but it won’t break the bank either. It was worth every yuan! Will I go there again? Absolutely 100% I will!

Room Tip: Ask for a King bed! You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review which makes us very proud of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    361
    56
    17
    8
See reviews for
103
204
46
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Central Hotel has everything you need for a city break in Shanghai. The location is superb with many shops, restaurants and attractions you can walk to. The room was spacious, well equipped and very clean and comfortable. As for the service, from the customer service team answering my mails before the visit, to the concierge team to the staff at the restaurants, it was absolutely impeccable. I could not recommend this hotel enough. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCMKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Central Hotel Shanghai. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A lovely room, that was practically a suite! Very large, with good view over the city and a glimpse of the river.
We only used the restaurant once: not quite our cup of tea with mainly traditional Chinese dishes (fair enough), but appeared to be well liked by the locals.
An excellent piano bar on the ground floor, with a very good pianist most afternoons.
Yes, we'd definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the Central Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted that the hotel met with your expectations. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel's location was a big plus factor..Everything was close starting from transportation, shopping, sight-seeing and dining. A busy place there is! The hotel management maintains its cleanliness and the room we stayed was just perfect, just forgot to bring my own coffee..Overall ,our stay in the hotel was another great experience..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badalam_827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Central Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to share your experience with all of the team and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkenberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
159 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Central is well located close to Nanjing Road and the shopping district. The room is very tastefully decorated. The room I stayed in was a mini suite and the bathroom had a separate shower as well as a bath with shower over as well. Overall the room was not very large but the layout very functional. The breakfast choices are excellent. Please ask for non-smoking floor if you don't want to smell cigarette smoke, and also in dining area ask for non-smoking seating. Overall a very pleasant stay that I could would recommend.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at least 10 floors above ground level because of the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cenneth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Central Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to share your experience with all of the team and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
414 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

In a tour group, obviously given rooms at the back. It was clean but had a large stain on the carpet as we walked in. The bedroom was very comfortable, it had a TV but no English channels except TV Asia and ESPN.
There was no coffee, creamer or teaspoons and no amount of requests led to a resolution. We stayed for two nights. 7 rooms taken and all of us ordering from the room service between 10.30pm and 11pm led to a delay of between 40 to 130 minutes. The complaints were met with nonchalence and inaction. I had no response to the written complaint handed to the concierge.
When the kettle wouldn't work on the second night, the receptionist response was 'well you can't expect everything in the room to work". We had to insist that they dealt with this.
The breakfast was excellent but marred by the staff who walked around as if they hated the place, this was our 5th hotel and the first one that had poor service. Such a shame.
So despite the location, I am sure you could find a better hotel where the staff care about the visitor. The toilet paper was substandard, I suggested to them that they look at the Renaissance, Mercure and Sheraton hotels to find out how they manage to get a good quality paper.

Room Tip: Find another hotel with friendlier staff and better facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for choosing the Central Hotel Shanghai. We’re very sorry about the problems that you encountered in our hotel. The problems you mentioned with TV channels, free coffee, room service, staff services have been addressed accordingly. If you have more questions about our hotel, please contact us directly at sherryshi@centralhotelshanghai.com. We hope these experiences do not deter you from visiting us again. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to showing you the improvement that we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located to Nanjing Road and the shopping district. The rooms are very tastefully decorated. I stayed in Rm 1310 and the bathroom had a separate shower as well as a bath with shower over as well. Rooms not very large but well laid out. Only criticism is that no coffee or milk provided in room, only black tea, jasmine green tea, & sugar but only two of each. Charge for coffee if provided. The breakfast choices are excellent. Please ask for non-smoking floor if you don't want to smell cigarette smoke, and also in dining area ask for non-smoking seating.
The staff in Lobby Bar are little forgetful and will leave you waiting for quite a long time if you don't signal that you are ready to order, and their understanding of English is limited. The doorman is very polite and greets you going in and out. Like all Asian hotels the beds are firm. Overall a very pleasant stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: State smoking or non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KInAsiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Central Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted with your high esteem of our hotel location, room and breakfast. We have noted your comments on the issues of the free coffee in the room and the staff’s ability of speaking English in Lobby Bar, and we’ll bring these comments to the related department head immediately. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and showing you the improvement that we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#34 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#31 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.555 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing