We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Makes a Difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Ranked #43 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality Makes a Difference”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel contributed to making this first time visit to Shanghai memorable. Front desk and bell staff were exceptionally welcoming. Ignore negative inputs from grumpy folks like Snooz1. We were always seated immediately at The Tables restaurant for breakfast regardless of time. Spend four nights in mid-April and could not have been more pleased. My virtually new room on a mid-level floor was very quiet. Lots of attention to good service. Best of all, cost of room was modest by Ritz metrics. Centrally located. Easy to travel around the city inexpensively by taxi or subway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    514
    184
    56
    38
See reviews for
163
223
88
752
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Nice hotel on Najing West Rd near all of the international shopping. The hotel sits within the Shanghai Centre complex which means that there are some dining options close along with ATMs, shopping, etc. The fitness center was extensive and well maintained. The breakfast was standard for western hotels in Shanghai and generally very busy if you sot there after 8am. The rooms were a little small and needed some updating. The carpet in my room was stained and needed replaced. Taxis were difficult to get in the morning and the queue was long after 8am. The staff seemed to bend to loud complainers and put them on taxis before the queue position, which was not popular with the folks waiting their turn. All in all, its nice, but not quite up to the Ritz standards that I am used to, particularly when compared to the Ritz in Pudong. To be fair, the rates at the Portman are lower.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereaminow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek F, Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had while staying in our hotel.

We are taking all our guests feedback very seriously and will work with all of our Ladies & Gentlemen to improve our guests' experiences. Please allow us to reach out to you to discuss on how we can recreate another memorable experience and to welcome you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
All the Ladies & Gentlemen of The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

at my current trip in Shanghai i stayed in the Portman twice and was both times under impressed almost nobody inside the hotel knows the real Ritz service i haven't felt at home the way you should at the Ritz maybe its the Ritz with Chinese characteristics
also the wait at the breakfast was quite long to get a seat if you came at the wrong time quality of their coffee if you don't ask for specific for fresh coffee is quite bad they should use some of the better coffees now available in Shanghai like Willamsburg coffee roasters from Shanghai or Sumarion coffee also from Shanghai room was nice i was upgraded to a JR Suite on my second stay after complaining about my first room on first visit

also there is construction on a new front entrance instead of doubling up on welcome staff outside they reduced it to maybe 2 people who don't even move when you arrive with bags the first time i was asked if i need help with my bags was when i was 5 feet from the check in counter and mind you it was raining lest week in shanghai

i am a Marriott silver member also an SPG gold member so i know quite a bit about hotels

Room Tip: get to breakfast early or late if you dont want to wait
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snooz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek F, Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincereky apologise for the unpleasant experience you had in our hotel.

We are looking into all your feedback in detail and will work with all our Ladies & Gentlemen and the departments concerned to ensure such experience will never happen again.

Please allow our quality team to reach out to you to discuss personally on how we can improve your next stay with us.

Once again Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai.

Sincerely,

The Ladies & Gentlemen of The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very nice hotel, close to shopping area and also walking distance to JingAn temple. This is also the close subway station with direct connection to pudong airport in east direction or to railway station in west direction
The hotel offer great breakfast buffet, restaurants nice bar. There are also many restaurants close to hotel e.g. Lynn

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunlun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We went on a Viking River Cruise to China and this was the hotel that our group stayed at in Shanghai at the beginning of the trip. There were two nights with Viking but we flew in a day early and paid for one extra night to adjust to the time difference. We enjoyed our stay and the hotel is well located with lots of shopping in the area. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and welcoming. We ate at a casual Italian Restaurant right in front of the hotel that was quite good. They had great pizza actually. The hotel lobby was under construction but did not affect the inside lobby. The room was comfortable and well-appointed. The breakfast buffet at "Tables" was just okay. We also ate dinner there one night and it was somewhat disappointing. We stayed at the Ritz in Singapore last year and it was much nicer, but as part of the Viking trip it was a nice choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good hotel with lovely rooms, although unexpected service fee for cleaning of rooms I mustn't have read about. Despite the fee it was a really lovely cleaning service and personalised touches with large bottles of extra water delivered and a personalised note left for us. Great gym and great service for the gym and water/towels etc. The hotel itself is next to a construction site or something but the noise doesn't carry up to the rooms. I wouldn't stay here again though as there wasn't anything exceptional about the hotel or restaurants. However it is convenient to get to shopping although quite a walk from the Bund and other major tourist spots.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xdaisyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business for the second time and found it excellent. Restaurants good and particularly the selection in the complex itself. Rooms also well appointed with good views. Gym is excellent. Service is patchy though - typical in China in my experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BalancedCritic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#21 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,117 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#51 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,151 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Property: The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#160 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing