We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little dated and old fashion, but still great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Ranked #48 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“a little dated and old fashion, but still great”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed there for business for the first time due to the last minutes change of hotel and a friend of my can get me a really decent rate. I am able to get and to find a decent hotel in a very good location. I was already very grateful that I can get a room in the hotel and the checkin process was extremely smooth/professional. You can tell the hotel is one of the oldest hotel judging from the interior, however everything is maintained pretty well.
The hotel is in the best location in Shanghai where you can easily get to anywhere without a headache. Everyone knows the traffic in Shanghai is horrible so this is definitely a plus. I also had a problem with my bathtub however the maintenance came like in a min and fixed the problem. Room service is also fast.
The biggest thing about this hotel is that we all know that they cannot compete with all the newbies, the Park, the Puli, or the new Andaz, but it maintains a 5 star hotel service with the location and price that you cannot beat. it is a bargain!

Room Tip: Don't forget the best Chinese restaurant Ding Tai Fung is right down stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    507
    182
    56
    38
See reviews for
154
218
82
734
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Overall nice Array of Food. NICE setup and Display. Value for Money.
Service Qualität very poor. The ladies Only Served me, they always ignored my wife! Service very unpolite, by entrance the lady not even welcomed us. It seems just doing business without heart and passion. Unfortunately that's china, many places like this.


Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RMchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I have stayed here many times and will be returning soon. I totally agree with other views on Trip it has become 'Ritz Carlton Light' as it is not up with the rest of the stable and subsequently cannot charge premium rates. Nonetheless, the service is still the best in Shanghai.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gartartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

we have upgrade the room which provide up to 6 meals a day in the hotel business floor. food quality is very good. and room is quite relaxing. I went there with my family and it's a place to recommend staying .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asacheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just great value and great location. 1000 renminbi for a night in a hotel of this quality is a no-brainier, especially when the service at their competitors like the JW Marr is soon poor. Great quality rooms and a decent night's sleep!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for our business trip in novembre 2013. This hotel has a perfect location just in the middle of Nanjing Road which is a very colorful road, full of with shopping malls, restaurants and other city attractions. The hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable. After a long working day, a very relaxing bad and a bathroom with tube was what i was looking for. The breakfast was not very satisfactory not because it has a small range of food but because it was crowded and the taste of food was not so good. Anyway there is always something that you can find to eat. In general i enjoyed my stay so did my friends in this hotel..

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SenaAycilTaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a very nice hotel close to all of the high-end stores i.e. Prada, etc. The rooms are roomy and clean.

The views from the room windows are very nice.

Bathroom has both a tub and a shower stall.

Restaurants are pricey in the hotel but just down the street are where local folks eat.

Service is excellent and superb.

Buffet breakfast is excellent - you name it and it is there.

The report about lag of reservations, etc is correct as there was a lag of when changes were made and when the hotel engaged but they did take care of it at the desk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#24 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,087 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#52 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,135 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,446 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Property: The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#157 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing