We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip in November and I can't think of anything to recommend this hotel other than it's central location. My stay was one problem after another and ended up with me changing rooms twice with an upgrade to the Kajima Suite in the end but would never return.

1. Rooms: The PRC is one of the oldest 5 star hotels in SH but was renovated a few years ago but the original room I was given was tired to say the least. The headboard above the bed was scratched, the carpet was stained and the paint peeling above the shower (see photo). Even my last room (the Kajima Suite) had a door frame that was falling apart. Not exactly what you expect from a 5 star.

2. Service: The F&B service was among the worst that I have encountered in any 5 star in China and I have been travelling here for over a decade. Staff were non-existent in the Tables restaurant at breakfast. After moving to the Kajima suite I decided to try breakfast at the Executive Lounge. I was given a cold cup of tea and since there was no chef at the pancake station I was told my pancake would be delivered to my table. 10 minutes later I had nothing despite the chef making pancakes for others and had been sitting there with an empty plate in front of the member of staff who told me she would get my pancakes for me.

3. Food: The breakfast buffet at Tables without doubt the worst 5 star breakfast buffet I have eaten in China. At the Executive Lounge, the selection of food was really poor. The hot offering consisted of spring rolls. Seriously? The food was just bad. I don't know what else to say other than perhaps the PRC should find themselves a decent chef.

4. Internet: The Internet speed is slow, even for China. I can usually FaceTime with my partner from China but this was impossible in my first room and difficult even from the suites.

While I appreciated the room upgrades, I would much rather have stayed in my original room and did not receive a note or any other form of apology. At the Fraser Residence where I have stayed previously (and is not a 5* hotel) I got a gift basket and letter of apology from the manager for issues with housekeeping and a much lesser inconvenience than having to move rooms twice.

Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else. The Jing-An Shangri-La is around the corner with better rooms and food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samueloShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Portman Ritz Carlton is a perfect base for a weekend getaway in Shanghai. Ideally located on Nanjing West Road, it is on one of the two subway lines that is directly linked to Hongqiao airport. Nanjing West Road and Jing'an Temple stops are both of equal distance. I was here on business with my office located in the Shanghai Centre which is directly next door, but venturing to other places including the Bund was very easy.

The rooms were extremely comfortable with an excellent bathroom. I had a deluxe room with a king size bed and a great view over to the exhibition centre. The bathroom included enough products to keep you going for a whole week and the surround system which extended into the bathroom was a nice touch.

The only element of my stay which was a tad disappointing was the strength of the wifi, however it was adequate and compared to many other hotels in Shanghai, the Ritz Carlton doesn't charge an additional fee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Spent the weekend between business meetings here. Great hotel, nice location, and great staff. Had a great view of Shanghai, old and new, from my room. in the main shopping area and close the metro. Also close to newly renovated Jiang'An Temple.
The breakfast buffet we tried was average at best and it was not always easy to get the attention of the table staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeeG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The location of the Portman Ritz Carlton is great, right in the centre of probably the best part of town.

It is 5 minutes walk from Jiang’An metro station (line 2, which goes to the airports – take Exit 3 and then turn left, going eastwards on Nanjing Road to the hotel); there are quite a few glitzy high end shopping malls nearby (including the brand new and very upmarket Kerry centre), the Nanjing CBD, plus the delightful French Concession area a 15-20 minute walk away.

You can also reach the People’s Park in around 20 minutes walk time and the Bund in about 50 minutes (depending on number of people). Much of Shanghai and certainly all the key tourist attractions are readily accessible on the Metro (around RMB3 - or c. US 50 cents – per journey); generally it is no more than three or four stops. Taxis are also very cheap.

Also great at the hotel is the front, forecourt area, which has a Starbucks, HSBC ATM, a very good supermarket, and several excellent chain restaurants, including the Chinese franchise of Pizza Express (which has excellent salads), Element Fresh and a good bakery/sandwich chain Baker & Spice. The supermarket is down the escalator: Chinese products are extremely cheap (as an example a can of Diet Coke is US 50 cents, Chinese apples the same – but imported goods cost considerably more such as Vanilla Coke or Diet 7UP being north of US$2, New Zealand apples over US$3 each); there is a good range of everything including breads, cereals, cheeses, vegetables, biscuits, toiletries, etc. The supermarket becomes more appealing still when you find out that the buffet breakfast at the hotel is over US$40.

Mentioning breakfast, there is a decent spread, including both Chinese and western dishes. There is a nice variety of seating areas, including booths, bars, regular tables, etc. There are however some notable absences: no coffee machine (eg for espressos/Nespresso – just coffee from the server); no fresh apples or oranges; no scrambled eggs (though there is an egg station); no mushrooms; minimal cold cuts and no smoked salmon slices - plus the baked beans were very spicy and not heated.

Elsewhere within the hotel, the service at the front desk and concierge is fast and helpful.

The fitness centre is also terrific (best in a hotel that I have stayed at for quite a while). A huge array of gym equipment, in a bright room with a good view of the city, plus a lovely swimming pool, with indoor and outdoor options. Good spa facilicities such as hot tub and sauna as well.

The hotel rooms are luxurious, with tea/coffee, a small minibar, safe at near eye-level, multinational electric sockets and excellent wi-fi (Twitter and Facebook are blocked). Asprey toiletries make for a nice feature, as does the separate shower. As others have noted, the hotel is somewhat feeling its age, for example some fraying around the edges of the towels, a little bit of blackened and broken grouting in the shower, some modest water staining of the bathroom marble. But this is just being picky.

The main negative concerns noise at the hotel which you will get from several angles: the walls between rooms are relatively thin, so you may hear a neighbour’s TV; you can hear the traffic out front, despite being high up, due to relatively thin fitting windows; you can just hear the elevators whooshing up and down during the night (despite them being in the centre of the building and not adjoining any room); plus corridor noise from other guests due to a thin fitting room door.

But the location, shops/restaurants in the forecourt and nearby, and terrific gym well outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a smart hotel. The bedrooms are large and comfortable. The bathrooms are a good size and generously stocked with Asprey’s bath products. Breakfast is not outstanding, though. The food in the cafe generally is bland and overpriced, the evening buffet spectacularly so, with a range of cheap cuts (barbecued chicken drumsticks) not very well cooked. The night we went Chinese children ran up and down noisily sticking their fingers in things, which didn’t encourage us to try the puddings. There are a number of better options just outside the front door and plenty of cheaper Chinese places to eat nearby.

The indoor pool is a disappointment for a hotel of this standing too: a bleak rectangle up a flight of unwelcoming steps. Only for the determined lappers, not those seeking a gentle soak in an attractive setting. The chambermaids are hardworking and friendly, but the concierge staff change regularly through the day. In an attempt to be helpful, they often give you the wrong answer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stickybowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My family spent 6 nights at the Portman Ritz Carlton. Overall the location of the hotel is great and even though it is very hard to get a taxi in SH I find it very easy to get a taxi from the hotel.
The breakfast buffet that was included wasn't that impressive.
The housekeeping did a decent job but not impressive. I would still find stain occasionally but it is acceptable I think.
I visited the Ritz Carlton in Pudong during my stay and I think that the Ritz Carlton in Pudong has better service and the hotel is very new and nice.

Overall I would say that I have a good stay but the hotel still have room for improvements.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pomeranian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We just spent 5 nights at the Portman Ritz Carlton and found it a great place to stay. Lovely corner room on the 26th floor, very nice bathroom and everything we could possibly want. Best thing about the hotel is the location and a good range of restaurants downstairs, including Crepes and Co and a fantastic bakery called Baker and Spice where we went for breakfast nearly every morning. There is also a supermarket and ATMs. The concierge was very obliging and despite our late check in, managed to get us tickets for the Acrobat Show which is conveniently in the same complex. We found access from the hotel to other locations was very easy by walking, taxi and also caught the Big Bus double decker tour bus hop on hop off tour at a stop opposite the hotel.
We had only one negative experience - one night we ordered room service and had the most awful Chinese food ever! And we were also told that the Fried Rice on the menu was 'finished' and not available. And we were in China!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and the corner rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#22 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,245 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#52 of 5,222 in Shanghai
624 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#173 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $169 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a breathtaking 5-star luxury hotel - The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai. Our award-winning hotel in Shanghai, China sits in the upscale Nanjing Road entertainment, dining and shopping complex, enthralling guests with an unparalleled and impeccable accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing